Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Monday, Sept. 30, 2002
Weekend Update

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
Holy Canoli!

I just wasted over an hour trying to repair the damage I just did to my template for this thing. I think everything is at least readable and navigateable (is that even a word?) now...I hope...

As you may have deduced, I am not html literate. I can usually figure these things out if I have ample time to do so, but (as evidenced by the sad look of my journal, as opposed to those belonging to all of you creative folks out there) I do not have that kind of time these days. That's why I just use one of diaryland's templates and go the easy route. It's pretty f'n sad when I am such a dope as to mess up even this simple thing. Sheesh.

OK, on to my weekend and other miscelleneous noteworthy items...

I got the results of my U.S. History quiz Friday evening. I did well, but not as well as I had hoped. I actually have no idea what my exact letter grade is, I only know that I missed 5 points out of probably fifty. Now I only have two weeks before my mid-term.

After class, I went to a bar to see The Ravelers. I had a good time. I sang a couple of songs with them and that was rather interesting as one was new to me and I completely flubbed the lyrics. I danced a bit, laughed a bit at some interesting characters; but over all it was a relatively calm night. I didn't get drunk and make smoochies with the guitar-player, either, and that was a good thing.

I spent the night at my folks' place cuz they live a heck of lot closer to that bar than I do. I had a really nice day Saturday, hanging out with them. In the morning, my dad was doing something at their church so it was just me and my mom, gabbing for about three-four hours. We talked a lot about politics. She agrees with me on most things, but my dad does not. She's not been discussing politics much with my dad lately, as a result. She just gets tired of arguing with him (can't say as I blame her. I love my Dad, but he is not a person who argues. Dad dictates and if you disagree with him, well, you're just stupid). So she was happy to voice her opinion and have someone listen and actually agree with her. I felt the same, frankly.

When Daddy came home, we all went out to lunch. Had some yummy Chinese food and ran in to some old friends of theirs at the restaurant - this very nifty couple that they used to go to church with. I've always loved this couple and it was great to see them.

I then dragged my sleepy butt home and took a wee nap before John arrived. The rest of the night and most of Sunday were then spent with him and that was not near enough time in my opinion. We always have too many things we need to get done, or he needs to see other people in addition to me in the short time he's here. We rarely have enough time to just be together. I'm not talking about sex, here. We make time for that - what are you, nuts? I'm just talking about quality, together-time.

I have my work-related class tonight and I am not thrilled. Aside from just the fact that the class is inately boring and I am behind on my homework, I am also rather tired (what, again?). I got to bed at about 2am and had to wake up at 5:30am (eek! I can't believe I was alive at that time of day!). We're celebrating the birthday of two gals in my department. One of them comes in at 7am, so I had to be here to decorate her desk before then. Hence, my early rise.

I baked their birthday cake last night...I thought about making the cake look like Piglet because one of the b-day girls (Liddy) loves him. Now, I've made pig-shaped cakes before (why are so many people obsessed with pigs, anyway?), but I couldn't get a picture of Piglet quite right, so I just went with a regular ol' cake. Boy howdy, am I glad I did! The gal who so loves Piglet called in sick today. So I decorated her desk for nothing; I'm glad I didn't waste additional energy on her cake for nothing.

I spent some time this morning looking through diaryland at other's journals. As I intimated at the beginning of this entry, I am quite impressed with the amount of energy so many of you folks put in to yours. There's some nifty stuff out there. I only wish I had the time to look through all of the ones I like every day.

Sadly, I occasionally have a life that needs my attention.



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com