Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Wednesday, Nov. 20, 2002
what the hell happened to Autumn?

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
So it was like 90 degrees here today. And I live by the beach. Thank God I left the Inland Empire; aside from just the obvious reasons, it must be like 100 there today.

We really need to get rid of the hot weather that has now plagued us for over a week. First of all, we desperately need rain (what happened to the dreaded "El Nino" that newscasters have been threatening us with over the past several months?). Secondly and perhaps more importantly, I just like cooler weather in general. Plus, hey - I'm supposed to be going to Palm Springs this weekend. I would really prefer it weren't 160 degrees while I'm there. It has been very pretty around these parts, though. Usually when it's hot that automatically means it's also smoggy. Not so this week. It's been beautiful!

Of course, the real pisser is that I've already packed away my cool cotton sheets in favor of flannel ones. The week of rain and cold weather we had totally suckered me in and I thought I was safe to unpack my beloved flannel! Of course, I have this week absolutely refused to succumb to the re-birth of summer and have not taken them off.

I'm not even going to talk about the fact that the US Gov't can now tap all the phones it damn well pleases, as well as spy on what we're doing via the internet even more easily than they've been able to up 'til now. I'm just too sickened to discuss it right now. Surprised? No. Sickened, yes.

"I used to be disgusted, now I try to be amused..."

Yeah, I try too, Elvis. It just doesn't work very well with me.

Michael Jackson.

'Nuff said about his almost throwing his baby over the balcony in Germany yesterday? I feel somewhat certain that ya'll think, just as I do, that Michael is a complete wackadoo. You know what I thought of when I saw that clip last night? I wondered if Eric Clapton saw it and what he might be thinking...odd, but that's what I thought. Cuz, you know...his baby fell from a window...

I did find it rather telling that not only did he dangle his kid over the heads of the crowd, but...I mean, did ya'll notice that he didn't even seem to care one bit when he banged the kid's knees on the metal railing? You could totally tell he's like never held that baby before in his life and frankly he didn't look too fond of the tyke.

My final on Monday (work-related class) went better than I anticipated, but I still know I did not get an A, even with the open book. The problem is that when the book reads like some heretofore undiscovered foreign language, it being open doesn't necessarily help much. I've discovered that "Blah-blah, blah-blah-blah-blah" still reads like "Blah-blah, blah-blah-blah-blah" no matter how many times you read it.

But I have been singing a chourus of Hallelujahs all week simply because I never have to go back to that class again! Yippee!

And no, I haven't finished my paper on Frederick Douglas...I haven't even finished the book, frankly. And yes, my paper is due on Friday. *gulp* Honestly, though, I'm not worried. I'll finish the book tonight/tomorrow and I can write the paper Friday; no biggy. I'm good at papers. I was just rather all-consumed by that stinkin' final exam on Monday. Now I can relax and become all-consumed with U.S. History for a while.

In work news: We've been interviewing for our new employee this week. Actually, I like three of the people and so does the Little Big Man, so hopefully it won't be too long before we have someone hired. LBM has been irritating me quite a bit, but I am trying my darndest to be patient and kind. He is going though separation from his wife, after all. I think some other stuff must have been happening around the office, too, cuz he was just a big ol' poop-head last week. He never gave me the total scoop, though, so I really have no idea what flew up his butt.

Today I actually took a lunch hour and went to Wal Mart. In the process, I completely forgot that I had a 2:00 meeting and didn't return from lunch until 2:30. DOH!

Smithereens-Mike called me Friday night and asked if I wanted to go see Mike Watt's band...THAT NIGHT. The boy truly needs to borrow a clue from someone. I asked him if he remembered our conversation wherein I made it plain that if he wants to see me he needs to give more than an hour's notice. In his defense, I guess he'd just heard about Watt's gig minutes before he called me. Anyway, needless to say I did not go. I did agree to go see Satellite Dogs Thursday night, though, and so I shall.

Guess that's all the news that's fit to print.



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com