Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Tuesday, May. 20, 2003
television watching

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
I just want to point out a little flaw in The Sopranos. Not even a flaw, really. Just an inconsistency.

Did you ever notice that Tony sells his mom�s house in the first season�only to again try to sell it in the second when it becomes a big plot line involving his sister Janice?

It�s really a glaring inconsistency. It�s not a relatively normal inconsistency like that one where in the very first episode, �Satriales� is called something else entirely different and Tony�s Russian girlfriend is played by some tiny little blonde chick who you can�t understand even MORE than you can�t understand the taller brunette they replaced her with in episode two and thereafter. This flaw is even bigger than those. And those you can just put down to growing pains. You know, comparable to the kid who played Roseanne�s son in the first episode or two of that show; or the kid who played Chris Partridge and was then replaced after season one. Sometimes, the network big wigs just decide one actor doesn�t work for whatever reason (like, say, perhaps the fact that you can�t understand a bleeding thing coming out of her mouth because she just stepped off the plane from Russia like three hours ago). Of course, I have no explanation for why they changed "Satriales" from whatever it was in episode one (it begins with a �C��). They use the same location; they just changed the name. Oddness.

Anyway, Tony�s mom makes a big deal out of the fact that Tony sold her house in season one. In fact, this is what leads her to finally go so far as to manipulate Uncle Junior into putting a hit out on Tony. It�s a major plot line. She feels like the house was sold out from under her, blah-blah-blah. And then, cut to season two and Janice is trying to work her way in to said house so that she can have it and whatever cash may be hidden in the floor boards when her mother conveniently kicks the bucket by, say, taking too much medication one day�

OK, I�ve been wanting to get that off my chest for a very long time, now.

And yes, I care far too much about the Sopranos.

~~~

So tonight is the night we all say good-bye to our beloved Buffy. Do you think the fact that I�ve seen only about 93 minutes of this entire season will keep me from following tonight�s plot line? Cuz I have to watch. Even though I haven�t liked the last two or three seasons, the first three were so good that it's still one of my favorite shows of all time. If they didn�t repeat it seven times every day on the various Fox channels, I would be tempted to actually buy the first three or four seasons on DVD.

Something I am considering for the first two seasons of Homicide, which are soon to come out on DVD. Yay! This truly was one of the best f�n shows ever and nobody repeats it. They started repeating it on Court t.v. a long time ago, but it didn�t last long and when it was on it was on at like 3:00am or some shit. Anyway, I already told John that I want this DVD collection. Since he liked the show too (although he only started watching it after he met me and that was during like the last two seasons), I�ll bet you anything he buys it for me. We saw the commercial after I�d told him about it and a little light went on in his eye�

Speaking about my favorite tv shows, ya�ll just need to watch the first season of That Seventies Show. If not purely for its hilarity, just watch the opening. You know how they�re all sitting in the car, driving around and singing that �Hanging out, down the street, the same old thing, we did last week�� song? Well�hang in there �til the end of the song and check out the look of that kid Danny Masterson (Marsterson? Whatever�the kid that plays Hyde�or Hide�or whatever)�This is only during the first season, maybe the first two, when they all looked really young. They changed the opening somewhere along the line�so check out his face at the end of the song. Cuz that look he has on his face is just�just...priceless.

Dudes, in my dorkiness, I have been trying to figure out a way to work Hyde�s (or Hide�s�whatever) face in to an entry here for weeks, now. Every time I watch the show I just crack up in tummy-clutching laughter at that face he makes.

~~~

And now�an update on my e-mail correspondence with one Barbara.

-----Original Message-----

From: Barbi

Sent: Monday, May 19, 2003 1:35 PM

To: Karen

Subject: (no subject)

Hi-

Just thought I'd tell you that I am sick! Crap! Got Arnett's cold, which is actually a flu, I guess. I was home all weekend, laying around feeling terrible. I'm here at work today, but shouldn't be. I was so pissed that I didn't get anything done on the weekend. It seems like I don't have enough time and I plan to do things at certain times and then if I don't get it done I get backed up. I don't know how people that have actual busy lives get everything done.

Anyway, I will call you tomorrow when (hopefully) I feel better.

