Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Friday, Nov. 21, 2003
Auto Focus and the weirdo hippy kids

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
One of the many movies I watched during my day off on Monday was Auto Focus, starring Greg Kinnear as Bob Crane. It was decent; nothing special. The movie's merits or lack thereof, though, are not the point of my bringing it up.

Remember those weirdo hippy kids I met at my first Kucinich Meet Up? Well, they were extras in that movie! Very obvious extras, in full-on close-up. They played kids watching a movie of Bob Crane�s which was so boring they were practically falling asleep. It was strange to see them in the movie. They are really just very...odd children. Obviously very intelligent, but just...odd. And they seem inordinately close, too, if you ask me. Kind of like Angelina Jolie and her brother, ya know? Or those kids from Flowers in the Attic.

Eew.

And see? I told you they were weirdo hippy kids. They were even playing kids from the late-sixties/early-seventies as extras. And they were wearing like the same clothes as when I saw them at the Kucinich meeting.

I used to work with this gal who was constantly working as an extra. She just loved it. Anyway, one time I saw her on an early episode of Seinfeld (Jerry and George are in a Laundromat; there are two ladies folding laundry behind them and throwing looks back and forth as they overhear Jerry and George�s conversation. One of those ladies is my ex-coworker) I almost crapped my pants. This was a similar moment.

~~~

The Friday Five:

1. List five things you'd like to accomplish by the end of the year.

1.1. Lose 15 lbs.
1.2. Get back to my regular workout routine of five days/week
1.3. More weekend hiking!
1.4. More weekend kayaking!
1.5. Add at least $2,000 to my regular savings account, which I have been using more of than I should lately

2. List five people you've lost contact with that you'd like to hear from again.

2.1. Joelle F.
2.2. Michele and John C. (married couples count as one)
2.3. Kim A.
2.4. Kyle H.
2.5. Rodney M.

3. List five things you'd like to learn how to do.

3.1. SCUBA dive
3.2. Surf (although this will never happen)
3.3. Rock climb (I need lessons to get better at it)
3.4. Sew
3.5. Play guitar (again, need to get better at it)

4. List five things you'd do if you won the lottery (no limit).

4.1. Buy a lot of property in northern New Mexico and build my home there
4.2. Buy a ranch in Wyoming and develop a camping program for under-privileged kids
4.3. Buy property in central California and create affordable housing for retried farm workers
4.4. Buy a bar/restaurant in Santa Fe, NM
4.5. Cut a CD and distribute it myself

5. List five things you do that help you relax.

5.1. Smoke
5.2. Drink
5.3. Practice Yoga
5.4. Walk/hike
5.5. Have sex

~~~

SPOTLIGHT: Robert F. Kennedy, Jr. Takes On the Bush Environmental Record

Under the guidance of Republican pollster Frank Luntz, the Bush White House has actively hidden its anti-environmental program behind deceptive rhetoric, telegenic spokespeople, secrecy and the intimidation of scientists and bureaucrats. In a ferocious three-year attack, the Bush administration has initiated more than 200 major rollbacks of America's environmental laws, weakening the protection of our country's air, water, public lands and wildlife.

Read the full spotlight

~~~

Word of the Day for Friday November 21, 2003:

Argus-eyed AR-guhs-ide, adjective: Extremely observant; watchful; sharp-sighted.



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com