Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Wednesday, May. 07, 2003
NARF Auction and an addendum

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
NATIVE AMERICAN RIGHTS FUND TO HOLD ITS SECOND ANNUAL BENEFIT ART AUCTION IN SANTA FE - NEW MEXICO

Boulder, CO. On August 21, 2003, the Native American Rights Fund (NARF) will be holding it Second Annual Benefit Art Auction in Santa Fe, New Mexico. The charity event will be hosted by Rodney Grant at the La Fonda Hotel located near the historic Santa Fe Plaza.

On August 22 at 6:00 p.m. is the silent auction and benefit dance hosted by local Santa Fe band, Firecat of Discord.

All proceeds from the two-day events will go toward general operating for NARF who helps Native Americans confront the issues affecting their communities in the areas of cultural preservation, education, protection of tribal natural resources, and religious freedom.

The Native American Rights Fund is a nonprofit organization whose mission is to assist American Indians, tribes, individuals and organizations with legal advice and representation on federal Indian law. NARF is headquartered in Boulder, Colorado with offices in Washington, D.C., and Anchorage Alaska.

To learn more about NARF or the art auction, visit our web site and click on the 2nd Annual Benefit Art Auction banner.

~~~

Thanks to pandi for the note in my guestbook. She also sent me an e-mail which included some additional photos and stuff. That�s so nice. I�m always so touched when people go out of their way to make contact like that. I am reminded again of what Sept. 11 must have been like for so many people. I know it shook us all and I was no exception, but I feel somewhat certain that my own thoughts and feelings pale in comparison to those who live on that coast and were face-to-face with it all.

This morning, I was still thinking about the stuff I wrote yesterday. Actually, I had a lot on my mind this morning, but this was one of the topics and it related to another, which is Original Mike.

When Bill Clinton ran for Pres. the first time, Mike had me and a few people over his house to watch the election results and do a little celebratory partying (you�ll recall, this was after twelve years of Reagan-Bush. We deserved a freakin celebration). Anyway, I was reminded of something that happened late in the evening. After all the speeches were made and everything, I found myself crying in Mike�s backyard. He found me of course, and asked me what was wrong. I said, �Well�it�s just�it�s not really like anything is going to change.� He just looked at me for a moment. �Well, I agree with you,� he said. �I�m just surprised to hear you say that.�

I just wanted to share that, so that you all can see that my cynicism knows no party lines.

Actually, last night I was trying to think of an Administration that I don�t know has lied to us. Not including Bill�s sexual activities, the Clinton Administration also basically lied about the whole Ruby Ridge and Waco FBI fiascos (by the way, I strongly urge everyone to watch a documentary about Waco called Waco, a New Revelation), so that leaves him out�I know I once knew something about even Jimmy Carter, but frankly I can�t remember what it was now, so I�ll just stick to my ever-present-guns when it comes to the wonderful President Carter.

Of course, I just have to now add the fact that�wow! Looks like Halliburton is now going to have more of a controlling interest in resuming the oil business in Iraq than we were first informed. What a shocker!

For those of you who don�t remember, the Bush administration has some rather serious ties to Halliburton oil. Follow the money people, and tell me again this war was about liberating the Iraqi people. That may happen, it may not. But if it does, it won�t be because that�s what we were after.

~~~

OK, I�m working on a real entry and I promise I�ll get off my political soapbox�well, for now anyway.



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com