Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Tuesday, Aug. 12, 2003
CSPAN can be fun

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
You know the cool thing about watching debates and the like on CSPAN (last night I watched a Democratic candidate debate in front of a steelworkers union)? Yes, it�s a great opportunity to see a free exchange of ideas about today�s most pressing issues. More fun, though, is that CSPAN keeps the cameras rolling after the debate is over. If you keep watching, you can see and hear snippets of Gephardt talking passionately to some guy off the street about not having insurance to pay some doctor bills and that same guy telling Mr. Gephardt that he likes �his passion�. Conversely, you can see and hear Howard Dean get put on the spot by some bystander (I didn�t hear the man�s question, only Dean�s response); flub and flutter about and finally say, �I didn�t realize you wanted a policy answer.� (garbled muffled statement by Regular Joe) �You should call my headquarters. Have you called my headquarters?� and then watch as Dean slowly sidles his way the heck out of there.

-----Original Message----
From: Barbara
Sent: Tuesday, August 12, 2003 8:04 AM
To: karen
Subject: (no subject)


Hi- So I saw your guys closing statement. That was all I saw of him. Arnett came home and we were talking in the bedroom about luggage and whatnot. Anyway, he was ok. I'm sure it would have been better to hear him answer actual questions. He sure is a squirrelly looking little guy, but I won't hold that against him!

Have a good day.
Love,
b

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Tuesday, August 12, 2003 8:52 AM
To: Barbara
Subject: (no subject)


I know, I know. He totally doesn�t look like a president. But I hardly think that�s what counts, of course. Besides, if anybody looks like a squirrel it�s Dubya and a lot of people voted for him.

Well, he only answered one question that you missed and that was about the Iraq war. I of course like what he had to say, for the most part.

You know, Al Sharpton says some groovy things, actually. I mean, when you can understand what he�s getting at which, judging from the hour I witnessed of him last night, is rarely an actual answer to the question put before him. Still, occasionally he slips in a comment or two that is just right on.

And I do like that Moseley-Braun chick, for the most part. I think she should be somebody�s running-mate.

In truth, I like some of what each candidate has to say, even Gephardt. I just don�t like all of what any of them have to say; Kucinich is closest to agreeing with me on everything and I actually believe and trust in what he says.

Hey � so would you be interested in working on the crew for this 3-Day walk? You don�t have to raise funds to do it (although you�re welcome to); you just have to pay a $85 fee. Obviously you wouldn�t be walking with me; you�d like hand out water and stuff at the little stations they have along the way. However, we could then stay with each other at night.

Hmmm?????

Regards,
Karen

-----Original Message-----
From: Barbara
Sent: Tuesday, August 12, 2003 9:07 AM
To: karen
Subject: Re: (no subject)


Hmmmmmm, when is this 3 day walk? I, of course, would rather have done the walk, but I know it's too late for me to get in that kind of shape. I'll think about it.

bye

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Tuesday, August 12, 2003 9:28 AM
To: Barbara
Subject: (no subject)


It takes place Nov. 14-16 (Fri � Sun). However, we�d need to be in Santa Barbara Thursday and stay in a motel Thurs. night.

The web page is here.

And I think you could definitely get in to shape by then, with all the walking you�ve already been doing...except that you�ll be in Alaska for three weeks and that would kind of interfere with any sort of training. The thing I thought was keeping you from walking, though, was the fundraising part.

Two of the people in my department got hit by that new Microsoft virus on their home computers last night. You didn�t have any problems there, did you?

Regards,
Karen

-----Original Message-----
From: Barbara
Sent: Tuesday, August 12, 2003 9:49 AM
To: karen
Subject: Re: (no subject)


Oh man, that's Arnett's birthday! Probably won't work. Yeah, I really wouldn't be able to get $2000. together. Are you going to be able to? Don't you guys camp out at night? A motel would, of course, be much better. I think you'll have to go it alone and let me know. You know, Cathy may be interested in helping out.

Remind me to tell you about my stupid patient, Larry Simons. He's the guy who used to be married to Denise, the woman who worked here that got leukemia. I'll call you later.

b

And, no, I haven't had any virus. Perish the thought!!!!!!!

