Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Friday, Apr. 04, 2003
no guest speaker, here

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
You know what sucks? When you take a drink of the water in the cup on your desk and realize only too late that it�s water left over from yesterday.

I really hate it when I do that.

So here�s the haps:

The members of my department are all going to have lunch in about an hour at a cute little micro-brewery/eatery over by the marina at which the Queen Mary is docked. No real reason; we just wanted to go out and have the company pay for lunch. Frankly, I was no part in the planning of this and have no idea how they convinced The Little Big Man to poney up the cash for this occasion, but more power to �em.

John will not be coming down to visit me this weekend. Regretfully, this means that I will most likely be having no sex (well, none that requires the participation of others *ahem*). This also means that I momentarily had no date for the Black Jack with Half Pint extravaganza tomorrow night. Never fear, though. Amy is filling in as pinch-hitter. It will probably be easier to pick up on young, eligible and charitable hotties with Amy on my arm, anyway.

I�m actually not that bummed about not seeing John (well, aside from the "no sex" part). I figure this will give me the chance to get some stuff done around the pad. Or it may just give me the chance to lay around and get caught up on bad television; whatever.

Tonight I am going to see Lou�s band play at some sports bar. Both Amy and Sondra will be accompanying me. And yes, I realize that I may be pushing my luck in going out with Sondra again so soon after our last outing, but A) She just had a birthday. I figure this would be a great way to celebrate it and also support Lou in his musical endeavors. B) Sondra says she�s not drinking anymore, because every time she does she gets a hangover. Now, while I don�t entirely believe this pledge will come to fruition, I do hope that it at least means she won�t have many drinks. And really, she�d better not anyway, because she is playing Designated Driver�which really means that I will be accompanying her, I guess. Whatever.

I have two options for my Sunday social calendar: Jody is having a bar-b-que. It�s also both her and her hubby�s birthday this week, so they are celebrating. However, Barbi also asked me to go on a hike over in her neck of the woods (she lives in the foothills; lots of hiking trails). Arnett is gone for a couple of weeks so this is a good chance for me to go on a hike with Barbi, so I may do that. I dunno. Whatever.

�This is my United States of Whatevah!�

Speaking of Dave Grohl�he was a guest on Kevin and Bean�s show on KROQ yesterday morning. He did a killer acoustic version of �Times Like These� that pert-near made me cry. Of course, now that I think about it, that song pert-near makes me cry, even in it�s rockin version�

~~~

In actual news news�I saw a story on one of the Discovery channels last night having to do with the recent rescue of 19 year old POW Jessica Lynch. It seems an Iraqi man saw her in the hospital, purely by chance. He then walked for six miles in the dessert, his hands in the air ala� a surrender, until he found an American unit he could tell about her. In explaining to them where she was, exactly, he decided it would be best for him to walk the six miles back to the hospital, get a mental layout of the place, and then walk those six miles back to the military unit to explain it all to them. This is what this man (who would not be identified on the report and was filmed in shadow, seeing as once Saddam or his flunkies see him on t.v. he�s pretty much dead meat) did for this American woman he did not know.

Wowee.

(Oh and by the way�in case you haven�t heard yet�JESSICA LYNCH WAS NOT SHOT OR STABBED WHILE BEING HELD PRISONER!)

This, as well as the recent release of several journalists who were being held by the Iraqis, is quite a nice little story in the midst of�well, of war.

Peace, love and *smoooches* ya'll.



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com