Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Monday, Oct. 06, 2003
Let�s Talk About Vomit

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
There are times when vomit can be your best friend, dontcha think? Like when you wake up all hungover...that first barf can really make you feel a lot better.

And how was your weekend?

So yeah, I was a tad hungover yesterday. And I had to go to a Kucinich rally in Irvine. Well, I guess I didn�t have to go, but I wanted to. So I did. And, while I wasn�t late getting there, I wasn�t early enough that I got a decent seat so I sat in the back. And I felt like crap. And subsequently I did not attend the reception afterward. But I did shake the man�s hand. And it was kinda soft, for a man�s hand.

But by the time I got home I was ready for a great big vomit, followed by a nice long nap, both of which made me feel loads better.

Being all Memento for a moment, we�ll now cut to Saturday night.

I ended up making out with some dude and then found out he had a girlfriend waiting for him at home. Then we made out some more because apparently I am a shameless, drunken whore.

I went out to the famous Liquid Lounge, for the afore-threatened karaoke. Can I just say this was the most excruciatingly painful evening of karaoke I�ve ever experienced (and we all know how excruciating karaoke nights can be)? There was maybe two people (aside from me, of course) who could actually carry a tune. The rest of them were�not even entertaining, they were so bad. Understand now why I had to drink so much?

I did sing well, surprisingly. I had a shot of Olive Oil before I left home, to help (I know - Yuck! but it really helps the vocal chords). I was pleased, though, because I really have been afraid of losing my voice lately.

Anyway�You know those jokes about how much more attractive people are at last call? Well, many a truth is told in jest, that�s all I have to say.

You see, MakeOut Dude really put me off, at first. He sang some Metallica song and he did so rather well. Then he sat right down next to me, so I told him he did a good job. His response? *cue sound of crickets* So I said, �Uh...You�re welcome!� because his non-response was rude...and, well, I was just tipsy enough to address his rudeness directly.

I assumed at this point that MakeOut Dude was arrogant. He was very nice-looking and had a nice singing voice, so that was my assumption. So I proceeded to ignore him...until about an hour later when all of a sudden he seemed a lot more palatable.

And he needed a ride home. Somehow, I got him there. I think we made out in the parking lot of the Liquid Lounge first, but frankly the sequence of events is a little hazy right now�I do remember that my contacts were really bothering me...and MakeOut Dude was obsessed with my bosom.

The rest of my Saturday was pretty much spent laying around the house. Did I clean the rad pad, as I should have? Nope. Did I walk at all, as I should have? Nope. Did I order a pizza? Why yes...yes, I did.

I don�t know what�s up with me lately, but I�m still kind of in a funk. I�m not depressed, precisely...just kind of off my game. I don�t think it�s my birthday. Much as I talk about being old, I really do so in jest, for the most part. I don�t really consider 37 to be old, nor do I feel old. In fact, I still wonder what it�s like to be an adult. More importantly, though, there�s absolutely no way I would go back to who I was even two years ago, let alone ten years ago. But anyway�I just haven�t been myself lately and I don�t know why.

Of course, I don�t really need a reason. I should know that, by now. Sometimes...it just creeps.

John had a panic attack Friday night. Or should I say another panic attack. He�s been having them a lot lately. So he called me Friday night so I could talk him down. I don�t know how I do it, but I have the ability to calm him down at times like these.

I wish the guy would get himself to a freakin� doctor.

I guess that�s all the news that�s fit (and unfit, let�s face it) to print right now. Tomorrow is California Recall Election Day. Shall we pray for the future of our fair state?

Hasta, kids.

~~~

Word of the Day for Monday October 6, 2003:
denizen DEN-uh-zuhn, noun:
1. A dweller; an inhabitant.
2. One that frequents a particular place.
3. [Chiefly British] An alien granted certain rights of citizenship.
4. An animal, plant, etc. that has become naturalized.

Quote A Day:
Teachers are people who start things they never see finished, and for which then never get thanks until it is too late. --Max Forman

Inspiration of the Day:
Ron Clark never planned on being a teacher. After college, he traveled around the world, living a life full of adventure; but after getting terribly sick, he ended up back at home in rural North Carolina, teaching at a local school. After five years of teaching, he heard about schools in East Harlem, New York that were failing because of a lack of good teachers. So he quit his job, packed his bags, and took off! He learned to double Dutch, he taught by rapping lessons, and he spent his personal time taking students to New York attractions. Last year, he was named Disney's Teacher of the Year!

Be The Change:
Oct 5th was World Teacher's Day. Write a thank-you to your favorite teacher from high school!



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com