Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2003
twinkies and men's undies

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
Hey, so �member that �Bringing Home to the Troops" drive the American Red Cross was having? Turns out they had to cancel it, by order of the US Military. No problem, except that they didn�t tell anybody. They even still left the information on the ARC web site.

A few weeks ago, Sondra saw the bags full of people's donations in my trunk (well, like two bags full. I work with a bunch of tight wads, 'member?) and I was giving her crap for wanting to steal some bath products out of them.

Anyway, so when I went to take in the donations I collected from my company, I was told the sad news. So now I have a trunk full of Twinkies and men�s undies and I am looking for a place to which I can donate them. Thus, I emailed my sister Sondra to ask if her church had a holiday drive going on.

-----Original Message-----
From: Sondra
Sent: Wednesday, November 19, 2003 1:35 PM
To: Karen
Subject: Re: psst...


Hi!

I told you to give me those bath products!

I have not been to church in 3 months. I am going to visit an Episcopal church this Sunday. I am sure you can find a place to donate. I will let you know if I hear of any place.

I ate 3 - not 1, not 2, but 3! - Krispy Kreme doughnuts yesterday! No problem with binge eating here! But today is a new day! I have upped my exercise (added Karen Voight aerobics) and I am back to eating healthy and I am going to lose this weight if it kills me and it just might!!

Are you still having your Christmas party? Because I ordered a dress and I need to find places to wear it. It's all about me!

Love you!
Sondra

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Wednesday, November 19, 2003 3:11 PM
To: Sondra
Subject: Re: psst...


Well�I am still planning on having my Christmas party on Saturday, Dec. 13. However, I will decide definitively by Thanksgiving. I just have so much to do before then and so little time! Thank goodness I have a four-day weekend coming up. I don�t even think John is coming down for Thanksgiving weekend (he has to work on Friday) so that means I�ll have three whole days all to myself. I�ll either go bonkers or get a lot of work done around my pad.

This weekend is John�s birthday and I�m spending it with him (we may go to Palm Springs Saturday night, by the way).
The following weekend is Thanksgiving.
Sun. Dec. 7 (following weekend) is our Yard Sale and my company Christmas party.
Sat. Dec. 13 (following weekend) � presumably, my cocktail party
Sat. Dec. 20 (following weekend) � first day of Hanukkah

See? I have no time.

I feel really bad about my weight these days. And yet I just keep on eating. Go figger. My only movement since Sunday at 7:00pm has been to walk around my apartment and back and forth to my car. I assume I�ll get back to working out any day now�I am going to Mom and Dad�s tonight (I have a hair appt.) and I guess I�ll get on the scale�but I�m scared�seriously, I need to get a grip on myself.

Hey, how many Karen Voight DVDs did you get, anyway?

And what�s up with the Episcopal church?

Regards,
Karen

-----Original Message-----
From: Sondra
Sent: Wednesday, November 19, 2003 3:26 PM
To: Karen
Subject: Re: psst...


Hey!

The 13th would be great because Lou is playing on the 7th. So please do have a party so that I can wear my dress!

I have 3 Karen Voight DVD's. The one you recommended, the pilates one, and the new one, which is half weights, half aerobics. Would you like copies? I assume we can make VHS copies of DVD's on Mom or Bobbi's fancy new DVD players. I actually like the Sleek Physique DVD the best, anyway.

Do you have a yoga mat?

I don't know what is up with the Episcopal church. I don't know much about them at all. I go to retreats at the one in San Gabriel (it's actually San Marino, but the address is San Gabriel) and I thought I would visit and check it out. Maybe I will become Episcopalian.

Lou's birthday is tomorrow. I think it is funny that Arnett, John and Lou all have birthdays close together.

If I walked 60 miles in one weekend, I would not move again for a month.

And what are you doing for Hanukkah?

Love,
Sondra

~~~

I am doing nothing for Hanukkah of course. It is simply that my sense of humor is such that not even members of my own family can tell when I'm joking.

~~~

-----Original Message-----
From: Sondra
Sent: Wednesday, November 19, 2003 4:29 PM
To: Karen
Subject: RE: uh...

I keep burping broccoli.

S

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Wednesday, November 19, 2003 4:41 PM
To: Sondra
Subject: RE: uh...

Gee, that�s swell.

I actually had some broccoli today, too. There was a lot of it in my Lean Cuisine. It�s so bizarre how I can eat broccoli now. I still can�t eat it raw, though.

I am getting my hair done tonight, thank goodness. I have two-tone head. I was supposed to get it done last week, but that was the day that freak storm hit us and I didn�t want to drive out there in what I assumed would be monstrous traffic.

I am so glad the transit strike is over, by the way.

Of course, tonight it the season finale of The Bachelor so I will have to rush home! I may miss part of their �meet the family� dates, but I should make it home in time to see who he picks.

Hey have you ever shopped at Costco? Man, I have fallen in freakin� LOVE with that store! I just became a member and went to the store for the first time last week. EEK!!!! If you ever want to go, let me know and you can come along with me. I must say, their prices are awesome. For instance, their price on a double-pack of Crest White Strips was like $34.99. AND THEN, I had a $10 coupon for it! So I got two packages of Crest White Strips for $25!!!! Those things are almost $50 a piece in regular stores!

Of course, there are some things that, being a single woman living alone, I just can�t buy at Costco. Like, I can�t buy 18 eggs or two gallons of milk at once. Even so, I somehow managed to spend $300 last week, saving money.

OK, in my defense, I bought a lot of things I wasn�t quite ready for yet, because I had all of these great coupons which were about to expire. I saved $24 in coupons alone! And then on top of that, they gave me a $10 gift card when I signed up. So even though I spent $300, it very well could have been like $334 so not only did I get a lot of stuff at really great prices, I ended up saving additional money to boot.

Rationalization is a wonderful tool, isn�t it?

Regards,
Karen

-----Original Message-----
From: Sondra
Sent: Wednesday, November 19, 2003 4:44 PM
To: Karen
Subject: RE: uh...

Hey!

I want to go to Costco! If I went with you, we could buy the bulk stuff and split it! We could spend all kinds of money saving money!

Have a good night!

Love,
Sondra



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com