Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2002
Sleep Nazi

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
NO SLEEP FOR ME!

Ugh. I got, oh, about 1/2 an hour of sleep last night. And I didn't even do anything fun to merit this sleeplessness.

Actually, I could have gone to see Smithereens-Mike and some other dude play an acoustic gig at the Liquid Lounge.

But I didn't.

I could have gone out to dinner with this dude I have yet to mention here, but who asked me out.

But I didn't.

I could have worked on painting my apartment, as I still have lots of crown moulding to finish.

But I didn't.

I could even have done homework.

Nope, didn't do that either.

What did I do, you ask?

Well, first of all I worked late. Seems my playing hooky on Monday (which I did, by the way, because of the aforementioned emotional funkiness) might not have been the greatest of ideas. I was extremely busy yesterday and not in the mood to be so. I know, I know...here I've been whining about not having enough work to do; I should have been happy, right?

Let me explain and Work Gods, please listen up: I want plenty of work to do when I actually want to work.

OK, so I got home at like 7:00, just in time for the Buffy repeat in my time zone (PST). Except that Buffy wasn't even on last night (drats!). That saccharine-fest known as the final episode of M*A*S*H was on instead. So I watched "Everybody Loves Raymond"*; a suitable, if altogether different, replacement.

Then the REAL Buffy came on - the season premier. Ohh-Ahh-Ahh. I am distressed to note that it has become apparent that the character of Dawn will be expanded upon this season...Ergh...Now you know how I despise Dawn. It should also be noted here that in addition to Buffy I also love "The Gilmore Girls"* and the fact that these two shows are on opposite each other has caused me great dilemma in the past. If the producers of Buffy insist on *gasp* making Dawn the Slayer of the Next Generation (which by all appearances is their intention), I may just have to watch the Girls more regularly and save Buffy for the repeats. This is just a warning, folks, so take note of my programing and storyline desires and act accordingly already.

Well, John interrupted Buffy anyway, so I didn't have to put up with Dawn all that much. He called and we talked for about half an hour, really about nothing. I haven't talked with him about my blueness. I really just don't wanna. First of all, I don't particularly want him to know that he may be the cause of some of my blue funk. Secondly, he's a guy. You know, he'll try to fix it; tell me how to make things better and all of that crapola when all I really need is an ear. That will just leave me irriatated and who needs that when you're already in a blue funk?

The song "Blue Spark"* by X is now going through my mind, only I'm singing "Blue Funk".

Just thought I'd let ya's know.

OK, so that show after Buffy? "Haunted"?* Pretty groovy, but I must admit that I was a tad disappointed. Lots of hype for the show and I found it to be...Okay. I'll watch it again. We'll see how it progresses.

I then watched a show called "Great Books"* on the Discovery channel. I love this show. Last night's was about "One Flew Over the Cukoos Nest"* and was very entertaining.

See, so even though I watched a lot of tv last night, I did watch a show which was about a book, so I should get intellectual points for that.

I read a bit of my latest Outside magazine (love that rag) then attempted to go to sleep at around one-ish. Shortly after nodding off, however, some neighbors of mine began to fight. Loudly.

It's hard to figure out where noise is coming from in my neighborhood. For some reason, there are a lot of echoes. I'll think someone on one side my my pad is playing music obnoxiously loud and it will turn out that the incosiderate jerk is in a completely different direction (I found this out in a rather embarrassing manner, but more on that at another time). Anyway, so I have no idea who was fighting and I actually only heard one man's voice so for all I know he may just have Multiple Personality Disorder. If so, evidently he cheated on himself because I distinctly heard "We slept! We did not have sex!"

I really wanted to yell out my window "Give us all a break and give it up, man! None of us believe you!" or something to that affect. However, he left shortly after his denial. At least, I think that was him going out to his car and driving off. Hard to tell, what with all the echoes.

Once the fight was over, I couldn't get back to sleep. One would think I'd get up early, maybe work out, maybe get the dishes washed (another thing I didn't do last night). Nope. I layed there, thinking.

My parents and one of my sisters live very close to this fire. In fact, the Red Cross has their emergency shelter set up at my old High School. Everyone in my family is far enough away that I'm not worried about their homes burning up, but I do worry about all of the smoke. I mean, my parents are in their seventies. They could conceivably have trouble breathing on a good day.

Speaking of my old High School...my dad works at Wal Mart. Yes, he is one of those old dudes who now works at Wal Mart in an effort to stave off the boredom that evidently comes with retirement. He works in the garden section. He is a gardening genius and the old ladies that come in to Wal Mart just love my Daddy. I went to visit him there once and everybody just treated me like a queen - customers and employees alike. Jeez, I don't get treated that well at my own job.

The Ladies have always loved my pop. He used to be my softball coach for many years and the divorcee's (and maybe some not-so-divorced females) would just crowd around and flirt with him to no end. Hmm...come to think of it...I used to think my mom would come to my games to watch me and do the whole "supportive Mommy" thing. Maybe she was just there to keep on eye on my pop.

By the way, I played third base, batted clean-up and kicked major booty on the softball diamond.

OK, so the real point of this story is that Daddy ran in to an old friend of mine at Wal Mart - Jerianne. Jerianne and I were friends all through Jr. High and High School. Plus, she played Shortstop to my third base for several years. I was a bridesmaid in her wedding (which was quite comical. Another story for another time, though, because this entry is already way to freakin' long). Anyway, Jerianne is now divorced. I think I'll ring her up or at least drop her an e-mail. She was always a great person and I'd like to see her again. I think I saw her like once after her wedding.

OK, enough of my silliness for one day. Hasta!

*Yes, I know that I do not format titles of books, movies and tv shows correctly. Such is the limitation of this program I am using. We'll all just have to live with it.



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com