Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Wednesday, Sept. 18, 2002
I blame the PMS

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
Busy day at work. Sadly, I was busy doing boring, inane stuff.

I MUST learn to delegate.

I bought these new panty hose. They're "toeless" so that you can wear them with your sexy, strapless shoes that show off your sexy feet and their sexy pedicure.

I have neither sexy feet nor a sexy pedicure, nor did I intend to buy the sexy "toeless" panty hose. Upon discovering my error, though, I decided to wear open-toed sandals to work (albeit not-very-sexy ones), along with my new "toeless" pantyhose.

These hose have a little loop which goes around your big toe, or one of your toes anyway. The loops are around my toes and are now CHOKING THE LIFE BLOOD OUT OF THEM. THEY ARE ALSO KILLING ME.

NEVER. AGAIN.

I have been on a diet, did I tell you? Therefore, I have been in a pretty lousy mood all week and all I can think about is food.

On top of the diet, I have PMS AND my sister Barbara leaves tomorrow for a two-week vacation. I can't believe she is deserting me! Who am I supposed to talk to for the next two weeks?

My sister and I are very close and we talk pert-near every day. *sob*

So I watched "Push, Nevada" last night. Someone who is creatively involved with this show really likes David Lynch. It was good, though. I am intrigued. Nice change of pace from your ordinary t.v. fare, which in and of itself is nifty.

I also watched The Real World, Las Vegas. OK, first of all - everyone on this show is hot! I thought this show was supposed to be reflective of REAL people involved in REAL life, only while living with seven strangers and having their lives taped for the rest of us to view, pick over and laugh about. These are not real people. These are only real people on the planet Babe.

That said, these are also quite possibly the lowest bunch of degenerates on a Real World yet and that's saying something, boy howdy. I guess I should reserve judgment until I watch at least a couple more episodes. We'll see if I can stomach the show for that long. Plus, why reserve judgment? The stuff that was on the first show all took place within what - the first week these kiddies were in Las Vegas? If they're already acting like this...well, I shudder to think how their behavior may deteriorate when they get "comfortable" around each other.

In the comming attractions at the end of the show, they intimated that one of the hottie chicks might get thrown out of the boss pad in which they've been set up. Hopefully, I can stick it out until we at least get to that drama.

I've been a Real World fan since the first season, but with all of the "reality" t.v. shows now peppering every channel of the 700-or-so offered by my cable company, it all gets a bit overwhelming. Enough of this real life crap - give me a poorly-written sit-com already! I stopped watching Real World a few seasons back - never saw New Orleans; never saw Hawaii; never saw Seattle; never saw "Back to New York". At least, I didn't see all of the episodes for those seasons - just a few here and there. I did watch Chicago last season and perhaps it has re-ignited my addiction. We'll see.

My problem with so many of these "reality" shows is that they are so not real. At least not in my neck of the woods and for that I am grateful. I am grateful I don't know any people like these because, for the most part, the people chosen to be on "reality" shows are the most disgusting examples of humanity that the network honchos can dredge up from the sewers (or wherever they find these people). I suppose watching should be good for my self esteem because hey, as big a selfish creaton as I can be, I ain't no (fill in the name from the series of your choice here). But instead, these "people" just make my tummy hurt. And I really hope that the young, impressionable MTV audience is not looking to these over-sexed-to-the-point-of-ignoring-the-feelings-of-everybody-else-on-the-planet idiots on the Real World as sterling examples of how to behave in a civilized society.

OK, in all fairness, there have been "people" on these shows who are not degenerate creeps. Everyone except Puck from Real World, San Francisco, for example. But then we have everyone except Jon Brennan from Real World LA to counter-act that nice cast. Are ya feelin' me, here?

I am not speaking of Real World exclusively, of course, so it is unkind of me to pick specifically on that show.

"Temptation Island"

"Blind Date"

"Dismissed"

"Survivor" of course, but at least on this type of show it is well known from the git-go that the object is to WIN THE GAME, which in and of itself leads you to the assumption that not everyone is going to play fairly or nicely and you may see some not-so-flattering portraits of human character, here.

There are a myriad of other titles, of course. My question, though, is do any of us actually KNOW people like those featured on these shows? Cause just the fact that these horrifying examples of humanity are walking the face of this planet scares me.

How in the world did I get on this tangent?



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com