Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Monday, Jun. 16, 2003
various deals with the devil

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
Here�s the thing�I�ve never seen Don Giovanni. I like the opera; I love Mozart. I have been wanting to see this opera pert near my entire life and for one reason or another I am never able to do so. Whenever performances of this opera are happening in town, either I do not find out until all performances are sold out (which is what usually happens) or I or those with whom I would go to the opera do not want to spend the money to do so (as was the case this year). A couple of weeks ago, I forwarded the webpage for a current performance of this elusive opera to my sister with a note saying, �Just when are we going to be able to see Don Giovanni?� and we commiserated over missing it yet again.

Yesterday, in the course of conversation, John told me his sister Kitty had been to the opera the night before.

�Huh?� I was unable to hide my astonishment. �Kitty went to the opera? What opera?�

�Um�Don Juanathan-something�� was John's reply.

Don Giovanni?� I ask, my astonishment now turning into extreme opera-envy.

�Yeah, that�s it.�

Don GiovanniKitty went to see Don Giovanni�???�

Of course, what I really wanted to say during my �I�m-so-disgusted-and-yet-slightly-amused� repeated mentioning of her name in an incredulous manner was:

�You mean, the same Kitty who recently paid $10,000 to have her gang-related tattoos removed? The same Kitty who recently had a second job as a Massage Therapist, But I Will Give You Your Massage While Topless If You Pay Me Extra? That Kitty?�

I tell you, there is no justice in this world.

~~~

Speaking of justice, I have never understood why Scott Glenn continues to get acting jobs.

A. He can�t act

B. He the ugliest man in movies

C. Did I mention he really can�t act?

Yesterday, I watched Courage Under Fire, a really good movie that wasn�t quite ruined by the wooden acting of Mr. Glenn, but only because he had maybe three scenes in the whole flick, none of which required much more of him than to ask pointed questions and help a drunken Denzel Washington find a seat. I also saw him in a flick a couple of weeks ago and was discussing the oddness of Scott Glenn�s acting career with John. I am simply mystified.

At least most actors who can�t act usually make up for in good looks what they lack in talent and so while acknowledging the still-unfairness of it all, we can at least understand why said actor might get film roles.

Uh�not so much with Scott Glenn. He is horrible to look at; simply horrible. And let me just point out that he has that many pock-marks on his face while wearing makeup.

Plus, does he ever play a different role? He may wear a different costume in his roles, but he is always the same, wooden-faced and stern �man of no movement� in every film and he�s usually a law-enforcement agent of some form or another. He�s been in some great movies, too. I can�t believe people of real artistic merit would be seen anywhere near the vicinity of His Woodenness�

Here are some examples of his acting (non)abilities:

Training Day: He plays a rough and tumble ex-cop/drug dealer. Again opposite Denzel Washington and I swear it is only the magic that is Denzel which keeps the film alive even in the death-throws of Glenn�s �acting�. Otherwise, the life would have been sucked out of the movie as soon as he stepped onscreen. You can see the draining of Ethan Hawke�s will to live as he is forced to share screen-time with His Woodenness.

I know he was in The Virgin Suicides�I consider the fact that I can�t remember his character a true blessing because usually I am so all-consumed by His Woodenness and his horrible acting that I can recall few other details in any movie he is in.

Absolute Power: He plays a Secret Service Agent. You can tell by the black suit he wears. If not for the suit, you would think this was a recurring role and somehow this story is tied to�Silence of the Lambs in which he plays an FBI agent. Somewhere along the line, Hannibal Lecter insinuates that Glenn�s character may have a thing for Clarice Starling�well, it�s a good thing he mentioned it or none of us would know. Not like we can see through that wooden veneer Mr. Glenn has so artfully perfected to see his lusty underbelly.

You know�mentioning Scott Glenn and �lusty underbelly� in one sentence is enough to put one off of one�s lunch.

Ooh�in The Hunt for Red October he played a Naval Commander! Nice to see the man stretch.

Scott Glenn did almost ruin one of my favorite films, Silverado. Had he not been one of the lead actors, it may have surpassed the �one of� qualifier to become my favorite movie. Sadly, Scott Glenn is in it. Although he plays a gunslinger in this ode to the westerns of old (and not a cop), he does so in such a way as to make you long for his performances as a member of law-enforcement. Never have I been so thoroughly appalled by a performance in what otherwise is a great movie with a rather stellar cast (Kevin Kline and Danny Glover included).

And is there anything worse than Scott Glenn�s �performance� as Capt. Alan Shepard in The Right Stuff. Luckily, there were actual actors working with him and they served to keep the film alive in spite of Glenn�s efforts to kill it.

So there you have it - a few words on why I hate Scott Glenn. I swear his career is proof positive that pacts with the devil can work; there simply is no other logical reason why he continues to have one.

See? No justice, people.

~~~

So the San Antonio Spurs are the new NBA champs�and about 54 people in Texas actually care.

~~~

Hey, so are you getting paid more money now that Bush has so graciously given us that wonderful tax cut? I got about $30 extra last week; I assume it will be the same each pay period.

And if that�s not worth our loss in programs and our ever-increasing deficit, I don�t know what is!

Oh yeah, I guess I�ll actually end up paying higher state taxes because of the loss in state assistance caused by this tax cut, but I just won�t think about that right now�you know, like most of the rest of the country. Instead, I�ll just use my extra $30 to place a Roulette bet in Vegas this weekend.

~~~

John had a nice Father�s Day yesterday. His son, Robert, and Robert�s wife Leah had a second child at 8:00 am � Jonathan.

The kid�s middle name is Damien.

Plus, the kid was born with a whole lotta hair. Makes it more difficult to spot the 666 birthmark, I say�

He and Mommy are fine, of course, and John was giddy yesterday. He spent much of the day at the hospital with everyone.

Saturday we spent together and I took him to dinner at Lucille�s in celebration of Father�s Day (and because I didn�t want to cook anything and yet wanted to eat a lot). In all, it was a nice weekend. I even got a little cleaning of the pad in.

~~~

Ah...sillyred just broke my heart. My niece, Carla and her hubby have been trying to have a baby for a couple of years now, going through procedure after procedure in their efforts. It so sucks - nice people like these can't get pregnant when everywhere you look there are mutations of humanity procreating at an alarming rate.

~~~

Well, I guess that�s enough examination of life's little inequities for now! Hasta!



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com