Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Thursday, Jul. 24, 2003
Apparently, I have nothing of merit to write about today

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
Pineapple is not the thing to eat the morning after getting your teeth cleaned.

Make note.

Spread the word.

~~~

-----Original Message-----
From: Sondra
Sent: Wednesday, July 23, 2003 3:12 PM
To: Karen
Subject: Hey!

Hi, Karen!

So, how are you anyway? I am not feeling so hot today. Actually, I have been kind of out of it for a few days. I don't know what the deal is, I am exercising and trying to eat better. I am not even thinking about weighing myself, though. I am not going there again!

Any news from the land of the ancient Hebrews?

Is John coming down this weekend?

Hope all is well. We should meet for Happy Hour sometime. The Good Fellas are playing next week, but I will probably go on the Saturday. Vicki, Dennis' wife, asked me to.

Love you!
Sondra

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Thursday, July 24, 2003 9:33 AM
To: Sondra
Subject: Hey!

Hi! Sorry � I had a dental appt. yesterday and had to leave work early so I just got your message this morning. And I guess I forgot to turn on my �out of office� e-mail message�

Sorry you�re not feeling up to snuff. Any better today? And yeah, I am really trying not to focus so much on my weight, but you know how that goes�Barbara is having the same problem. She is walking 3 � miles four times a week and eating very well, yet she hasn�t lost any actual lbs. in a long time so she�s irritated (although she has lost 20 lbs. and I think she should be very proud of herself. I guess she�s just bummed cuz she�s kind of come to a stopping point). I really don�t have any excuse because, although I eat well I still know I could be exercising a lot more than I do. I work out, but it�s not enough to compensate for my lousy metabolism. So long as I don�t gain any weight back, I�ll be content (although I still have 3 lbs. to go to reach my initial target of losing 14 lbs. this year�and then after that I�d really like to lose 15 more, but again � I�m not gonna stress over it {I'm not! I'm NOT!}. If I really wanted to lose it, I�d be exercising more, now wouldn�t I?).

Where are the Goodfellas playing next week?

The last news I�ve had from the �Land of the Ancient Hebrews� was Monday. He left me a message Mon. morning (I was actually still at home, but didn�t have time to gab on the phone cuz I had to get to work). He said he�d been in New Jersey on business, but would try to call me at work and that he wanted to see me that night. I didn�t hear from him while I was at work and I left his # @ home so I couldn�t call him. The first chance I got to return his call was Tuesday night at 9:00, which is when I got home (I was out Mon. and Tuesday nights after work). I had to leave him a message Tuesday. Well, I haven�t heard anything since, so�

I think John is coming down this weekend, but we haven�t really discussed it. I haven�t really talked to him much for several days.

They are having a lobster festival in San Pedro this weekend. I�d kind of like to go hang out (and eat some $12 Maine lobsters). They have bands and lots of stuff going on. If E had ever called me, I was going to ask him if he wanted to go Friday night, but now maybe I�ll see if John wants to go on Saturday or something. It all depends on how things are with us � we are kind of on the outs right now. The only reason he came down last weekend was because he had family stuff he had to do. He stayed at my house, but I only saw him at night.

I�m going to have Indian food tonight�I�ve never had it. I hope I like it! :)

Well, there are plenty of places we could go to Happy Hour over in my neck of the woods, of course! Would you like to plan something for next week? Maybe we can go to the world famous �RR�, where even Charles Bukowski has gotten drunk (but then, hasn�t he gotten drunk pretty much everywhere?). They do have food there, as well as happy hour specials. I�ve never been, but it�s right around the corner from my house and I keep saying I�m going to pop in. I wouldn�t even have to drive home, if I didn�t want to. I�ve always wanted a neighborhood bar like that�now here I have one and I�ve never ventured inside.

:)

Anyway, hopefully you�ll get my note today. I saw Mom and Dad last night (I also got my hair done, after my dental appt.) and she said you�re coming over to her house today, so hopefully you�ll get on the computer there.

Anyway, take it easy, sleazy!

Love ya!

Regards,
Karen

~~~

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Thursday, July 24, 2003 10:10 AM
To: Barbara
Subject: Hey


I wanted to let you know that today I am wearing that black top you gave me AND that cute little pin you bought for me in Scotland.

God Bless You. Without you, I�d be nekkid.

-K

-----Original Message-----
From: Barbara
Sent: Thursday, July 24, 2003 10:14 AM
To: karen
Subject: Re: Hey


Oh my gosh, I bet you look sooooooo cute! I love that pin, I don't know why I didn't get myself one!

Love ya!

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Thursday, July 24, 2003 10:17 AM
To: Barbara
Subject: Re: Hey


I love it too and last night I was thinking to myself, �Self why don�t you wear that pin more often?� So I made sure to wear an outfit today that was appropriate for the pin.

I plan my outfits around my accessories.

Regards,

Karen

~~~

WASHINGTON, July 14 -- Elouise Cobell, the lead plaintiff in the lawsuit that has won court orders forcing the government to provide a complete and full accounting of individual Indian trust accounts, today welcomed action taken by Congressional leaders to strike language in an appropriations bill that would have materially delayed resolution of her lawsuit.

"The statement by House Resources Committee Chairman Richard W. Pombo, R-Calif., is good news for Indian Country," Cobell said in a statement. "This will allow our litigation to continue in the courts and set a framework for what we hope can be an fair and equitable resolution of our seven-year legal fight."

"I want to salute Rep. Pombo for his swift action asserting the House Resources Committee's jurisdiction over this issue," Cobell said. "As I promised last week in my testimony before his committee, the plaintiffs in this lawsuit remain ready to engage in discussions with the Attorney General, the Treasury Secretary and the Interior Secretary on how we can settle these issues without further undue delay."

"That is what the Congress clearly wants and it is what we in Indian Country have always wanted," she said. "I hope the government will see today's action as a signal from Congress that both parties should work together to resolve this case.

"By removing the language from the House Interior Appropriations bill that would have delayed resolution of our lawsuit, Congress is giving the courts a chance to address the issues of how to best reform the trust," Cobell said. "When those issues are resolved by the courts, both sides will have information that could help us resolve this issue expeditiously."

"Chairman Pombo's statement clearly reinforces what we have been saying in the courts for 7 years," Cobell said.

"Indian money and trust accounts handled by the Interior Department have been mismanaged for over 100 years," Pombo said. "Record-keeping during this period has been so poorly handled that the government cannot sufficiently show Indians whether monies generated from their lands were correctly collected, deposited, or disbursed. As such, the U.S. unable to provide a full accounting for over 300,000 accounts."

Cobell said, "I want to thank the many members of the House who stood by the nation's first citizens and protested this unconscionable action and attempted cover-up of a century of malfeasance by Interior and unconstitutionally take the oil, gas, timber and other trust revenue and other trust assets held by the government for more than 500,000 individual Indian trust beneficiaries."

For additional information:

Bill McAllister 703-385-6996



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com