Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Thursday, Jun. 05, 2003
none of these things really bother me, I swear

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
I have something to say about the diarist awards.

At least I think I do.

I don't want to bitch about this sort of thing, especially since who really cares? It's all just a bunch of people sitting around and writing stuff on the web (much as we all do) who decided to get together and basically just send "shout-outs" to people they think are great writers. Nothing wrong in that and it's hardly worthy of any stress.

Some of my favorite online journalists have been nominated for awards in the past or are now nominated this quarter (yay for weet and i-girl!). This is obviously groovy and congrats to those folks.

(I interrupt this rant to point out that in the listing of 3rd Quarter, 2002 nominees, Dancing Brave's real name is spelled "Heathen". Hee!)

But I just gotta say that I checked out a lot of nominated entries this morning and...man, there is some stupid stuff nominated! Of all the truly wonderful online writers I have discovered over the past couple of years, they instead chose to nominate some really badly written pieces. Not all of the nominees are bad, mind you, but...oh I'd say about 25% of the entries are written no better and with no more original thought than something I'd read on the women's room wall at the Liquid Lounge.

So to all of my favorites who have never been nominated for any stinkin' award (and you know who you are), you are at least rewarded in my mind. I appreciate the thought, the time and the effort you all have put in to your writing and your pages (which is almost always obviously a lot more thought, time and effort than I put in to mine).

And I think the diartist awards need a new panel.

~~~

Since I am bitching about things that aren't supposed to matter to me, though, I'm gonna just let it all hang out and say that it kind of bugs me when I leave a note in someone's guestbook and they never bother to acknowledge it. I'm not talking about people I visit frequently cuz most of them visit me also and eventually I hear from them and we're almost sorta kinda like friends and it doesn't bother me. I'm just saying if you get a note from someone out of the blue, someone who doesn't even know you but took the time to write you a compliment, it may be the courteous thing to do to just send a little "hi, thanks for stopping by" kind of note in return. If some stranger compliments your dress as you are out shopping or whatever, do you just ignore them and walk on by? Of course not. You say thank you.

That's all I'm saying.

~~~

Another thing that's starting to bother me is the fact that nobody likes me. I hate that this bothers me! Of course "nobody" is a stretch; people like me (don't they?). This here journal, though, is only the favorite of a handful of people, as opposed to some of you out there who apparently have literal minions of other online folk who are willing to do your bidding.

Or, you know, they at least read your diary on a regular basis.

I want the love too, people!

OK, yes; I could actually put some thought in to my entries and make sure they are well-written and at least approach coherency before I post them. That might help.

I could also create a banner and do other things to advertise this page.

I could look in to creating an eye-catching and exciting new template (or having one created for me, let's be real).

Or I could tell people who know me in real life that this page exists; I'll bet those people would give me the love I so richly deserve.

Ah, fuck it. That's just too much damn work.



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com