Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Monday, Jan. 05, 2004
why don't we get drunk and screw?

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
Hey there kids! Hope ya�ll had a fun-filled ringing-in of the new year.

Before we get started here, I just have to say that I, like any True American, am in love with Brett Favre.

In news that is sure to shock those who know of my infamous partying ways, I did little on New Years Eve. I stayed home and crept out on to my fire escape to watch fireworks at midnight. Woo-hoo!

In truth, I am not a big fan of NYE. People just get crazy and for no good reason, in my book. Cops are everywhere, so I am afraid to have even two drinks and drive home. Every place you go charges an exorbitant amount of money for a glass of champagne and a party hat you have on your head for ten minutes. It�s just nonsensical to me, really, unless the party is at my place.

I did party some, over this long weekend, though�I went out on Friday night and had a few drinks. I also met a boy and had what was apparently a one night stand.

*gasp*

Since I�m sure never to hear from him again, I�ll tell you that his name is Oliver and he is actually only a year older than I (usually I meet men who are at least five years older or five years younger than I, so this was a minor coup). He is 6�2�, has lovely blue eyes and is just...well, kinda yummy, really. Quite a cutie-pie.

He snores, though, and takes up the entire bed when he sleeps.

There is really no great story to tell, here. Oliver and I started talking in the bar and then talked out in my car for a couple of hours, during which time I found out that he was in the Marines for six years (YIKES!), is now some kind of Engineer and usually works in Mexico. That�s about all I learned. Then we decided to go back to the Rad Pad and screw.

I�m sure there was more to the decision at the time, but in reflection it really doesn�t seem like there was...

I like Oliver. I would like to see Oliver again. He didn�t rock my body like nobody has before, but he at least knew where all of the proper parts are, and that�s a good sign. And let�s face it � we don�t even know each other. Sex always gets better with time.

Which is why I don�t really understand why I did this at all. I�m no prude, don�t get me wrong, but I kind of swore off of one night stands a long time ago � you know, like ten years ago. They just don�t usually pay off anyway, so what�s the point? Plus, condoms just suck and you have to use them when having sex with strangers.*

What happened to me? I wasn�t even drunk!

I don�t have a problem with what I did, per se. I don�t feel guilty or bad about it, or morally shaken in any way. I just don�t really understand what happened to my judgment. I had an absolute stranger in my house overnight! I don�t even usually give guys my home phone number until I�ve known them for a long time (actually, the time varies, but I don�t trust men with my personal information easily), let alone my address.

Anyway, it doesn�t necessarily have to be a one nighter. As I said, I would like to see him again. I just don�t actually think he�s going to call me. He asked for the digits Saturday morning, but again reminded me that he is usually in Mexico, �but maybe the next time I�m up here we can get together and you can teach me how to sing��

I know how overwhelmingly charming and sexy I am, but�Well, he hasn�t called me yet. And while we had fun, I don�t know that it was enough fun for a guy to go through the hassle of dating someone from whom he is separated by 200 miles on a regular basis.

And you know how it works�since I want him to call, that of course means he won�t.

And that�s OK, too. It was fun, but I won�t be heartbroken if I never hear from him again. See, this is the unwritten benefit of the one night stand: You never care so much about the other person involved that it is a major trauma when they don�t call.

However, the one nighter equaled very little sleep for the ikss Friday night. Aside from the alluded-to shortage of bed space, it�s just hard to sleep with a stranger, ya know? I got maybe two hours of actual sleep. Oliver, on the other hand, slept until 11:00am.

I stayed in on Saturday and, aside from doing a couple loads of laundry, did nothing but watch t.v. and read. In spite of the fact that I wanted to watch Frida on cable that night, I just could not stay awake. I was asleep before 9:00pm and slept for ten hours that night.

Such a party animal am I.

On Sunday, I put all of my Christmas decorations away in the garage and cleaned my kitchen. I decided to have another party in two weeks, so that I can get rid of all the booze in my pad, left over from the Christmas party.

And that was my exciting four-day, New Year�s weekend.

*Question: Do men just buy the Magnum sized condoms in an effort to show off and/or to shield their fragile egos? Because, while Oliver was certainly no slouch in this area�well, I hardly think he merited a Magnum. What are the size guidelines on these things, anyway?

and P.S. I will get to writing about yesterday's kick-ass Democratic debate, later. But it was indeed kick-ass.

~~~

Word of the Day for Monday January 5, 2004:

abrogate AB-ruh-gayt, transitive verb:

1. To annul or abolish by an authoritative act.

2. To put an end to; to do away with.



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com