Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Monday, Jan. 06, 2003
blown away

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
We're all getting blown to and fro 'round these parts.

Aside from it being over 80 degrees all weekend (as it will be through tomorrow), the winds kicked in yesterday as well. Evidently, they're the strongest Santa Ana winds ever recorded in S. Cal. Power lines are down in a lot of areas, fires are burning. My sister just called and her power went out at 1:30am and is supposed to be out until around 6:30am tomorrow. She has a freezer full of food that's gonna go to waste, although I offered in my goodness to come and take some of it off of her hands. *ahem*

Actually, it wasn't too bad in the LBC. I had left my front window open a tad and it was blown all the way open somewhere along the line and some foliage from the tree outside is now on my living room floor. As I was driving to work this morning, the streets were littered with palm fronds. But I didn't even hear the wind last night, so it must not have been that bad in my neighborhood.

~~~

John didn't come down to visit over the weekend, after all. I was a tad bummed, but he had a good excuse and I'm sure he could use a break from all of that driving anyway. We have seen an awful lot of each other over the past few weeks, anyway, so I guessed I could live with it. With all of my recent time off, though, I really got bored this weekend. I had no money to go out and do much of anything, so I tried to busy myself with going on walks and cleaning the pad. Whoopee. I did find the cutest house for sale about a block away from my current pad. It's just perfect for me. Anyone have a spare $800,000 they want to give me so I can but it? If you do, I swear I'll come up with the funds to furnish the place. Plus, you'll be my best friend for like EVER and I bake a mean cherry pie. Think about it and get back to me.

I also watched one hell of a lot of t.v., including "The Exorcist" on TNT yesterday. Why do I continually subject myself to that movie? I was smart this time and didn�t watch the last half an hour. That flick scares the living daylights out of me, every stinkin� time. I really should investigate these masochistic tendencies...

Among other flicks, I watched "Mother" (I love Albert Brooks), "Gosford Park", "Moulin Rouge" and "The Nightmare Before Christmas" all of which I have seen at least a couple of times before and like a lot. I�m still pissed at "Moulin Rouge" though. I get pissed that she had to die at the end.

In addition to re-watching movies I have already seen far too many times, I watched a movie I hadn�t yet seen � "Billy Elliot". Man, what a great film! I cried like a baby. Not that that�s saying much, because I cry at the drop of a hat pretty much, but it was really a great flick. Very touching and funny and heart-breaking in parts. I recommend it highly.

I didn�t sleep very well all weekend. I was having numerous strange dreams and nightmares (I'm sure "The Exorcist" didn't help). This isn�t a rare occurrence for me at all. I often have nightmares and even my regular dreams are kinda nutty. Yeah, go figger.

~~~

On the political front...I haven�t been saying much of late, have I? Frankly, I just haven�t had the emotional energy. I am straight up petrified these days, in all honesty. However, one of the main reasons I started keeping a journal again was to have a record of one person�s (that would be me) thoughts during a time of extreme crisis. I enjoy reading journals. A lot of the books in my collection are journals and letters kept by people in past generations. Being very interested in history, I find it illuminating and a joy to read these records. I thought that perhaps some of my great-grand-nieces or somebody might enjoy the same.* However, it�s all a bit overwhelming these days.

I did see Hillary Rodham Clinton on that moron Chris Mathews� Hardball show several days back. I liked her a lot, over-all. Actually, I was more impressed with her on this show then I ever have been. However, I was a bit taken aback by her position on recognizing homosexual marriages. When asked if she thought the state of New York should recognize them, she said no.

Uh...say what?

How extremely disappointing. And surprising, I might add. I wonder if she said that to assuage the morons that wouldn�t support her if she said otherwise, or if that is her true feeling on the subject. Either way, I was extremely disappointed in her. In fact, I was shocked.

That reminds me of something Jimmy Carter did when he was elected Governor of Georgia. At the time, he played up to Segregationists, telling them he was in agreement with them. Behind the scenes, he was giving blacks the inside scoop on his real feelings. So both sides voted for him and he won of course. In his inaugural address, the segregationist community found out his true feelings.

So the man lied to get elected (*gasp* a politician lied to get elected?), but in my opinion he lied for a good reason. But it does bring up some good questions about ethics and I don�t really think it was the right thing to do.

Uh...guess I�m done for now. Peace and love, ya�ll.





*As a side note, this is also why I prefer to transcribe news articles, rather than simply supply a link. My journal is also kept elsewhere, not just online, and those links will not always be available.



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com