Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Friday, Jul. 11, 2003
Karen's got a hickey

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
----Original Message-----
From: Sondra
Sent: Friday, July 11, 2003 9:12 AM
To: Karen
Subject: Re: Pirates


Hello!

Yes, I am going to let Jeremy see "Pirates of the Carribean." He has been talking about it non-stop for about 6 months now. He knew exactly when it was coming out - July 9 - but he has been patient because I explained to him that EVERYONE wants to see this movie and the lines will be long. We will probably go next week. I am looking forward to it, for much the same reasons you are! (Editorial Note: My reasons were - Orlando Bloom and Johnny Depp. Yum. )

I am not as strict about movies as I probably should be. Jeremy and Lou saw "Terminator 3" last week. I think that was Jeremy's first R-rated movie in a theatre. (They liked it, but the way.)

I got my toes done yesterday! They look so pretty!

Looking forward to seeing you tonight! I will be there by nine. Call if you need a ride or anything.

Have a great day!

Love,
Sondra

----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Friday, July 11, 2003 9:21 AM
To: Sondra
Subject: Re: Pirates


Very cool about your toes. Do you know that I have still never had a pedicure? It�s like�un-American or something. I know once I have one I�ll be going every week.

Linda is coming tonight, also! I am picking her up on my way. I�m looking forward to it, also. I had a very stressful week and need to let loose a bit. Of course, I started early � last night I went to see Mike and Mike play at the Liquid Lounge in Long Beach. I had fun, but didn�t even speak to either of them much at all. Of course, Mike�s bitch�oops, I mean girlfriend was there so you know how that goes. Actually, he did come over and say hello which is really a minor miracle.

I met a groovy guy named Enoch�actually, I have no idea how to spell that wacky name, but it sounds like the first syllable in inoculation. He reminds me of Bill Paxton with a goatee. I found him rather attractive and am actually hoping he calls me. Another minor miracle. Usually the next day I�m all �Damn�why did I give my number out? Man, I hope he doesn�t call me��

Of course, this means he most likely will not call me. He wasn�t drunk, though, so I assume he was sincere.

What the hell? What am I, sixteen?

See, this is what happens when you don�t date much as a teenager. You get stalled in perpetual puberty.

As a side note, I saw this guy in a little truck on my way to work and the truck had bits of scripture painted all over it.

Apparently, I am going to hell when I die.

As if we didn�t know that already.

:) See ya tonight!

-----Original Message-----
From: Sondra
Sent: Friday, July 11, 2003 10:02 AM
To: Karen
Subject: Frank


Hey!

Do you ever talk to your little internet friend anymore?

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Friday, July 11, 2003 10:06 AM
To: Sondra
Subject: Frank


Sadly, no. I actually sent him an e-mail like six months ago, which he completely ignored. I think about him a lot, still, but I won�t be trying that again I guess.

The last time I heard from him was when he had to send me my Sopranos tapes back, which was when I still worked at x so like two years ago. I am pretty sure he stopped talking to me because he was afraid he�d interfere with my relationship with John.

Noble, yes, but man�the EGO!

:)

-----Original Message-----
From: Sondra
Sent: Friday, July 11, 2003 10:08 AM
To: Karen
Subject: RE: Frank


What are you saying, that no one can interfere with your relationship with John? I need some clarity here!

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Friday, July 11, 2003 10:17 AM
To: Sondra
Subject: RE: Frank


No, no�I just meant he must have thought I had some pretty strong feelings for him to think he would get in the way.

Which I did. I was really kidding about the ego thing. :)

It was a weird thing, to care so much about someone who lives in freakin� New York and I�d never even met him in person. But he was a really great friend to me and I miss him. I could talk to him on the phone for hours and about anything (nice phone bills!). Maybe it was because I�d never seen him in person; maybe that freed me up a little. I dunno.

And please � all kinds of people can come between me and John! We�re not even really together, you know. Obviously I see him a lot, but I can see other people if I choose to do so, as can he. And actually, we�re kind of petering out again. I just get very tired of the way he talks to me a lot of the time and I have been very tired of it ever since Memorial Weekend.

Anyway, why do you ask?

-----Original Message-----
From: Sondra
Sent: Friday, July 11, 2003 10:19 AM
To: Karen
Subject:


HELLLLOOOOOO!

You did not answer me!

No wonder you're going to Hell.

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Friday, July 11, 2003 10:21 AM
To: Sondra
Subject:


I did so!

And I am not!!

-----Original Message-----
From: Sondra
Sent: Friday, July 11, 2003 10:24 AM
To: Karen
Subject: RE: Frank


Finally!

I am sorry I accused you of ignoring me. I didn't realize your response was on the way! I need to be more patient!

I don't know why I asked. Just being nosy, I guess. I thought about you and Frank the other day, out of the blue, for some reason. I wasn't even watching "You've Got Mail"!

