Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Monday, Apr. 28, 2003
update #2 for the day: Time Travel

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
I just discovered that when you try to be good in that �less-fat-is-better� way by buying the light popcorn which has far less of that powdery, quasi-butter-like substance on it and, therefore, far fewer grams of fat per serving, you end up saying, �Where the hell is all the powdery, quasi-butter-like substance? I�m like chewing paper over here!�

~~~

I also recently discovered that I may have taken the flannel sheets off of my bed a tad prematurely. It�s been flippin� cold �round these parts lately, folks! I mean, our high may only be about sixty-eight degrees today!

This is so not Spring in S. California.

~~~

My third most recent discovery is that the manager of my apartment buidling is now 97 years old. 97. Yikes.

I discovered this while meeting my new neighbor last night. At about 8:15pm, I walked John out to my garage because that�s where he was parked and I needed to grab something out of his car�well, I had just taken a shower. I was in sweats and a tee-shirt, wearing no bra; I had my crooked, three-perscriptions-old glasses on and my hair was all piled up on top of my head. I�ve tried twice to introduce myself to the new neighbor (you know, when I look like a human being) and couldn�t catch her at home. I finally meet her and I look like some freaky dervish from hell.

~~~

I wondered over the weekend if Tom Hanks ever sits back and thinks�you know�if I had only been born like forty years sooner�I�d be making movies with freakin� Marilyn Monroe right now!

No, I seriously thought that over the weekend.

I mean, nothing against the Hanks, but he�s Tom Hanks. He looks like Tom Hanks. If only for the quirkiness of fate, he missed out on the chance to kiss Marilyn Monroe on film. That�s all I�m saying.

~~~

I think a lot about being born in different times and how I may have liked it or not. Of course, being female, there really isn�t much to be offered in living in other times. I do like to have my opinions, as you may have gathered. I even like to spout them on occasion and yeah, that whole voting thing has really become a nice habit I�ve gotten in to and not one I would likely be willing to give up easily. I feel somewhat certain that these little penchants of mine would have been frowned upon, once upon a time.

And then there�s the whole allure of tampons and convenient birth control, which really should just be obvious.

I assume that, had I lived in another time, I wouldn�t know what I was missing in the way of basic human rights and female sanitation. I also assume I�d actually have been taught how to cook and bake things from scratch (although I�d like to think I�d have been a member of royalty and would have like slaves and serfs to do that type of stuff for me�preferably scantily-clad male slaves who look an awful lot like George Clooney�). I assume all of these things would take care of themselves, but that is not the point of this entry.

There�s this cool movie called The Ballad of Little Jo that I watched recently (well, in truth I re-watched it, but John was seeing it for the first time). Plus, in all of my History channel-watching I recently came across a biography of Kit Carson (who was apparently a lot groovier guy than I once thought, by the way). These things brought up the whole conversation for me again.

The premise of the film is that this gal runs away from the 19th century East and lives as if she is a man in the west. She does this so that she can live alone, without the dangers associated with doing so as a woman at that time.

Anyway, I pretty much concurred that though I love being a woman for many reasons, I would never have wanted to live as one during that time or any other except the present.

That said, were I a man I would totally have loved living one hundred, two hundred years ago (actually, I would like to time-travel over numerous centuries and places). Can you imagine seeing this country then? Not really the cities which were probably even more clogged up with filth in the air, seeing as everyone burned either coal or wood fires twenty-four hours a day for warmth and cooking; but to have been able to wander the west at that time, in all of its unspoiled beauty and splendor�ah, man � that would totally have been the life. I would give my eye-teeth without second thought for the chance to take a trip back in a time machine. In truth, I�d give a lot more than that.

I�m not one of those people who believe firmly that things were in general much better in past, �simpler� times. First of all, I don�t think those times were �simpler� at all, in fact quite the opposite. Plus, I know full well that most times in the past were probably even more violent than the times we live in now. It�s just that when you killed someone then, you only killed one person at a time. Anyway, that�s not my point and I could go on for days about violence in different historic periods.

My point is that to have been able to see, for example, Yosemite alongside John Muir; to have wandered through the Rockies not knowing what was around the corner or how long it will take to get out of them; to have seen Hetch Hetchy before it was just a big ol� dam in an otherwise beautiful area; to have witnessed the Colorado river when it was at full swagger, before it was dammed up and shrunk to less that one eighth of its grandeur; to have seen the canyons that now make up Lake Powell before the pictographs and petroglyphs were drowned in thousands of acres full of forced-in water; to have been among the first to discover the geysers and paint-pots of the Yellowstone area�I�m just saying�I would seriously give, if not my soul, something much more valuable.



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com