Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Wednesday, Aug. 20, 2003
e-mail eavesdrop for the day

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
-----Original Message-----
From: Sondra
Sent: Wednesday, August 20, 2003 12:10 PM
To: Karen
Subject: Ooogie Boogie


HI, KAREN!

Did you know that writing in all caps is considered shouting? That is Yahoo's tip for the day. Speaking of, I had to call the cops on my neighbors last night. Their teenaged daughter and her squirrley friends were hanging out in front of the house being very rude and very loud. This is a nightly affair. I asked them to keep it down and they did not, so I called the cops. Then the girl came over and apologized, which I thought was pretty nice, but I think it scared her when the cops came because her father is a drug dealer.

So that was my night. How are you? You have been strangely quiet, as least cyberspace-wise.

Jeremy is here at work with me today. How many jobs have you had where you can bring a kid? My mother in law had to go to a funeral, but she did not tell me until late last night. It worked out o.k., my boss is fine with it. Jeremy has been coloring and listening to music and playing on the computer. I asked him if he was bored, but he said, "No, this is fun!"

So, anyway, what have you got going on the rest of the week? Big Brother is on tonight! I lead such an exciting life!

Have a great day!

Love,
Sondra

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Wednesday, August 20, 2003 12:22 PM
To: Karen
Subject: Ooogie Boogie


Ooogie Boogie?

You live across the street from a drug dealing daddy?

Nice.

Although I�m sure there are some drug dealers in my neighborhood, too. I just don�t know where they live.

Did I tell you that this slimy weirdo who lives in the building next to me whistled at me a few weeks ago? He was outside smoking while I was walking up and down my back stairs, doing laundry. It wasn�t a cat-call whistle, it was just like a �hey you� whistle. Like, what am I, a German Shepherd? That guy freaks me out. And it wouldn�t surprise me if he deals drugs.

I also have a lot of noisy neighbors, although those in my building are pretty respectful. They turn down the music at a reasonable hour and everything. There are two younger girls who recently moved in across the hall and John tells me that often when he gets to my house at like 1:00am they are still being very loud and partying, but I never hear them. Luckily, the lady who lives below them is in her eighties. Hopefully she can�t hear.

My night was far less exciting. I went for a 5 mile walk with my group and came home vewy, vewy tiwed. I then proceeded to have the following dinner: a bowl of Special K cereal with a sliced banana, three chicken taquitos, followed by yet another bowl of Special K for dessert.

Only single people eat like this.

I DID know that typing in all caps is considered shouting. I have a tendency to do it, though, because I have to use all caps for some work things, then I forget and leave it on sometimes.

So cool that Jeremy got to work with you today. Tell him I said hello.

Call your sister before she leaves for Alaska.

I have no interesting plans for the remainder of my week, really. I am going for a walk Thursday evening and on Saturday morning I am supposed to go on a 15 mile walk with the group. We are going to stop for lunch somewhere along the line, though. I really hope John will go with me, otherwise I am afraid I won�t do it.

Today is Carla�s birthday. Yesterday was Sarah�s. I sent neither of them a card or anything, because I am a bad aunt.

Talk at ya later!

Regards,
Karen

-----Original Message-----
From: Sondra
Sent: Wednesday, August 20, 2003 1:20 PM
To: Karen
Subject: RE: Ooogie Boogie


Hi, again!

I never told you about our drug-dealing neighbor? He is quite the charmer. He is always screaming at his kids with the worst possible swear words. He really is a horrible human being. I'm sure I've ticked him off now, but do I care? I do not. People need to learn to live in a civilized manner. Call me the Manners Police.

Why do you want me to call Bobbi before she leaves? I sent her a card and told her to have fun. I am becoming truly envious of people who are going on vacation. I may just have to kill our sister. Kidding...

So, you are just walking your little tushy off, huh? I have a Kairos meeting all day on Saturday. No plans to walk.

LOVE YOU!
Sondra

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Wednesday, August 20, 2003 1:33 PM
To: 'Sondra
Subject: RE: Ooogie Boogie


Well, I DO have to get in shape so as to walk 20 miles every day for three days, so I�d better be walking my tush off.

Sadly, the tush is still in place, but the walking continues.

I didn�t know you sent Barbi a card. OK then, I revoke my instructions to call her before she leaves. I�m actually not jealous of Barbi because I am very happy for her. As a rule, though, I am rather bitter about the fact that I haven�t been on a real vacation in a couple of years. Weekend trips don�t count, although thank God for them because otherwise I would be bald and very fat, just from the stress of daily living.

In my case, it is all John�s fault. Were he a normal human being A) We would not have cancelled the last trip we had planned, because we would not have broken up that time and B) He would stay at a job long enough to get not just one week�s vacation, but two. Not to mention medical insurance, but that�s a whole other story.

Of course, the last couple of vacations I had planned were cancelled because of work duties, which is even worse. But at least my workplace pays me. John doesn�t.

Jody is participating in a triathlon next June in Idaho. I am seriously considering going and then, afterward, going to Montana. I need two weeks to do what I want to do, though. That means either I need a new boyfriend, John needs a real job that gives him two weeks� vacation or someone else in my family needs to save some money so they can go with me.

If all else fails, I can go by myself, spend a couple of days with Larry and Peggy, then go up to Idaho and hang out with Jody and her family, who are going to Yellowstone after her triathlon and I can tag along.

Until then, I guess I�ll have to settle for weekend trips�although there are none of those on the horizon, either.

Oh yeah�and I LOVE YOU TOO!

Regards,
Karen



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com