Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Thursday, May 9, 2002
Singing in the Rain

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
My eyes are blurry. It�s like there�s a film over my contacts. Drops do nothing to help. Damn allergies.

So I�m thinking about going up to Utah for Chris� �graduation� from Lifeline, as well as Abby�s High School graduation, which is on the same night. If Amy can get away from work and school for a few days, we�ll do it. The plan is to go up on Tuesday or Wednesday, spend a night around Zion Canyon and get in a little nature-loving activity and then meet up w/ the clan in Salt Lake for the ceremony on Thursday evening. Then we�ll spend two nights with Larry and Peggy before heading back home. We�ll stop again on the way home and either dig on some more nature or maybe play a few hands of Black Jack in Vegas�or both. Hey, we can stop in Vegas on our way there and our way back, as far as I�m concerned.

There are two things going on, here. First, I�d like to show some support for that arm of the Sorrell tree. Also, Amy�s in a bit of a trough lately, cuz she and her man broke up. I thought it would be good for her (and for me, let�s be honest here) to get away for a little road trippin. She�s just trying to see if she can swing it.

John called me at work today, to let me know that it turns out he has to work Saturday. SUCKS! His a-hole co-worker, Mike, hasn�t shown up for work all week and so they�re assuming he won�t be around to work on Saturday�actually, they�re assuming he quit, cuz he�s not called in or anything. He did this before and their boss gave him the big lecture and told him next time he�d better call or they�ll consider him gone. So there go our plans. John says he�s still gonna come down, after work. He only works �til 1:00pm, but still�long drive, just to get screwed a few times. He still wants to go to the Ren. Faire, too, if we can fit it in on Sunday. If it weren�t Mother�s Day, it would work. I just think we�ll have to go another weekend, though. Or, if it weren�t Mother�s Day, I would just go up there to see him, instead.

I actually did some work on the pad last night. I stripped the paint from the bathroom window. It�s an old window, of course, with little panes of glass (they�re all like that and they open by pushing the window outward). Between the panes and all around the window is metal and it�s been painted over like three times with no stripping. So I stripped it all away and cleaned off as much of the rust as I could. This is what John did with the spare-room windows, before he left. Now I can do �em all up with Rustoleum and paint them the correct way. Plus, now that all the paint is stripped away I can actually close the latch and locks all the way. Of course, in the process I burned my arm with the stripper (dripped a little on me and didn�t wash it off in time, I guess), plus I tripped and nearly cracked my head open on the bath tub, trying to rush to the sink when a piece of the old paint, covered in the stripper, fell in to my eye. Luckily, my leg caught the tub instead, so I�ll just have a bruise. But hey � I can bruise just breathin�. At least this time I actually worked for it.

Just call me Grace.

Aside from that, I did two loads of laundry.

I�m really going to have to cool down this wild and wicked life I lead or I�ll age before my time.

I did get plenty of sleep, thankfully. Pert near eight hours, I�d say. Of course, I took an Excedrin PM, but hey � whatever works. I feel rather rested today and if it weren�t for my damn eyes, I�d actually be in a pretty good mood.

I jetted back over to the LBC at lunchtime to pay my gas bill. I may need that gas tonight, so I thought it best to pay up. It was very pretty out. Probably around 72 degrees, with a slight breeze. I didn�t want to come back to work (big surprise). There�s something about the sunlight in LB that I just love, especially down by the ocean where it just gets all sparkly, glistening and reflecting off of the water. Maybe it�s cuz I�m so used to seeing the sun through a thick, smog-haze and now that I don�t have to it just seems like a whole new light to me. But I just love the light in LB. Even when I spent that night with Troy, in the wee hours of the morning I just loved laying there, watching the light come through the window and kind of sweep through the room with the breeze. It was like waltzing. Or like that scene in �Singin in the Rain� where Debbie Reynolds is up on that ladder and Gene turns on that huge fan and it�s blowing air all around them while he dances around her.



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com