Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Monday, Jan. 03, 2005
Cathy

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
OK, no time, but as background for the below: after visiting with June on Friday, Barbara, Alisa & I ended up at this little Dive Bar called "Our Place" where Barbara and I proceded to drink...and dirnk...and drink some more. Cathy and Arnett joined us there, later.

-----Original Message-----
From: Barbara
Sent: Monday, January 03, 2005 9:46 AM
To: Karen
Subject: (no subject)

Happy new year! Isn't it great to be back at work? It was really nice to have a little extra time off. I was out of here Thursday at noon so it really felt like a little vacation. Almost.

I hope John was not seriously mad at you for drinking the other day. I didn't think you were impaired too badly by the time you had to drive but of course, you shouldn't have driven. I'm sorry, I didn't even think too much about it and you just kinda all of a sudden (it seemed to me) wanted to leave and I didn't have time to even think about the fact that you had been drinking. Duh!

They started karoke around 9:00 so Arnett sang one song before we left. It was getting pretty wild in there by then. I'm not sure what time you left but we weren't there much later than you. Man, I'm not used to that anymore!

Cathy and I are going to lunch. I start my diet today so I don't know what in the world I'm gonna eat. We're meeting at Marie Calenders.

Joe came by yesterday (with 3 nice looking young men) to get all his stuff. They leave this afternoon from LAX. We didn't have to watch Rachel. She took the bus from Phoenix this morning and he was picking her up in LA and heading straight to the airport. Whew! They're almost gone. I'm just joking. It was ok, really.

Hope everything is ok with you. Hope you use my oranges! You should see the bruise I have on my hand from picking those oranges! My umbrella is in your trunk also. I don't know why I didn't put my stuff in Alisa's trunk. That would have been a little smarter!

Speaking of Alisa, tomorrow is her birthday and we go to lunch again!!!!! Ergh!

Have a good one.
b

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Monday, January 03, 2005 11:07 AM
To: Barbara
Subject: Re: (no subject)

Hiya!

John was pretty mad, yes. He never likes it when I drink too much, but also I think he was mad because I was supposed to be home earlier than I got home, so we could eat dinner and drink champagne and stuff.

I got home at about 9:00, so I must have left there eat about 8:15. I think I did decide to leave sort of all of a sudden, because I realized how late it was. I was supposed to be home at about 6-sh. oops.

Anyway, his anger didn't last long or anything.

I think you decided to put the stuff in my car because Alisa was going to leave the bar before us. So the theory was, I'd take you home and get your stuff out of your car.

Having that extra day plus off made it even MORE hard to come in to work today, for me. Plus, I have to train the new gal and that is never very fun, really.

Talk to you more later. :)

Regards,
Karen

-----Original Message-----
From: Barbara
Sent: Monday, January 03, 2005 1:40 pm
To: Karen
Subject: Re: (no subject)

Well, I'm glad he wasn't mad for long.

I had lunch with Cathy. I had a grilled chicken breast. No bread, no nothing else. I'm still hungry. I was gonna call you and tell you this but I know you're busy training so...... she's gonna move to Colorado with her Dad. I don't know why I didn't figure that out on my own since I knew she had been thinking about it. She came out to Our Place the other night cuz she wanted to tell us together. She thought better of it, of course, when she saw what kinda shape we were in. She said she just can't explain how bad things have been the last couple of months and that she just can't live anymore so far away from her family. She told her Dad that she was going to move but that she wouldn't go without him so I guess that made it easy for him to make his decision. She says she is sure and it really doesn't have that much to do with her Dad. She doesn't think he'll live more than a year or two anyway. I understand what she's saying and I'm sure it will be better for her. I just hope she finds some happiness. She says she's just gonna work temp for awhile and she will be in Santa Fe and Alaska for sure. I don't know what she's gonna do about her Alaska flight, I forgot to ask her that. I guess she will either come out here and fly with us or change her ticket. She says that nothing will change much, we will just have to meet sometimes and spend some time together. Another reason to go to Santa Fe area more often! She said maybe we'll move to Durango some day. I wish. So....... I'm kinda sad really. I know it's better for her but I guess I'm just kinda stunned.

She is packing up and selling alot of stuff so if you want any furniture, you need to check with her. She will probably have an estate sale on Jan. 29 but if you are interested in looking at her Dad's furniture, you many want to get over there before that. She said he has a nice white couch, so I thought of you.

We briefly discussed Alaska reservations. She will be paying cash for the next step which is the Denali room and bus tour so I told her I would go ahead and make the reservations for the 4 of us. I will figure it out in the next 2 weeks and let you guys know what you will owe me. You will have until mid February to pay me, is that gonna be ok with you? I imagine your share will be about $170. or so.

Then we can make some other reservations after we get that paid. We also need to discuss the rental car and who is gonna make that reservation and who is gonna be driving. We'll worry about that later.

