Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Wednesday, Apr. 09, 2003
Revolt!...ing

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
My co-workers and I have finally had enough of freezing our collective ass off every day here in this office. It really is terribly cold. Seriously, I have to wear my little Kashmiracle! jacket at work every day � even all summer long. Heaven forbid I wear a skirt to work; my knees pert-near freeze off entirely when I do. People from other departments visit us and almost always make mention of the fact that my department is a full fifteen degrees colder than the rest of the building. And all of this, only because the Little Big Man is a stereotypically hot-blooded Latin male.

Now, while I will admit I get cold very easily, if I were the only cold critter in here I would never, ever suggest that the thermostat be adjusted to my particular body temperature. And yet, although he is the only one who ever gets warm around here, the Little Big Man has always done so. And of course all of our thermostats are kept under lock and key so that we won�t go playing with the temperature all the time.

Well�not anymore, people!

We�ve revolted!

We went behind his back and had our Facilities Manager raise our thermostat. And, even though I still have my Kashmiracle! jacket around my knees right now, it is immensely more comfortable than usual temperature-wise.

Now let�s see how long it takes LBM to throw a hissy and have the thermostat changed again. Several months ago, I had it moved up one degree (yes, that was ONE DEGREE) and it only lasted for two days before he made them change it back. Ridiculous, I say!

~~~

OK�you know this new-found patriotism we as Americans have found within ourselves is going way too far when that stinkin� Josh Gracin is still on American Idol!!!!!! You know he�s only there because he�s a Marine and somehow the voting masses have gotten it in to their heads that it would be un-American to vote him off. Well, it�s either that or you lot have even worse taste in music than I had previously given the bulk of you credit for and boy howdy�that�s some bad taste in music, my friends.

I watched a few minutes of AI last night, during Buffy commerical breaks (and honestly even during the show; when Spike just wouldn�t shut the hell up already. Hey, I love Spike. I especially love Spike when he�s being bad. But Jeez�shut the hell up about it! OK, you�re tortured! We Get It! This is actually one reason I stopped watching Buffy last year and decided to wait for the repeats this season. Buffy and Spike just talk way too much about their f'd up relationship. I know this show has great, snappy dialogue and that�s why I love it, but come on already. Either shut up and screw or just dump him Buffy!)

OK, with that out the way�This Josh kid�SUCKS!

I�m sorry, but I�ve heard much better singing at my neighborhood karaoke bar. He was off-key numerous times, was extremely affected in his �I�m gonna try real hard to sound like a country-singer, so here is the obligatory twang and here is the whine and here is the ever-present vocal hiccup.�

Hey, I love me some country music. I could write for hours about the many ways and reasons why I love Merle Haggard. But this Josh kid needs to go. And go quickly.

And what really pissed me off is that, even though he was off-key; even though he stole all of his vocal technique out of the �How to Sing Country Music and Sound Like a True Hick� handbook at his local Sam Ashe music store; even though, let�s face it � the kid looks like he hasn�t done a single sit up since boot camp; all of the freakin� judges professed to LOVE him. And then they nit-picked most everybody else�s performance, all of which were far superior to Josh�s. Who�s the big black judge, the one that calls everybody �dawg�? (Don�t even get me started on that numb-nutt expression, by the way. If I were up there and he called me a "dawg"�) He was the only one who even made mention of the fact that the kid fell off of his notes, but even he hurriedly went on to say that he loved the performance. Huh?

They even told one gal she was off-key, when I heard no such thing. Man�life is so unfair. Even on American Idol.

P.S. And hey, by the way...Is Lionel Richie the most self-absorbed man on the planet or what? I've thought this since the days of "We Are The World," However, I assumed that perhaps the fact that nobody has seen hide nor hair of him in about 15 years and did not care to (except his wife, with whom I went to high school, by the way) would take the edge off of that quality. Evidently not. Somebody should have told him that last night's show was not about him. Shut UP, Lionel!



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com