Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Wednesday, May 15, 2002
money...ergh

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
I worked early hours yesterday, so I could leave at 3:00pm to go to the dentist. Man, that traffic was hell. I couldn�t believe it � at that hour, for the freeways to be so busy. Crazy. This is why I hate this area. Anyway, I did get to the appt. early enough to brush the gook off of my teeth (I had eaten two Tootsie Pops while at work) before Dr. Dan got a look in my mouth. Took a full mouth set of x-rays, aside from having my teeth cleaned. Seems like everything is good. Knock wood cuz I don�t have dental insurance right now. The ins. my job offers is an HMO and of course Dr. Dan isn�t one of the dentists I can see using it. After all of the horror stories Barbara has told me about dental HMOs, I�ll stick to paying cash thank you and forgo paying the few bucks for that insurance.

Anyway, so then I went to Barbi�s and Arnett made dinner for us (and Cathy, who came by for a couple of hours on her dinner break). Man, was it good. Salmon with an orange sauce, grilled scallops, some nifty veggies and great bread. Oh yeah, and I drank an entire bottle of wine. Barbi had bought me a bottle up in the Cambria-area when they went up there a couple of weeks ago, so I was drinking it with dinner�and after dinner. Yummy stuff, all around.

The Lakers won this round of the playoffs last night too, so it was really a great night. I drove home during half-time, listening to the third quarter on the radio, and saw the fourth quarter once I got home. Then I called John, cuz he asked me to let him know when I got home. Turns out he didn�t get home until like 4:00am on Monday morning (driving home from my place). Yikes.

I just got paid today and am already poor. This just sucks, big time. I never have any money anymore and I really don�t know why. On PAPER, it would appear as if I should have a few hundred dollars left each month, even after paying my bills, but I never do. I have to go to Wal Mart after work today and I know that will probably be $100 or more cuz I�m out of all kinds of stuff and have been putting off this Wal Mart trip for weeks. I�d be OK, except that John and I are supposed to go to Desert Hot Springs over Memorial Weekend and I�m not gonna have my half of the money. I�m sure he�ll just end up paying for it, but that makes me feel lousy. It was my idea, for Pete�s sake, and now I don�t have the money.

Guess it�s a good thing Amy decided she can�t go to Utah, after all. I really shouldn�t spend money on that, even though it wasn�t gonna be much in total. And I guess I won�t be going out this weekend. I was gonna go out by myself to a bar somewhere where they have live music. But now�well, who knows? Maybe I�ll go and just spend like $20. Hell, the last time I went out by myself I got totally drunk, even though I only bought two drinks. There were all kinds of people buying drinks for me.

I really hate worrying about money. There are so many more important things in the world. But I have a serious problem not spending money, so then that leads me to have to worry about it later. It�s a never-ending cycle.

After Lunch�

I went out to this little Chinese place for lunch. I wasn�t even that hungry, but I figgered I�d eat a little and bring some back for tomorrow�s lunch. Nope. I ate everything. That�s it � I�m going back on my diet, big time. I can�t believe what a porker I�ve been lately.

The cool thing is, we have some jasmine plants outside of work and they smell just wonderful. John and I had jasmine in our front and back yards in Chino Hills and I just loved that smell.

I�m still trying to work out my vacation-time questions. No hurry now, since my trip to Utah is a no-go. I do want to take July 5 off, though, cuz it�s a Friday and I thought I might go up to visit John for that long weekend. I doubt he�ll have Friday off and so we wouldn�t get to spend the 4th together otherwise. Plus, I think it�ll be very cool to spend the 4th in Santa Cruz and the date is not too far off. I�m really itching to get on the road. I doubt next weekend�s little jaunt to Desert Hot Springs will do the trick. It�s not far enough away and I�ll only be there one night. I am hoping we go to the Ren. Faire that weekend though, since we didn�t get to go last Saturday. I think that�s the preliminary plan, anyway.

Barbara asked me last night if I felt I�d sabotaged myself by moving in to my new, expensive pad; meaning that I�d intentionally moved somewhere that would necessitate my staying with John because I�d be dependent on him financially. That was an interesting take on the matter, but I don�t think it�s correct. I do think I just didn�t really think he�d ever leave again. Plus, I�m just an impulsive dufus sometimes. And by the time I gave my landlady a check for the deposit, I was so sick of looking for a new pad I was just elated that I found such a great place and she just accepted me as a tenant with open arms. No stupid application to fill out; no uneasy waiting while they review my application and decide whether or not they want me around.

Anyway, so this weekend it�s time for me to get some real work done on my kitchen. I should at least be able to get the final sanding done and all of the primer painted on. John is supposed to put my new table together next time he�s down, but that�s the same weekend we�re going to the desert, so who knows? No real rush since I don�t even have any chairs, as of yet.

I�m now considering just buying a bunch of mis-matched chairs for the dining room; different colors and all. That might be fun. I could just look around at various thrift stores and antique shops for cool chairs and buy them one-by one. Could be nifty and is something to consider. That or I may get the ones I want from Crate and Barrel and then just get or make different-colored cushions for each one. Of course, since I have no moolah for such an expense at the present time, this is all just dreaming�



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com