Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Tuesday, Jun. 08, 2004
me and my five o�clock shadow

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
Time has come, ladies and gents, for me to tackle that most sensitive of subjects: Facial Hair.

In essence: What the FUCK is up with all of this damn facial hair???????

I know I�m getting older, but for Pete�s sake � I�m not getting to be an older Baldwin brother! Plus, I�m only thirty-seven years old. I still have a few female hormones running around in this old bod. What the hell is gonna happen when I�m all dried up and testosterone-y? I�m going to have to hire part time help, just for plucking and waxing purposes.

Time was, I would occasionally find a stray facial hair or two in inappropriate places and I�d pull out the tweezers. Tweezers soon morphed in to a waxing job once a month, then to depilatories on an even more regular basis. The hairs started darkening � what was once nice, light-colored �peach fuzz� one could only see in the sunlight became brown, evil, twine-like hairs that could put a man�s eye out. Now I find myself checking my face daily, for fear of missing hair and finding myself on the cover of Weekly World News as the newly-discovered Bear Woman (similar to the beloved Bat Boy of lore).

In the immortal words of one Janis Joplin: �Oh Lord, won�t you buy me...laser hair removal?�

In other news � my throat still hurts like a little mother fucker.

More importantly, The Little Big Man�s mom died last night, in her sleep. He found her this morning. Needless to say, it is very sad and I feel rotten for him. Since she had Parkinson�s, he knew this day would come sooner than later. Also, it�s good that she died in her sleep�but still; I know he is very sad.

Luckily, I just talked to my own mommy last night, or I�d feel the urge to call her today. Also, I will be seeing the folks Wednesday evening, as I have to drive out to Hell�s Half Acre (the town in which I grew up) to get my hair done before I jet off to fabulous Reno, Nevada on Thursday morning.

I have to fly out of LAX rather than Long Beach, which is a bummer. Frankly, I think the gal who booked my travel forgot that I preferred Long Beach, but whatever. Linda is going to take me to the airport, and pick me up on Friday night, so at least I don�t have to leave my car there or anything. That Linda sure comes in handy at times like these! She works privately, from home, on both her husband�s business and doing the books for friend of theirs who own their own business. She can therefore set her own hours. Add this to the fact that she is extremely generous and you have a person who doesn�t mind taking her siblings to the airport, when needed.

I�m flying there on Alaska Airlines � why does that make me excited? I�m flying home on United. I haven�t flown in a while. I hope I don�t get strip-searched or anything. Guess I�d better wear clean undies, just in case.

So I basically have most of Thursday to play around in Reno, minus a couple of hours in the afternoon. I have the option of going to dinner and to lunch with the credit folks that day, but something tells me I�ll just order room service and watch the Laker game in my room over dinner�and spend the rest of the day playing Black Jack (assuming my funds hold out). Friday I have a six hour long meeting with a lunch break. My meeting is over at like 3:00 and my flight doesn�t leave until 8:10. Hmm�what shall I find to do in the hours in between?

Leaving me alone to gamble over so many hours can be seriously dangerous.

And now for something completely different�

Last week, Long Beach police shot and killed and unarmed man suspected of shoplifting at our local Wal Mart. The perp was shot in the head.

Now, I wasn�t there�perhaps this person was �unruly� as has been said in the papers. But he was unarmed - did he really need to be shot in the head in order to be subdued? Does being suspected of shoplifting really justify being killed in this way?

I wouldn�t even mention it except that this seems to happen a lot in Long Beach and I am going to start paying closer attention.

Just about a year ago, John and I went downtown to pick up some things from Crate and Barrel. When we got to that area, several streets were blocked off with police tape, cops were everywhere and chalk lines outlined what used to be a body on the street, as well as bullet holes scattered around on walls and sidewalks.

Turns out, the police had shot un unarmed person of questionable mental health who had�I believe he had robbed a store or something and the police had given chase. The person was cornered and not giving up to the police, was acting rather wacky because of the afore-mentioned questionable mental health, and was shot and killed. The episode caused quite a stir, but I didn�t pay much attention, in all honesty. There is just so much room in my brain, ya know what I mean? But again � why the need to shoot to kill when your suspect is unarmed?

All of which brings me to the topic of a documentary I recently watched on, I believe, The Sundance Channel. It was called Justifiable Homicide and was about the killing of two teenagers by New York police, and the ensuing cover-up. Basically, the kids were shot in the back by police, as they lay on the floor with their hands out to their sides.

All I have to say is � if you ever thought of former Mayor Giuliani as a decent man worthy of your vote for any office, you need to watch this film.

~~~

Word of the Day for Tuesday June 8, 2004

enjoin en-JOIN, transitive verb:

1. To direct or impose with authority; to order.

2. To prohibit; to forbid.



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com