Hope you're OK.

bye,

b

-----Original Message-----

From: Karen

Sent: Monday, May 19, 2003 2:28 PM

To: Barbi

Subject: (no subject)

Eew�sorry you�re sick! I know, I think that all the time � I have no idea how people with kids and stuff have time to do anything. They never get sick, that�s for sure.

I actually got quite a bit done on Saturday. I didn�t get my hair done, after all. I changed my appt, to Wednesday. So I cleaned my apartment and went to Smart and Final and Ralphs while John was at the baby shower.

Feel better soon. Take care of yourself!

Love ya!

Karen

~~then we had an exchange that included much of the same stuff I wrote here yesterday (about blood pressure and weekend activities), so I won't bore you (well, any more than these things probably already bore you)~~

-----Original Message-----

From: Barbi

Sent: Tuesday, May 20, 2003 8:11 AM

To: KarenSubject: Re: John

90/30 sounds too low to be true. Yes, I know we run low, but that's too low. That isn't even healthy! I think you better check your machine againist (sic) another one to check it's accuracy.

Good walking! Now if you don't get sick you can keep it up and get on a roll. That's why walking is good for you, even though you don't think you're that winded, your heart rate is up. I do have a hard time talking sometimes, but then Arnett does most of the talking.

Don't forget you and Cathy are coming to dinner June 6. I spoke to her before and after she was in Vegas. She was doing fine. Are you still going to go to Vegas if you have to pay that amount for a room?* The best price they could find was the Frontier, you know. She said it was fine, alot of low ($3.- $5.) tables, even at night. Sounds like she didn't gamble that much.

I'm a little better today but still have a cold. Just took some Alka Seltzer Plus. That stuff sure doesn't work as well since they had to redo it.

have a good day,

b

*little glitch in my plan to stay at Treasure Island when I go to Vegas next month. Because I go there a lot and have one of their club cards, I usually get special deals on rooms. While I was just mailed a special room-rate offer, I can not use the special on the weekend I want to go and the price for the room is a lot more than my roommates had bargained for. We're still going, Lauren, we just may stay elsewhere.

-----Original Message-----

From: Karen

Sent: Tuesday, May 20, 2003 9:43 AM

To: Barbi

Subject: Re: John

I didn�t even know they had to �redo� Alka Seltzer�Glad you�re on the mend. Man, isn�t cold/flu season over? You know, as the rainforest shrinks we�re going to have lots and lots of new or long-slumbering diseases spreading. Just another lovely little side-affect of mankind�s rape of his environment. It�s kinda karma-esque, really.

Well, as far as my blood pressure goes: I will say that on Sunday I was having a hard time getting a reading, so maybe the machine wasn�t working right. However, I was getting low readings like that when we were just laying around Friday, Saturday and Sunday. When we were up and moving around it was a normal reading. So I don�t think my readings would have been off that many times, if it was a case of my not having the contraption hooked up right or something like that. Even if the machine is off a little, I don�t think it�s off by much because my up and moving around readings were normal. Plus, I�d hate to think his machine runs low. Think what his blood pressure would really be then!

I�ll check out the Frontier. I don�t even really care where we stay (well, you know�within reason) except that we�re going to be kind of far away from CJ and his friends if we go down there. I had even thought about asking Amy if she wanted to stay at the Golden Nugget. It�s a nice hotel, it�s just that it�s down town. However, it�s not like we can�t take a taxi to the strip and then taxi home. It just wouldn�t be as convenient to get separated which I have a feeling we are going to do.

I won�t forget about dinner. Rarely do I forget about free meals. Plus, I have it on my calendar.

I am so excited about my trip this weekend. You�d think I was going to Italy or something. I guess when the only vacations one gets are little weekend getaways, one tends to get very excited about them. Well, plus I�ve never been to Mendocino before.

I may go see Mike and Smithereens-Mike tonight. They�re playing at the Liquid Lounge. They don�t go on until 11:00 though, which kinda sucks. It�s not all that late, really; I mean it�s not like I would be asleep before then anyway. It�s just that I�m not gonna go sit in the bar at like 8:00 and wait for them to go on. That means I�ll be hanging out at home. Which therefore means I�ll be relaxing. That probably means I�ll be undressed. Once I�m undressed and relaxed, it�s very difficult to get up the gumption to get dressed again and go out.

The good news is that, since they go on late, I could conceivably watch the series finale of Buffy and still go see them...



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com