Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Friday, Sept. 26, 2003
stop that giggling

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
Another day, another debate.

I got home from work last night at around 6:45. I did a load of laundry. I picked up my bedroom a bit�well, not the actual bedroom, of course. You get my meaning.

While I had set a reminder on my cable for the debate, since it started at 6:00 I missed my reminder. I had also forgotten about the whole thing (even though I remembered at lunch time, when I was telling everyone in my department to watch it). They repeated the debate at 10:00, which I did not discover until 10:30 while I was on the phone with John. Once John and I hung up, I attempted to watch the rest of the debate...and fell asleep in probably twenty minutes.

Therefore, I have no opinions today.

Stop that giggling.

~~~

THE DAILY MIS-LEAD:

Bush Administration Poised to Break Promise to U. S. Reservists

Six weeks after insisting the U. S. had "sufficient force to do what is required" in Iraq, the Bush Administration admitted yesterday more American reservists likely will be sent to the frontlines.

Thursday's announcement contradicts the promise of Joint Chiefs Chairman General Richard Myers who said on August 5th, "We're trying to put predictability into the lives of our soldiers, their families and the reservists and their employers."

Read the full Mis-Lead.

~~~

Word of the Day for Friday September 26, 2003:

toothsome TOOTH-suhm, adjective:

1. Pleasing to the taste; delicious; as, "a toothsome pie."

2. Agreeable; attractive; as, "a toothsome offer."

3. Sexually attractive.

Quote A Day

There is no such thing as generosity. No such thing at all. There is only the awareness of need and the natural impulse of the heart to address it. If you are hungry and your hand puts food in your mouth, you don't think of the hand as generous, do you? If people in front of you are hungry and you feed them, it's the same, isn't it? �Poonjaji

Good News of the Day:

Give of yourself -- shoe-shine. Just as he's done for more than two decades, Albert Lexie gets out of bed at 5 a.m. every Tuesday and Thursday, takes two buses to the Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh and makes his rounds -- offering shoe shines for 3 dollars. Since 1981 has given over $89,000 to the local hospital!

Be The Change:

Next time you see a shoe-shiner, share Albert's story



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com