I figured you and John were not exclusive, seeing as you are picking up on babes with ancient Hebrew names.

Love you!
S

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Friday, July 11, 2003 10:24 AM
To: Sondra
Subject: RE: Frank


Is that an ancient Hebrew name?

Man, I really am going to hell when I die�

-----Original Message-----
From: Sondra
Sent: Friday, July 11, 2003 10:30 AM
To: Karen
Subject: RE: Frank


It is an ancient Hebrew name. Is he Jewish? We need a Jew in the family!

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Friday, July 11, 2003 10:30 AM

To: Sondra
Subject: RE: Frank


I don�t think so�in fact, I asked him what nationality he was that his parents gave him that wacky name (except, you know, I was nice about it). I don�t really remember what he said, but I think I would have remembered if he was Jewish.

I�ve been wanting to marry a Jew ever since I first watched Thirtysomething.

Sadly, I don�t think all of them look like Michael Steadmon.

-----Original Message-----
From: Sondra
Sent: Friday, July 11, 2003 10:31 AM
To: Karen
Subject: RE:


I was really just looking for an excuse to say "No wonder you are going to Hell."

It reminds me of that Seinfeld.

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Friday, July 11, 2003 10:32 AM
To: Sondra
Subject: RE:

Yes. I thought of that when you said it, but I didn�t know that you knew what you were saying.

-----Original Message-----
From: Sondra
Sent: Friday, July 11, 2003 10:49 AM
To: Karen
Subject: RE: Frank


You are very funny.
Amy wants to know if you are coming tonight....FOR SURE?!!! She is yelling at me to get to work. She wants me to work and relay messages to you....what does she really want?

By the way, I am so sore! (Editorial Note: Sondra works with our niece, Amy; and she recently started a Pilates workout, which is why she�s sore.)

Love you!
Sondra

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Friday, July 11, 2003 10:50 AM
To: Sondra
Subject: RE: Frank


Yes�FOR SURE!!!
I am picking up her mommy after work, we are going to grab some food and then go on over. I assume I�ll be there at about 9:00.

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Friday, July 11, 2003 10:51 AM
To: Sondra
Subject: RE: Frank


Oh and by the way�

I love you, too!

~~~

And now�The Friday Five:

1. Do you remember your first best friend? Who was it?
Her name was Jaci McGrath. She lived down the street from me, had eight siblings (Irish Catholic family, you know) and her dad worked at Disneyland so I got to go very often and for free. This was in the days when you actually had tickets to get on each ride. The tickets, for you youngsters out there who have no idea what I�m talking about, we lettered A-E; A being for the waste of time rides like that Abraham Lincoln thing, E tickets for the cool ones like The Matterhorn. Needless to say, most people came home with tons of A and B tickets left in their little ticket books and you never really had enough of the E tickets. Well, Jaci�s dad always gave us books of what were called �Key Tickets�. The Key Tickets allowed you to go on any ride with them, regardless of the letter assigned.

Score!

2. Are you still in touch with this person?
I no longer talk to Jaci. The last time I saw her, I was working the Ticketron counter at Tower Records (see how old I am? I worked the Ticketron counter and remember E ticket rides! {By the way - damn those Ticketmaster bastards and the little monopoly they�ve created.}). She was buying tickets to see Lasaream and I think she was studying to be a nurse while I was working at freakin� Tower Records.

In my own defense, I may have been a loser working at Tower Records, but at least I never bought tickets to see Lasaream.

3. Do you have a current close friend?
Yes. I have several, but lets just focus on Cathy for now.

4. How did you become friends with this person?
Cathy was actually a friend of my sister, Sondra�s. They met as Freshmen, on their way to school the first day. They were best friends all through high school and even shared an apartment together in their late-teens.

She and Sondra are no longer friends, but she is a great friend of mine and Barbara�s. She and Sondra had a huge feud at a time when Sondra was having huge feuds with pert near everybody. Barbara and I both sided with Cathy, as far as that went. It�s not like we actually took sides, but essentially we knew Sondra was full of shit at the time and weren�t going to lose someone that we had come to love just because our sister was in the midst of a mental...dilemma.

And yes, Sondra was pissed that we remained friends, for a very long time.

5. Is there a friend from your past that you wish you were still in contact with? Why?
I have been thinking about a lot of old friends, lately. I think I�m going through a nostalgic mode. I most want to talk to Joelle and may be contacting her soon. She is a great person (or was�I assume she still is), but I really fucked up that friendship.

Joelle was always very�different from me. And sadly, I was going through some stuff in my twenties that resulted in my being very short-tempered with her and downright unkind to her at times.

And yes, I assume this is why she just stopped speaking to me, out of the blue. And yes, this has a lot to do with why I feel the need to contact her; if only to apologize for being such a shit to someone who totally didn�t deserve it.



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com