Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Wednesday, Aug. 25, 2004
a breather

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
Happy Birthday to: Elvis Costello, born this day in 1954

and how odd that he should share a birthday with Gene Simmons, born this day in 1949.

And who could forget? Happy Birthday to Mr. Sean Connery, born this day in 1930.

This is actually a very popular birthday day. Even Ivan the Terrible was born on this day in 1530.

So�just a couple of short weeks before the season premier of Gilmore Girls! Usually, the fact that time flies can leave one feeling rushed, stressed out and old. That is, unless it�s re-run season, at which time the fact that time flies seems, indeed, a blessing.

I am so gosh darn excited to see what will happen now that Rory has turned in to a home-wrecking slut.

I kid, of course. I love Rory.

But she is sleeping with a married man. Dean, yes, but he�s still married to someone else.

OK, I�ll stop now.

But admit it - isn�t it kind of a relief to know that I don�t sit around obsessing over the Bush administration all the time?

Wanna hear something really sickening?

I miss John.

I guess crap like this happens when you hardly ever see your boyfriend. Or whatever he is. Even though I just saw him this past weekend, I hadn�t seen him the prior three weekends in a row (!), despite and because of many false starts and last minute changed plans. Two days just wasn�t enough to make up for the lost time.

*pout*

As of last night, all signs are indicating that he will be coming down this coming weekend.

The only thing that sucks is that I have to spend so much time walking. It�s great when he�s not in town because it gives me something to do (walking 15 miles fills a few fours for me) and helps to burn off some�um�you know�tension.

*ahem*

But when he is in town, it means making the choice between getting out of bed, inside of which sleeps a big, snuggly and really kind of cute dude or hauling by butt down to the park at six in the morning to stand in the dew and fake cheeriness while waiting for other sleepy-eyed folks to show up and walk�and walk�and sweat�and walk�and walk some more.

And then come home four or five sweaty hours later to find said big, snuggly dude hanging out in his bathrobe, sipping coffee and reading the newspaper.

This is why last Saturday I chose to flake on the 15 mile walk.

Hey, I hadn�t seen him in a freakin month, people.

Plus, I�d hardly slept Friday night. And I�d been dragging ass all week, as it was. I was just plain tuckered.

So I called D and asked her to lead the walk (which she did) and I returned to bed, where John and I slept until about 9-ish. Ah...such is the life. We saw his friend Brandon and went over his son�s to play with his grandkids for a while on Saturday, then came home. Or I did � he went to his sister�s, for a bar-b-que.

On Sunday...we did nothing. Nada. Zilch. Oh, at one point John put on his shorts to go get the paper off the front porch. We lay around in the living room, reading the paper and watching t.v. We cooked breakfast. We went back to bed and lay around reading and napping.

God Bless Lazy Sundays.

And now, I must return to The Training of the New Lady (whose name is the best ever. I will refer to her as Eartha Kitt because, while that is of course not her true name, it is close enough so that you know just how cool this woman�s name is).

~~~

P.S. I Had a dream last night that I had several very large donations to the 3 Day sitting at home. I kept forgetting to mail them in and there were hundreds of dollars' worth of donations.

*guffaw*

Oh, were that the case...

~~~

.

Word of the Day for Wednesday August 25, 2004

nimbus NIM-buhs, noun:

1. (Fine Arts) A circle, or disk, or any indication of radiant light around the heads of divinities, saints, and sovereigns, upon medals, pictures, etc.; a halo.

2. A cloud or atmosphere (as of romance or glamour) that surrounds a person or thing.

3. (Meteorology) A rain cloud.



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com