Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Thursday, Jun. 05, 2003
misc. frivolity

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
I had two peanut butter cookies for breakfast.

Just thought I�d share.

My upper-arms and my tummy began peeling after my shower this morning. I got a bit of a burn over Memorial weekend, you see. Not a bad burn , but enough to cause a peel, evidently. Hey, at least I didn�t freckle. Around my mid-twenties, I began to get freckles on my shoulders whenever I would get out in the sun. That was also around the time when those wonderful tans I used to get (man, I used to tan so nicely! Ah, the good old days�) started to just appear blotchy and I started looking older after I would lay out in the sun. That was the end of my sun-worshipping days and now I am whiter than Nicole Kidman�OK, maybe not that white because really � who in the world is as white as Nicole Kidman, aside from Nicole herself? But I�m pretty darn white.

I guess this is what I get for running around the beach nekkid, though. I didn�t realize I was going to need sunscreen on certain parts of my body when I left the hotel that morning, ya know?

~~~

So the smart people up there in Northern California gave Ed Rosenthal a mere three years probation for his growing of medical marijuana. Therefore, he only spent one day in jail. Thank God most judges (including his) are more reasonable than our government. I also think it�s very cool that the jurors spoke out in the press about how pissed off they were that they were not informed he was growing it for the city of Oakland�s medicinal marijuana program. Their verdict would have been very different had they been told, they say�you know, seeing as he didn�t break any state laws by growing the stuff; and, I assume, seeing as that marijuana was going to help a whole lot of sick people had the Feds not confiscated it all. I�m just glad the guy isn�t going to jail. I�m sure he is, too.

Excerpt from an LA Times article this morning:

�U.S. District Judge Charles Breyer brushed aside a plea from prosecutors for a 6 1/2-year sentence, declaring that Rosenthal should spend just one day in jail. He then waived the sentence for time already served after Rosenthal's arrest last year by drug agents.

Breyer cited the "extraordinary circumstances" of the case, including eight jurors who said after the trial that they would have acquitted Rosenthal had he been allowed to present evidence that his pot plants were intended for medical use�

It brought an end to a topsy-turvy legal case that thrust Rosenthal into the national spotlight. He became a symbol of the ongoing clash over California's medical marijuana laws and the uncompromising prohibitions of the federal government��

As a result of the Rosenthal case, U.S. Reps. Sam Farr (D-Carmel) and Dana Rohrabacher (R-Huntington Beach) have proposed a bill � the Truth in Trials Act � that would amend the federal Controlled Substances Act to allow state laws relating to medicinal marijuana to be raised in federal court cases.

In May, U.S. Rep. Barney Frank (D-Mass.) introduced a more comprehensive bill, HR 2233, that would force the federal government to recognize state laws on medical use of marijuana.�

Copyright 2003 Los Angeles Times

~~~

No John this weekend; he is not coming down. I had a feeling he wouldn�t, but I was holding out hope.

So tomorrow evening, I am going to Barbi and Arnett�s for dinner (Arnie is making crab legs for me! Woo-hoo!!!). Cathy is joining us, also. I assume we will go out after dinner, probably throw some darts. It is entirely possible we will end up at a karaoke bar because Arnett is the Karaoke Master, but it depends on how much energy he has. Arnett has a lot of health issues and he has been working very hard the past several weeks, so we�ll see. It may just be a girls night out.

The rest of my weekend is up in the air. I have some cleaning and laundry I need to do and it will be easier to do all of it without John around. Since I just spent a whole crap-load of money on our trip and will most likely be spending an additional load when I go to Vegas in a couple of weeks, I don�t really want to go out and blow a bunch of cash, so I will probably stay in for the rest of the weekend.

I hate that. Every weekend John doesn�t come down seems to be a weekend where I don�t want to spend any money. Here I have this perfect opportunity to go out, flirt outrageously, get my drink on and party like I like to but John has no taste for and instead I will most likely be sitting at home watching old movies on cable.

~~~

This is my horoscope for today:

LIBRA: You've long been known as a sort of leader in your social circle -- and never more so than right now. Your phone is ringing off the hook with pleas for advice, aid and consolation; it's up to you to decide whether or not you start letting them dump straight into voicemail after the fifth or sixth phone call! For a quick bit of advice, remind them all to look at the big picture; it's the little details that bog everyone down.

Heh-heh�that is really funny because it is so true right now!

~~~

By the way � sorry if you attempted to read yesterday�s entry and received a lot of garbled-gook instead. I had a little computer hurdle to jump over and it took me a while to get everything corrected.

Hope ya�ll have a great day!

Hasta.



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com