Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Wednesday, Feb. 12, 2003
what is this strange wet stuff coming from the sky?

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
The sky is falling! The sky is falling!

So it's actually been raining for like the last 36 hours. Straight. There was an inch of actual standing water on the freeway as I drove to work this morning.

Aside from the standing water on the freeway, this is just great. It's supposed to rain straight through tomorrow. According to the news this morning, we may even get enough rain to make up for the fact that it pretty much hasn't rained at all in three years.

The big drawback of course, is that because it hasn't rained much in so many years, a lot of our hillsides burned up over the summer. So now, there is no foliage to hold back the mud that wants to barrel down the hillside in some kind of water-slide from hell. The sandbags are coming out of the wordwork (I never understood why they wait until it is actually pouring rain to break out the sandbags. You know your hill burned up; you probably know at least a few days in advance when the rain is coming. Why not get those bags filled and in place before you have to be out there in your orange rain poncho getting wet as well as filthy?).

Well that stupid guy who tried to kayak the newly-engorged L.A. River this morning might be thinking of a few more drawbacks to this weather.

In the immortal words of Bugs Bunny: "What a maroon."

Those of you who don't live in our fair state may not know this, but the L.A. River is really a river these days in name only. It's a huge part of our sewer system and runs for several miles before it emtpies into the ocean. Now, yes there are biking trails along side it and everything, but it's NOT a place to go swimming or kayaking. Every year we are told this and every time it rains some numb-nuts tries something stupid. Usually, it's kids; that kayaker this morning looked to be about my age.

~~~

Anyway, so I had my appointment with the boob doctor yesterday. My boob now hurts like a mofo. No joke. The doctor thinks it is a Sebaceous Cyst which abscessed. I know - YUK! So he lanced it and biopsied it and took samples of the bacteria seeping out of it (Sorry - man, this is a gross entry!). I go back next week to find out the test results and make sure the hole that I now have in my boob is healing correctly. If is is what he thinks it is, I then have to have a little outpatient surgery to have it removed.

So the good news is that I am most likely fine. I am once again on antibiotics, though. I only just finished with the antibiotics I was on for my sinus infection like last Thursday!

I hate to be a big baby, but this wound in my boob is not fun. You never realize how much you use a muscle until you're impaired in some way. Driving was painful; typing is painful. Every time I move my left arm in any way, it's painful. I had to wear my "fat bra" this morning, cuz it leaves extra room for the bandage and doesn't rub the area and stuff. Gee, I just can't WAIT until he actually removes the damn cyst! That is sure to be fun!

These are the only times when it sucks to be single. Like when I injured my knee; I honestly could not walk and just getting a glass of water became a huge ordeal, let alone getting to the doctor to get fixed up. It was bad enough getting dressed and driving to work this morning; I can imagine I'm really not gonna like doing it after having the cyst removed. But my point is, who else is gonna drive me to work?

But obviously, I am very thankful that there is most likely nothing seriously wrong. And even though my hunch was correct, I will be more diligent should this ever happen again and will get myself to a doctor right away. Had I had the thing taken care of when it was pea-sized, I am somewhat certain I wouldn't be in so much pain right now. It's so stupid, too. What's the point of doing self-breast-examinations every month if I don't act accordingly when I find a lump? Duh.

But then, as we all know, I am a dork.



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com