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Tuesday, August 12, 2003 9:58 AM
To: Barbara
Subject: (no subject)


Just celebrate his birthday a week early.*

We camp out at night. Everything is set up and provided for the walkers � we just show up and everything is done. They even have shower trucks for us. They provide hot breakfast and dinner and a lunch to eat on the road (although I assume I�ll have to bring my own lunch stuff, just in case they try to feed me mayonaise or some shit), as well as water and sports drinks. And of course they have medical tents set up everywhere, just in case. The only thing I have to do is get the donations (I don�t think it will be hard for me. I�m going to talk to the owners of my company about a company match program, too), buy a new pair of shoes, pack my stuff and show up. They transport all of your gear, of course.

The only time I have to stay in a hotel is the night before, cuz we actually have to arrive on Thursday but the walk doesn�t start until Friday.

OH! That does remind me, though. Can I borrow your fanny pack with the water bottles on it or are you taking it to Alaska? If I can borrow it, please remember it on Sunday. John has one, too, but he uses his.

Regards,
Karen

*In truth, this excuse of the 3-Day walk taking place on the same weekend as Arnett�s birthday is seriously lame and it kind of pisses me off that she would give it. I mean, if you don�t want to walk 20 miles a day for three days straight or otherwise be involved in what is a totally worthy cause, just say that. Don�t give me some bullshit about how you can�t tear yourself away from a man you see every day of the year because this particular day is his birthday. You have plenty of birthdays to spend together. How often do you get the chance to do something that can contribute to actually saving someone�s life?

-----Original Message-----
From: Barbara
Sent: Tuesday, August 12, 2003 10:19 AM
To: karen
Subject: Re: (no subject)


I will have to look for that fanny pack. No, we won't be using it in Alaska. Mainly cuz we don't have room to pack it! We have a little strap water bottle holder which is really nice. We are taking that. I will find it tonight and bring it on Sunday. Let you know if there's any problem.

Now I know I wouldn't do the walk. You know me and bathroom necessity. If I'm in a tent, I have to have my portapotty, and that would just be gross for the other people sharing my tent! I mean, Arnett has to do it, but I wouldn't want to do it to other people. I'm sure they have alot of bathrooms along the walk so that wouldn't be the problem. They are dealing with women, so you know, that would be the first concern for alot of them! Anyway, you go ahead and do it this year and we'll see how it goes. Maybe I'll do it next year with you if you think I'll be able to.

b

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Tuesday, August 12, 2003 10:37 AM
To: Barbara
Subject: (no subject)


Yeah, one lady at the orientation actually asked specific questions about bathrooms cuz she has to use one often. You are not alone, my friend. And yes, they have port-o-potties everywhere; not that using them will be any fun. But at least the shower and sink facilities appear to be nice � they�re even private. They�re great big water trucks and you have little curtains. :)

I need to buy some appropriate clothes, though. Over the years I have had to throw out my workout clothes and now am down to very few things I can wear. These things will be even fewer in the middle of November, when I assume it won�t really be very hot out (although, who knows?). I was thinking about going shopping Saturday, actually, especially since I got the word about shoes over this past weekend. They say to buy running shoes because they�re more supportive and they should be one size too big because your feet will swell. I have actually noticed that sometimes after long hikes I can feel the tip of my right toe hitting my shoe�anyway, my day-hikers are kind of heavy, too. I was already thinking they might suffocate my feet on that long a walk. Different than hiking through the woods, you know.

Amy hasn�t said anything more to me about going to Vegas next week, so I am not going to mention it. I know she�s busy with school and stuff, but hey � this wasn�t even my idea in the first place. When I cancelled our last reservation, I just cancelled it; I didn�t even bother pushing it off until this month, because I knew we wouldn�t end up going. Anyway, my point is I�ll just use my Vegas money for new walking shoes and clothes.

Treasure Island sent me an e-mail about some special this week, but there was nothing actually in the e-mail. And you can�t get all the details from the Club web page - it mainly says �flier sent�. So I guess if I want to know the details I have to call.

Regards,
Karen

~~~

Word of the Day for Tuesday August 12, 2003

skulk SKUHLK, intransitive verb:
1. To hide, or get out of the way, in a sneaking manner; to lurk.
2. To move about in a stealthy way.
3. To avoid responsibilities and duties.
noun:
1. One who skulks.
2. A group of foxes.



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com