Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Thursday, July 11, 2002
gas problems

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
Well, I just seem to keep forgetting this more and more, don�t I?

I am registering for school today. I�m so excited. I�m taking Early American History and Creative Writing. The bummer is that my history class is on FRIDAY nights! But the only other night class offered is on Thursday and that�s the only night class offered for Creative Writing, so I�m stuck. Well, the good thing is that the Friday class ends at 9:30, so that�s not too terribly late, should I want to go out or something.

I had my Dr. appt. on July 3. He just took a bunch of tests and then I have a follow-up appt. on Wed. 7/17. After work on the 3rd, I drove up to see John for a long weekend. I came home Sunday night. I had a great time. The weather was perfect the whole time � in the low-70s. The traffic up wasn�t terribly bad and I made good time. On the 4th, we walked around Santa Cruz for a while. It was cool, but I got very upset about all of the very young homeless people around. I saw one young man digging through the trashcan, opening a Styrofoam container to see if any food was left inside. It was very sad and I was thinking a lot about Abby. I wanted to call her up and bring her down there and kind of rub her face in it all and ask her if that�s what she wants for her future. But I also was sad just thinking how horrible these kids� lives must have been at home, if they prefer to live on the streets like that.

Anyway, we just bar-b-que�d that night at John�s and since his pad is up on a hill, we watched fireworks from various locations. The next day we walked around the coast of Santa Cruz for a few miles, which was lovely. Saturday we drove up Hwy. 1 and I was just ga-ga over the beautiful coastline. We stopped several times and took little walks here and there; stopped for lunch in Half Moon Bay. We ended up in San Francisco where we met up with Alissa, Olinge, Sarah and Sarah�s friend for dinner (Sarah drove up to get her friend set up in her dorm room). We had a great time. It was really cool to see them. Alissa seemed to be very happy and was feeling a lot better (her back is messed up from a car accident she had last year).

We watched a LOT of old Twilight Zone repeats, cuz The Sci Fi Channel was having a weekend-long marathon and John has rather limited cable. It was cool. I saw a lot of really good ones and I haven�t watched that show on a very long time.

John changed the oil in my car on Sunday and other than that we just hung around his place until I had to come home. Driving home was a bitch. It started out OK; I was making really good time and the drive was lovely (well, until I hit the 5). Then I hit Buttonwillow. This is the place where John told me to stop for gas. Well, one gas station was having a problem with their tanks; another had run out of gas completely. Ergh�anyway, I ended up wasting half an hour there before I finally got gassed up and back on the road. Then, about 10 miles North of Lake Castaic, I hit a major traffic snarl that lasted until I hit the 5/210 exchange. It took me about 90 minutes to go that 20-or-so miles. SUCKED! So I didn�t get home until about 12:30pm and my pad was super-hot because it had been about 80 degrees all weekend.

I rather expected to hit a lot of traffic, though, cuz it was a holiday weekend after all. It was worth the trip, though. I had a great time and John and I got along very nicely.

Weird shit happened while I was gone, though. Someone shot up LAX. I can�t remember the name of the airline, but it was some middle-eastern one. They shot up the ticket/check-in area. At first, while I was at John�s, the news was saying it was some tall, blonde guy with side burns. Then, it turns out they killed the dude who was the shooter and he was an Egyptian guy.

The extremely upsetting thing, aside from the fact that he killed a few people, is that he was basically murdered afterward. The way I read it in the LA Times (and if I could find the article now, I�d copy and paste it for posterity) is that the gun-man had been wrestled to the ground and was no longer armed and a security guard walked up to him and shot him in the chest as he lay on the floor. And they just reported it, matter-of-factly, like there was nothing wrong with it. And I haven�t heard anything about the security guard being arrested afterward, so evidently we now live in a state where it�s OK to murder someone without giving him the benefit of a trial before his peers.

I just don�t know what the fuck is happening here.



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com