Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Friday, Jul. 18, 2003
*croak*

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
So of course, like many of you, I wasted a full hour of my life last night watching Jennifer Lopez and Ben Affleck giggle, grin and snuggle on last night�s Dateline.

Was there really anything there to merit a full hour of them on Dateline? Did NBC consider this to be a slow news week or something?

Because, you know, it wasn�t a slow news week. Not at all.

Anyway, I still watched it. I guess I was thinking that somewhere, sometime, there had to be a portion of the story which made it worth spending an entire hour on.

There wasn�t. Well, unless you find watching J-Lo fry some chicken to be worth spending an hour on.

She did look good while frying said chicken. Of course, both Ben and Jen are very attractive people (except�um�Jen? What�s up with that hair-do? Dude, my friends have better �dos than that after working all day and they don�t have, like, on-call hair and make-up people surrounding them).

After all is said and done, I still have no desire whatsoever to pay good money to see their new movie; I know nothing more about those two than I knew yesterday; and I still think Pat O�Brien is a kiss-ass dork.

Actually, I do have some words of advice for this supposedly happy couple, before they make that trip down the aisle: Jen, honey � let the man speak on occasion. And Ben, hon? Don�t let her talk all over you. Assert yourself, young man. I would not have been surprised to have seen her actually put her hand over his mouth during last night�s interview. As it was, did anyone else watch that body language? Half of her body was sitting in front of his, blocking him out as she talked over him and never, ever let him speak a full sentence without interruption. It was rather comical, really.

Well, at least I got some laundry done while I watched, so all was not lost.

In other television-watching news, I saw a truly fabulous movie last night. Yes, I know that my movie reviews are consistently at least a year behind, but such is life when you have 1200 cable channels, plus pay-per-view and thus can rarely justify spending actual cash on going out to the movies.

Anyway, the film in question is Far From Heaven, starring Julianne Moore, Dennis Quaid and that hottie black man whose name I can never remember�Dennis-something, I think. FABULOUS! First of all, this film had the absolute best set design I�ve ever seen. Such rich, deep colors everywhere! I totally want to live in that house from the fifties. Also, great acting and a heart-breaking storyline. I knew about the homosexuality parts of the movie, but I had never heard about the main character�s relationship with a black man.

What a great movie! Of course, I bawled like a wee child.

Also seen this week but not yet written about was The Deep End starring some chick and Goran Visnjic (how the hell do you pronounce his last name, anyway?). In this flick, the main character�s teenage son is gay and his lover is a slimey creep, twice his age, who ends up getting killed. She then attempts to cover up his death, in fear that her son will be indicted in it.

Dudes, I tell ya�this was one great movie. Again, fabulous acting; lots of tension�plus, hello! Goran Visnjic in all his studly glory! It was filmed at Lake Tahoe, too, so that part of the scenery is also nice.

I think this week has been get-in-touch-with-the-gay week at the old ikss pad. I also watched this heartbreaking documentary about homosexuals during Nazi-Germany (narrated by Rupert Everett) called�uh�I don�t remember. But I cried for like 90 minutes while watching it. Seriously. It pert near killed me.

Of course, I have also had a fever for much of the last three days, as I seem to have caught Heather�s razor-blades-in-the-throat disease. Granted, I�ve never actually met Heather and seeing as she�s in Europe right about now, I have no idea how I might have caught the disease from her, but I still blame her. Anyway, the delirium of my fevers may be cause, in part, for all of the tears. But this does not negate the fact that they were all still moving films.

Let me share a little-known secret with ya�ll�being sick sucks the big nut!

I was supposed to go out gallivanting around both last night and tonight but am too ill to do so. I even had to cancel a hair appt. earlier this week. What the�??? You know, I don�t mind having to call in to work sick, but when I have to miss out on social engagements, that is just too much to bear.

In truth, I only missed one and � days of work. However, I�ve been keeping my office door closed and have asked people to only bug me in an emergency. I can�t really talk anyway, so what�s the point in asking me questions?

Of course, the real bummer is�I can�t eat! I am finally feeling a little better today and my appetite came back, but I can�t fucking eat! Actually, I should clarify: I can�t eat solid food. So I can eat Yoplait Nourich drinks, Naked Juice and Slim Fast, all of which I have been living on for the last four days. Oh and I had some chicken soup, which I firmly believe saved my life.

*grumble, grumble; whine and bitch*

All of this also means that I have barely spoken to Enoch since our date Monday. He called my office the day I was out (Wednesday). So I called him and gave him my home number (*gasp* I must actually like him!) and just let him know I hadn�t fallen off the face of the planet, but I couldn�t exactly talk much. He hasn�t called me since.

Getting sick at the very beginning of a relationship is never a good idea.

I have no energy to write about anything else that�s going on in my little world or in the big world, in general; except to say, �What the fuck is up with this damn humidity?�



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com