Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Monday, Dec. 06, 2004
coal for Dubya's stocking

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
COAL 'N' THE GANG
Clean coal might do some good, if Bush would put any money toward it

Many enviros have argued that "clean coal" is an oxymoron, but new technologies mean it might actually turn out to be an environmental good, particularly in developing countries where coal power is an unavoidable reality for the time being. But President Bush, who likes to tout clean coal as the wave of the energy future, isn't putting money where his mouth is. Get the scoop on who should be getting coal in their stockings -- in Muckraker, today on the Grist Magazine website.

today in Grist: Bush isn't walking his talk on clean coal -- in Muckraker

Muckraker Alert is produced by GRIST MAGAZINE, an online source for environmental news and commentary. Gloom and doom with a sense of humor.

***

Do you ever get the feeling that, when given options for his policies, Dubya just asks, �Which one would be the absolute worst for our environment? Because that�s the one I will choose!�

There have obviously been administrations in the past with whom I did not agree when it came to their environmental policies. Never shall I forget Ronald Regan�s Secretary of the Interior James Watt, for instance, and his proclamation that the sooner we get rid of all the trees, the better, because that�s when Jesus will return to earth.

And yeah � the insanity inherent in trying to hurry-along Armageddon aside, get our yer bibles and look for that in Revelations, because I have yet to find it, either.

But anyway�I do not recall a single President who was so adamantly against any measures or reforms which will in any way protect our planet and of course there is no President on record who has done more to roll back existing protections.

He�s freakin� certifiable. He�s like, psychotic about it � even when it comes to something he is in love with, like coal. I mean, if you gotta use it, why not use cleaner versions?

Ergh�

~~~

OK, let�s talk a bit about these latest human rights abuses enacted by our people in military service.

I hope it�s needless to say that I would never and will not here defend these atrocious actions. However, I say again - soldiers do what they are trained to do. The answer to these problems does not lay in the ranks of Corporals or Captains � they lay much higher. Until we start holding our Commander in Chief, his Secretary of Defense and their more immediate lackeys responsible for these abuses, they are going to continue.

Except then we will have two offenses with which to grapple � the initial human rights abuses enacted upon prisoners of war and what amounts to the abuse of the soldiers, as well, who have no authority to make any of these decisions on their own and are doing what they were trained to do. Soldiers who are under incredible duress to obey all orders, no matter what they may be, and who then are left with their tails in the wind when something like this goes wrong.

As I have said before � we train these people to be animals. Why are we then shocked when that is what they become?

I definitely think those responsible for these atrocities need to be held responsible - all up and down the line. I just think we need to remember who is ultimately responsible and hold those people accountable. Believe me � if they didn�t want this stuff to go on, it wouldn�t be going on. To put it simply: Don�t you ever wonder why we never heard about human rights abuses during all of the military actions Clinton got us involved in?

The problem is not with a few individuals � the problem is with the whole system.

~~~

So...my weekend.

My weekend was nice. Cold, but nice. It rained all day Sunday and I therefore spent the day snuggled within two blankets, watching television. I know, I know...shocker! But dudes...it was way too cold to do much else.

We had our yard sale Saturday, with limited results. Of course, Linda had forgotten to put an ad in the paper and since the day was a significantly gloomier than is usual in Southern Cali., we didn�t get a whole lot of foot traffic. This means, I didn�t make much money. Certainly not enough to make it worth waking up at 5:00am. However, I did sell my microwave so at least I didn�t have to lug it all the way back home. And I sold other stuff. But I still have a box full of Christmas stuff I need to get rid of, and nowhere to store it until our next yard sale.

Barbara and Linda both made quite a bit of money this time, which is cool.

So in all, it wasn�t a total waste...especially since Barbara gave me all of the leftover chocolate chip cookies she didn�t sell (she was selling baked goods, also)!

And in closing...This week�s agenda (because I know you care):

MONDAY NIGHT: Finish decorating the pad in rockin� Christmas fashion. Perhaps even finish washing dishes??? Maybe??? OK, I won�t promise that part. I may sweep my floors, though.

TUESDAY NIGHT: Walking with D & Jenn.

WEDNESDAY NIGHT: Um...no plans. But I may go walking again. I don�t think I�ll have time to do so Thursday, because�

THURSDAY NIGHT: Facial at 7:00pm. And I just found out that Glen Ivy Day Spa raised their prices � my facial is now $10 more than it was last month. However, I didn�t much care for that facial I obtained in the much more convenient (and cheaper) spa located about a mile from my home. So until I can find a better spa closer to home, I will pay the extra dough...and drive the extra miles. Hopefully, this will be my last facial at Glen Ivy, though.

FRIDAY NIGHT: Walking with the Outdoors Club, through Naples, to view all of the Christmas lights. The folks in Naples go all out, whole hog, during the holidays. And it�s a beautiful area anyway. I think this has now turned in to a little get-together amongst me and mine, also, as we�re meeting at my house for some munchies, wine, hot cocoa and possibly even Peppermint Martinis before we go off to see the lights.

SATURDAY: I have a hair appointment at 9:00am. My company party starts at 5:00pm.

SUNDAY: Recovering from company party.

John is supposed to come down for the weekend, also.



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com