Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Wednesday, Jul. 23, 2003
burgers, drinks and Kobe

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
Here�s the scoop:

Last night I went out with a friend from work (and the Little Big Man�s girlfriend), BN. Details follow. I am leaving work today at about 3:00 so as to go have my teeth cleaned; then Barbara, Arnett, Cathy and I are meeting at this great place in Barbara�s neighborhood for dinner. It�s a rib joint, but they also make the most delectable hamburgers. Anyway, afterward I have a late hair appointment.

That�s the scoop.

-----Original Message-----
From: Barbara
Sent: Wednesday, July 23, 2003 8:18 AM
To: karen
Subject: (no subject)

Hi-

I'm gonna be offline for awhile cuz I'm waiting for a fax (our airline tickets from Joe), so I'll call you later.

Cathy is coming tonight. She's taking off work early.

Love ya,

b

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Wednesday, July 23, 2003 9:08 AM
To: Barbara
Subject: (no subject)

Cool. :) I am so looking forward to that burger, I can�t even begin to explain�It�s really sad how much food means to me. Of course, I am also PMSing so that may have something to do with it. At least, I am using that as this week�s excuse. Not that I�ve been over-eating. I�m back to being pretty decent in my eating habits. I�m just not happy about it, whereas sometimes I don�t really feel like I�m giving anything up. Lately, I have been fighting a horrible temptation to drive thru McDonalds for some hash browns every morning. So far, so good�

In other food news, I tried a new Naked Juice this morning � Blue-nanas. Blueberry banana. It�s yummy. I really love my Naked Juice boy. Too bad it�s so flippin� expensive. Natalia, here at work, told me they sell it by the gallon at Costco for like the same amount of money that I pay for the little 16 oz. bottles. That almost makes it worth joining Costco�Maybe I�ll see if there�s one around here somewhere�

I have found that the problem with eating in a healthy manner is that I spend far too much money on food. This really bums me out, say when I want to go out drinkin� and find myself short on entertainment funds.

Speaking of which � I had fun last night with BN. We met at Busters for cocktails and the place was completely dead. There were like five very old people in the bar and that was it (somehow, though, the waitress still managed to give us piss-poor service). I guess it�s not really the place to go for Happy Hour in that sense. Maybe it picks up on the weekends; they do have live music after all. It was still nice, though. The marina looked lovely, of course, and the sun was going down when we left. Plus, few people meant we didn�t have to yell to hear each other, which is always convenient. We had some Cajun popcorn shrimp which was very good, but I think it might have been too hot for your taste. I liked it. Anyway, after that we went to Mimi�s. I just had a bowl of really good veggie soup, along with their yummy bread of course.

To top it off, BN paid for everything! So silly, but hey - who was I to complain? I�ll take her out next month. This way I owe her so we�re guaranteed to get together again. She�s really a great person and I like her a lot. You�d like her, too. She�s an adult, ya know? :) She�s the one who has Crones disease. She also has an eighteen year old son whose father (her second husband) committed suicide when he was twelve. Anyway, so she has her priorities in order, is my point. Of course, it�s no big surprise that we get along so well. I�m a lot like Robert and obviously they get along very well.

So then tonight I�m seeing you guys and tomorrow I am supposed to go have Indian food with another lady from work � Nancy. Cool, huh? :) Color me the social butterfly. I�ve never had Indian food and am a tad apprehensive, but I do like spicy food and I figure I should try new things sometimes. So I�m gonna.

I called Enoch last night when I got home (he called me Monday), but I had to leave a message. I�m kind of hoping to see him Friday night, but I guess we�ll see.

OK, talk to ya later. :)

Oh and by the way�please tell Alisa to graciously ignore the tremendous amount of facial hair sprouting on my person today. I noticed on my way to work this morning that I am in dire need of a depilatory.

Why do these hairs just pop up, all of a sudden, out of nowhere?

Regards,

Karen

~~~

Bryant Accuser Identified by Talk Show Host

The 19-year-old Colorado woman who claims to have been raped by Los Angeles Lakers star Kobe Bryant has been named by a nationally syndicated talk-show host. Her name also appears on the Internet, despite pleas for privacy from her family. Los Angeles-based talk show host Tom Leykis said he has no plans to stop using her name. He said he feels it's unfair to name Bryant but not his accuser. Rape counselors and mental health experts have expressed outrage by the exposure, saying a victim of sexual assault would be further traumatized by public scrutiny. News organizations typically have policies against naming sexual assault victims, and have not identified the woman.

- Metro Networks

I think it�s dastardly to invade this gal�s privacy in this way. However, I also get extremely disgusted with the press and their insistence on publicizing those who are accused of crimes; I agree with Tom Leykis on this one (although I have no idea who he is).

The media totally makes people believe that those accused of crimes are guilty, before they are proven so. For instance, I totally think that Petersen guy killed his pregnant wife Laci, but why do I believe that? Because of the media coverage. And what if he didn�t do it? He�s never going to live that down.

And this happens all the time. Remember that guy who was accused of planting the bomb at the Atlanta Olympics? Turned out he didn�t do it, but by the time the cops figured out that little detail, the press had pretty much ruined his life.

And that was my soapbox moment for the day.



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com