Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Thursday, Aug. 14, 2003
The Breast Cancer 3-Day

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
While I, like most people, do not like having to beg for money�well, I�m not begging on my own behalf so I really have no problem with it right this second.

At the top of this page, you will from now until late-November see a message asking you to contribute to the Breast Cancer 3-Day by clicking on the provided link. In case you haven�t been paying attention in here lately, allow me fill you in.

In November, I'll be participating in a very special event called the Breast Cancer 3-Day.

I'll walk 60 miles over the course of three days with thousands of other women and men. The net proceeds will support breast cancer research, education, screening and treatment through the Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Foundation and the National Philanthropic Trust.

I've agreed to raise at least $2,000 in donations by October, but have set my personal goal at $3,000. I need your help. Would you please consider making a donation? Please take a look at the link, review the donation form provided and designate the amount that's right for you. Please keep in mind how far I'm walking -- and how hard I'll have to train.

More importantly, please keep in mind the number of people your donation will help. According to the Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Foundation, approximately 200,000 American women will be diagnosed with breast cancer this year, and nearly 40,000 will die from the disease. In addition, men are not immune to this disease. That's why I'm walking so far. To do something bold about breast cancer. I hope that you'll share this incredible adventure with me -- by supporting me in my fundraising efforts.

If you do not feel comfortable donating via the web site, please feel free to contact me via e-mail at [email protected] and we'll arrange an alternate form of donating.

When people you know (or even don't know) are affected by any disease, it is easy to feel powerless; wanting to help but unaware of how you might begin to do so. At least I have feet. I can walk. This is how I can help.

Thank you in advance for your generosity!

Peace,

Karen

~~~

sine qua non sin-ih-kwah-NON; -NOHN; sy-nih-kway-, noun: An essential condition or element; an indispensable thing



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com