Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Friday, Jun. 25, 2004
too...tired...must...sleep...

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
I am so fucking tired.

And I didn�t even do anything last night. The Rad Pad Jr. is still a mess, with boxes of crap at every turn, and I did nothing last night to put any of it away. Alternately, I sat in a chair or lay on the sofa. I made some vegetable beef soup for dinner and I watched television. I played a few games of Solitaire on my little hand held computer before I fell asleep.

And yet I am freakin� exhausted.

Fact of the Day:

�In Germany, the lowest-rung factory worker gets 30 days' paid vacation on average (or 24 days by law.) In France the norm is five to six weeks. Australians get 30 days paid vacation by law and take 25 days on average. Yet these countries maintain high rates of productivity. Could it be that their employees work more effectively and are less stressed due to a saner balance between work and personal life?�

~~~

Happy Birthday To: Jimmie Walker, born this day in 1948

Dy-No-Mite!

On this day in 1876 Brig. General George Armstrong Custer made his last stand in the Battle of Little Bighorn, Montana. The Sioux and Cheyenne Nations, under Sitting Bull, triumphed.

Groovy, if you ask me. I wish I were in Montana right now (for far more reasons than one) because I think they have a reenactment of the battle there and a big ol� celebration (well, on the Native lands they celebrate. I don�t know what they do in the rest of the state).

I have been having a rather trying week (as you folks who have read my recent entries may have guessed). Aside from the moving headaches, work has been a smallish version of hell, as well. I don�t even want to get in to it, because most of it is the usual, petty hassles that these kids put me through and I hate to be redundant in my whining. But take my word for it � my exhaustion is well-merited.

I hope I have sufficient energy to do some actual work on putting my apartment back together tomorrow. Oh and for the 8-9 mile training walk I will be leading Sunday morning.

The really fabulous thing is that a week from today will be my last day at work before I go on a week�s vacation. Yippee!!! As I�m sure I�ve mentioned a dozen times (I don�t mind being redundant in my celebrations), I am going up to John�s for the July 4th weekend, then he and I are going to Mendocino for several days.

And Lordy, Lord I can not wait!

Another nice respite in the midst of my stressful week has been my friend Nancy, at work. Yesterday, she left a Gardenia in a little vase on top of my desk, so I�ve been smelling the pretty flower throughout the day. J Plus, she has shared the magic mota with me two days, after work.

Gotta love that gal.

And now�some humor for you. Have a fabulous weekend, kids!

One hungry Bush...

One day George W. Bush and Dick Cheney walk into a diner. A waitress walks up to them and asks if she can take their order. Bush leans close to her and says, "Honey, can I have a quickie?"

The waitress is appalled and yells at the President about women's rights and storms away.

Cheney then says to Bush, "George, it�s pronounced 'quiche'."

Show and Tell

Little David was in his 5th grade class when the teacher asked the children what their fathers did for a living. All the typical answers came up -- fireman, policeman, salesman, doctor, lawyer, etc. David was being uncharacteristically quiet and so he teacher asked him about his father. "My father's an exotic dancer in a gay cabaret and takes off all his clothes in front of other men. Sometimes, if the offer's really good, he'll go out to the alley with some guy and make love with him for money." The teacher, obviously shaken by this statement, hurriedly set the other children to work on some exercises and took little David aside to ask him, "Is that really true about your father?" "No," said David, "He works for the Bush administration, but I was too embarrassed to say that in front of the other kids."

Bush Goes For A Jog

George Bush was out jogging one morning along the parkway when he tripped, fell over the bridge railing and landed in the creek below.

Before the Secret Service guys could get to him, three kids, who were fishing, pulled him out of the water. He was so grateful he offered the kids whatever they wanted.

The first kid said, "I sure would like to go to Disneyland." George said, "No problem. I'll take you there on Air Force One."

The second kid said, "I really need a new pair of Nike Air Jordan's." George said, "I'll get them for you and even have Michael sign them!"

The third kid said, "I want a motorized wheelchair with a built-in TV and stereo headset!!" George Bush is a little perplexed by this and says, "But you don't look like you are injured." The kid says, "I will be after my dad finds out I saved your ass from drowning!"

And to show I am nothing if not bi-partisan in my mocking�

The Great Wizard of Oz

The last four ex-U.S. Presidents are caught in a tornado, and off they whirled to OZ. They finally make it to the Emerald City and came before the Great Wizard.

"WHAT BRINGS YOU BEFORE THE GREAT WIZARD OF OZ?"

Jimmy Carter stepped forward timidly: "I've come for some courage."

"NO PROBLEM!" says the Wizard. "WHO IS NEXT?"

Ronald Reagan steps forward, "Well........., I.......I think I need a brain."

"DONE" says the Wizard. "WHO COMES NEXT BEFORE THE GREAT AND POWERFUL OZ?"

Up stepped George Bush sadly, "I'm told by the American people that I need a heart."

"I'VE HEARD IT'S TRUE!" says the Wizard. "CONSIDER IT DONE."

There is a great silence in the hall. Bill Clinton is just standing there, looking around, but doesn't say a word. Irritated, the Wizard finally asks, "WHAT DO YOU WANT?"

"Is Dorothy here?"


P.S. I haven�t been getting my �Word of the Day� emails lately...:(



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com