Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Tuesday, Feb. 04, 2003
I am a dork v 3.0

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
I finally made an appointment with an OB GYN. I say "finally" because I�m more than a year overdue for my Pap. Don�t try this at home, kids.

The real reason I finally made the appointment though, truth be told, is that...I have a lump on my left breast.

OK, no need to panic, right?

Actually, I don�t think there is. Maybe I�m just being a na�ve ignoramus here (which is a distinct possibility), but I�ve not been worried about this lump. I�ve actually known about it since...oh...October? I think that�s when I first felt it, because I was talking to my sister about it when we went to Vegas for Halloween. I think it�s probably just a fibroid or something, but the fact of the matter is that last week I noticed it has gotten bigger. And it�s now actually hurting me because the underwire of my bra hits it (don�t worry � it�s not like a huge lump on the underside of my boob or anything. I don�t look like I have three of �em. In fact, John�s never even noticed it. It�s just below the surface, though, and is raised just enough to be bothered by my bra). So since it�s now really bugging me, I actually remembered to call the damn doctor.

OK, I know...I am a dumbass.

Here is my litany of excuses as to why I didn�t call the doctor sooner:

1. No woman in my family has ever had breast cancer so I haven�t given much thought to this lump actually being a problem. I know...bad excuse. But seriously, that�s been my thought process. If I end up actually having breast cancer, I'm gonna be the poster-girl for what not to do.

2. I had to find a new OB GYN (switched insurance about a year ago) and was asking around to see if anyone had some fabulous doctor to which they could refer me. Sadly, nobody really did.

3. I am so sick of doctors after my many recent visits and frustrations with them that I REALLY don�t want to go again!

4. I kept forgetting to bring my insurance stuff (including the book filled with names of participating doctors) to work so that I could actually call the doctor at a time when someone might even be in the office.

In trying to see the glass as half-full, as usual, I have had the following thought: Maybe, when having this fibroid or whatever it ends up being removed, I can talk the doctor in to giving me a breast-lift and have my insurance pay for it! Let me just say that big boobs are fun to have (and unless the person is a double-D or higher, don�t let anyone tell you otherwise. They�re just trying to make you feel better) until you reach the age of, say 35. Then they start heading south. You have to start looking for sexy nighties which actually hold them up because otherwise they just slip beneath the silky material and you look like you have goiters on your stomach.

Thank God I never had KIDS. I can only imagine...

My appointment isn�t even until Feb. 18. I guess if I had told them I have a lump perhaps they might have squeezed me in sooner...

P.S. Thanks for all of the Guestbook notes! You people are rad in a major way. *smooches*



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com