Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Monday, Dec. 09, 2002
this one ain't about politics

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
Believe it or not, I didn't even address in all of today's prior posts all of the burning issues on my mind today. However, I am too drained to think about it all anymore.

So I thought I would take a moment to provide you gents out there with some helpful hints you may take to heart the next time you wish to date a woman of some substance.

1. When you call a gal at 6:45 and tell her she has a mere fifteen minutes to run around like a crazy person and finish getting ready to go to that Beck/Flaming Lips concert, do not then show up at her pad fifteen minutes late. She ran herself ragged to get ready on time for you; you can damn well do the same.

2. If for some reason you are going to be late, make sure it's because you took the time to shower after work. Don't show up late and semi-stinky...and high, showing that you chose to partake of the evil weed rather than a shower. I know the date may make you nervous; hence the weed. However, extra nerves translate in to extra B.O. if you avoid the shower and the new layer of deoderant, so take note.

3. When in the midst of a discussion revolving around the gal's upcoming hair-cut, do not say to her anything like: "It looks good when it's straight," especially when that opinion is completey unprovoked and most especially when she's sitting next to you with curly hair (of course, had she known you were going to be late getting to her pad, she may have had the time to straighten her hair. See helpful hint #1).

4. Do not for any reason run out of cash. The gal probably has some on her; in fact she may have even paid for parking and for your drink during the concert intermission. Don't then expect that she wants to pay for an additional drink at a bar after the show, because in all liklihood she will not want to. If you can't pay for the drinks, don't suggest having them. It truly does not matter if you bought the concert tickets. You asked her out, you pay (unless she offers otherwise, such as with the $8 parking). End of story. She'll pay when she asks you out on a date.

5. If this is your first date, do not scare the gal away by referring to Christmas and/or New Years Eve plans as if it is a given you will spend both days together.

6. If you are not anywhere near the point in your relationship where you begin to discuss the option of making yours exclusive, do not act all "put out" when the gal can not see you the following weekend because she has other plans. In fact, when it's the holiday season you may want to be a little understanding of the fact that the gal's calendar has already pretty much filled up. The gal is always busy in general and its now the holidays. Think about it.

~~~

So the concert was pretty good. In truth, I was a tad disappointed. The Flaming Lips were a gas, if musically sub-par (although I think much of that may have had to do with the sound mix). Beck was musically right on (which is funny, considering the Lips were his back-up band), but lacked energy.

I may have had my expectations up too high. I had heard so many great things about Beck live and this concert tour in particular. I like Beck's new songs, too. Perhaps he was just pooped - this was the last show of the tour. But really, the show wasn't all that exciting.

As you may have deduced from the above, my date with Mike left much to be desired. He's a good person, but one who shall remain a friend only...and now I have to see him again Thursday cuz his other band (called MoFi) is playing and they gave me comp tickets. Since they had to actually pay for those tickets, I feel obligated to go. The fun thing is that they're playing in a lesbian bar. That will be great for me because the lesbians love me!

I actually saw Orginal Mike and his bitchy girlfriend at the Beck show and we chatted during intermission (well, I chatted with Mike. His girlfriend ignored me, of course).

~~~

The Little Big Man was out most of last week, and will be again this week. His mom is in the hospital and it's touch-and-go for her. So sad. I really feel bad for him. As if he doesn't have enough on his plate right now, the poor thing. :(

~~~

I'm having the family over to my pad on Sat. 12/28 for a little post-Christmas fesitivity, including a gondola ride through the canals of Naples (Naples, Long Beach, that is. I WISH I could take the family to Naples, Italy!). One dilemma I'm having is that my brother Larry's two kids both have substance-abuse problems. Therefore, I don't really want to have alcohol available. They won't drink it, but I also don't want them to feel bummed about the fact that they can't drink it. Sadly, the rest of my family (aside from the parents, that is) truly loves their alcoholic beverages...I'm trying to plan the rest of my menu. It would be nice if I knew how much money I was going to have by then...

Budget? Huh? What's that?



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com