She does want to plan on the 22th for her birthday celebration at Glen Ivy. She is gonna look it up online and figure out what she wants as far as any treatments. I think I'll get a facial and a wax. At least the waxing for sure. I want to see if I love it. I may have to break down and start doing that regularly. My neighbor is an estetician here in Glendora so after I have it done at Glen Ivy, I may have her start doing it for me regularly, we'll see.

I also wanted to speak to you about what you said about Lou the other night. You said you didn't mind if he played guitar with Arnett and you to sing at the wedding. Did you mean that? I don't want to assume you did considering you were under the influence. If you really don't want him to, just tell me the truth. I don't mind. I really don't know if he will be there for sure anyway. I keep expecting Sondra to tell me he's not going but she hasn't yet. I guess I just keep thinking something is going to go wrong with our plans. Been thinking about it too long, obviously. I had a dream the other night that we were there to get married and Arnett forgot my ring and we lost the paper that I have typed up the vows we want to use. We also forgot our containers for sand and stuff. Just all around forgot everything that was gonna make it really special. What a stupid dream but I guess I worry about it still. Ergh!

Love ya,
b

Oh yeah, no only is Cathy's brother in Montana probably separating from his wife..... her sister in Idaho is probably leaving her husband. She's just waiting for their youngest to graduate in June. She told Cathy when she was out here last month. Wow. Something going on with that family, huh? Cathy says they will all end up back in Colorado. I wonder if that is a good thing? Who knows.

Cathy is such a good person. I sure wish she could find someone. I know she wants to really badly.

By the way, Mark (Cathy's Mark) is quitting his job and travelling around the world for a year. I don't have any details. What a poop poo head. She found out from her therapist, Socorro. I guess Mark sees her too. She has not spoken to Mark for more than a year.

b

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Monday, January 03, 2005 2:29 PM
To: Barbara
Subject: Re: (no subject)

Uh...so her therapist told her about Mark's plans? Isn't that sort of against company policy?

I am sad about Cathy's move, too, but if it will make her happy I am happy for her...I guess. :) She has been awfully unhappy just in general (aside from having to deal with her father's stuff lately). I'm very glad we'll be traveling a lot together next year, though. Is she gonna stay with family members? I will contact her about furniture. There may even be some pieces of hers I am interested in.

Hey if I can have til mid-Feb to pay for the Denali reservations, that would be perfect.

I think I'd be OK with Lou playing guitar on that song...let me think about it for a few days and get back to you, though.

I was at last night. We watched The Phantom of the Opera and that Kevin Spacey movie where he plays Bobby Darin last night. Phantom was better as a play, but the movie was pretty good. It was filmed very beautifully. I just thought the second half dragged...but in it's defense, we stopped it about half-way through, for dinner. Then there were other distractions going on, so maybe that was really why I couldn't get in to it.

I thought the Kevin Spacey movie was pretty good. Better than the reviews it's getting, certainly. He is very good in it and I think it's worth seeing just for him.

I borrowed Ray from them and will watch it sometime this week.

OK, I should go...talk to ya later.

Regards,
Karen

-----Original Message-----
From: Barbara
Sent: Monday, January 03, 2005 2:37 PM
To: Karen
Subject: Re: (no subject)

How in the world do they have those movies already? Are they bootleggers like Alisa's boyfriend? What time did John leave? It must have been a bad drive home for him.

Yes, Cathy is staying with her brother in Castle Rock. Between Colorado Springs and Denver. He is fixing up the basement for her and she will have her own bathroom down there. I guess it's pretty big and he told her she can stay as long as she likes.

Ok, like I said, I will make those reservations for everyone and let you know what you owe. I figure if I make them towards the end of the month, they will be on my charge card in February. Our fishing is on this month so I don't really want to charge anything else until later in the month.

b

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Monday, January 03, 2005 2:42 PM
To: Barbara
Subject: Re: (no subject)

BN's ex-father-in-law is a member of the motion picture academy and gets them on DVD for awards consideration. Pretty cool, huh? They do occasionally say things like "Property of Lions Gate films - 1-800-NO-COPYS" at the bottom, but still...

John actually hasn't left yet. The grapevine is snowed in and they have traffic stopped completely. He may end up having to go up the 101, but I think he's gonna stay until I get home tonight.

He's sick. :( He woke up yesterday with a cold. I went and bought him some cold medication and vitamin C. He's still sick, but he's already feeling better today. He doesn't usually stay sick for very long (how nice for him). But I think he's OK with just laying around the house all day, as a result of not feeling well. I just hope he feels up to driving home this evening...not that he has much choice...

Gotta go.

Regards,
Karen

-----Original Message-----
From: Barbara
Sent: Monday, January 03, 2005 2:50 PM
To: Karen
Subject: Re: (no subject)


Wow, that's a drag. I'm sure it's been snowing all day today too.

Hope he feels better and gets home safely.

I'm outta here pretty soon, don't worry about getting back to me anymore today.

Talk to you tomorrow.

b

~~~

Word of the Day for Monday January 3, 2004

rejoinder rih-JOIN-dur, noun:
An answer to a reply; or, in general, an answer or reply.



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com