Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Monday, Feb. 03, 2003
e-mail eavesdrop

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
Of course, I wanted to catch ya'll up on my most-entertaining weekend. However, rather than simply re-write what has already been written to others in e-mail form, I thought I'd just copy and paste my note to Barbi, in an effort to save time..

Subj:Good morning!

Date:2/3/03 9:32:44 AM Pacific Standard Time

From:karen...

To: Barbara...

Hola! Como esta?

Donde es la Zapata?

Sorry I didn't make it to Mom's yesterday. I was starting to feel better and I just didn't want to do anything and take the chance of relapsing like what happened last week. So I didn't do much at all, all weekend. I did some laundry and managed to clean the bathroom and the kitchen, but other than that I just lay around and took lots of naps - especially on Saturday. Did ya'll have fun? Anything exciting happen? Any new gossip? How is Mom feeling?

Well, John came down of course so yesterday I also went out to breakfast (and also to In 'N Out for dinner...um, yeah - my diet starts TODAY). We talked about going for a walk, especially since it was soooooo beautiful outside, but we never did. Do we get any diet-karma points for considering physical activity?

Speaking of cleaning kitchens, I finally got my stove all clean and lovely. For some reason, I was having a hard time finding anything that would get all of the grease off of that thing. The cleaners and the grease would just kind of coagulate together in little balls of congealed crap on my stove top. The stove must have a different surface than ones I've used in the past. Very weird. Anyway, so it would always look dirty, even right after I cleaned it. So I used this stuff called Super Clean yesterday and it worked. Yay!

So John is taking that new job in Santa Cruz. His last day at the place he is now is Friday, Feb. 14*. So we're not going to Palm Springs now cuz he'll have to move his toolbox and stuff that weekend (plus, he can't take that Friday off now unless he doesn't want to get paid). The great thing is that he no longer has to work ANY Saturdays - his new shop isn't even open on Saturdays so there's no chance that will change. It will be much easier, therefore, to make weekend plans from now on.

You know, I asked him about Ansel Adams yesterday**. I think he was interested in going, but frankly we kind of drifted off the subject and never got back around to it. I'll try to remember to ask him for his answer tonight.

Oh, before I forget...Amy and I were talking about going out to Happy Hour this Friday night. We're probably going to go to Panama Joe's down the street from me (that Mexican place I took ya'll to). I know it's far for you, but if you and Arnett would like to come, you're more than welcome. If you guys are up to coming to my neck of the woods, we can go there and then maybe hit the karaoke bar I told you about before (they have darts, too) - The Liquid Lounge. Waddaya think?

Have a great day! Talk to ya later!




*We were planning a trip to Palm Springs for Valentine's Weekend.

**There is an exhibit of Ansel Adams' photography at the LA County Museum of Art. If John doesn't want to go, I have been invited to go with Barbara and Arnett on Friday, Feb. 14 (not that he's not invited, but they're going on a Friday whereas he would have to go with me on the weekend).

~~~

In other news...

'Member that guy, Ed Rosenthal, who was busted for growing medicinal marijuana in Oakland and they tacked on Conspiracy charges to boot because he writes book and columns on marijuana cultivation?

Well, he's been found guilty on all charges. So the dude faces life in prison, along with all of those other really bad guys - you know, like murderers. Serves him right, I know. That'll show him, thinking he should have every right to help sick people get some level of relief with a substance that is less addictive than (if it's even addictive at all, which is debatable) and not as bad for you as both alcohol and cigarettes.

Of course, the real issue is States Rights vs. Federal Law. The Feds are all pissed off at the State of California and others of our ilk because we "legalized" medical marijuana. The Feds have ever since had to flex their muscle and prove that we little whipper-snappers can't just decide to do what we want - Federal Law is Federal Law and that means the weed is illegal.

Well, we can debate that all we want, but that's not even my point. My point is: is this guy really worth it? Is sacrificing this man's life really worth the Feds proving a point?

Evidently, it is to them. Let's hope he just gets the minimum sentence - 5 years.



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com