Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Friday, Apr. 16, 2004
da drama

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
Because I know you�re all wondering, I thought I�d take a moment to fill you in on the latest drama in my life.

Actually, this has far more to do with Sondra and certain other entities at work than with me, but it affected me in the sense that I got all agitated and spent half of last night in a state of emotional exhaustion.

In regard to work entities: We have this gal, Phyllis, who works for me. While Phyllis is good at her job and bright and dependable and diligent and all of that great stuff�she can also be quite the bitch. I learned long ago that if Phyllis is in a bad mood, I just need to steer clear and stay out of her way. It works for me. She can be in a bad mood and it doesn�t really affect me and she still gets her work done. The truth of the matter is, though, that this is not really a productive way of dealing with her personality disorders. My steering clear just leaves her alone to be a huge bitch and heaven forbid anybody not in the know approach her on any such day. Get me? I should have talked to her long ago about keeping her moods to herself and treating others with respect and courtesy regardless of how she is feeling that day. We talked a bit about it during her annual review, but I have really been far too tolerant of this baloney.

This week, Phyllis has been in a very foul mood. She has barely spoken to anybody and when she has, it hasn�t been pretty. So yesterday she really upset one of my favorite employees, Alanna.

Alanna needed some information from her. More specifically, our Auditors needed copies of some paperwork which had to do with an account handled by Phyllis. They asked Alanna for it, so she asked Phyllis for it. At the time the two were talking, I knew something was not going right, but I didn�t hear the entire conversation or know exactly what was going on. I asked Alanna if everything was OK and she told me it was. I knew it wasn�t, though, and she confirmed as much after Phyllis had gone for the day.

In essence: Phyllis refused, point blank, to give Alanna what she needed and she said some stupid bullshit about how Alanna should already have had copies of the paperwork in question.

Hoo-boy. This is just not acceptable. A) No, Alanna should not already have had copies and B) even if that were the case, you do not treat your fellow employees like that. But see, Alanna is way too nice to stand up for herself. That�s half the problem, right there.

Anyway, so now I have to write Phyllis up. To top it off, she took half a vacation day and I won�t be able to discuss this with her until Monday�and the Little Big Man will be in Mexico Monday � Thursday of next week. So I get to do this by myself.

Yippee!!!! This should be fun.

Then came the Sondra-drama. This is just such a stupid thing, I can�t even believe it was an issue, but here goes:

The other night, the Hunky Drummer and I talked on the phone. We were talking about the fact that I am soon to be singing with the-band-with-the-incredibly-stupid-name and he says, �So are you going to get together with us for rehearsal on Sunday?� Um�no. I�d never heard of the rehearsal to begin with, but more importantly, my family is getting together at Linda's on Sunday to celebrate my parents� 54th wedding anniversary and the rehearsal was to take place at the same time. I was a little surprised that Lou would miss the family get-together, but even if he was going to it�s no big deal. My family gets together often and all he does is sit in the corner and not talk to anybody anyway, so who would care if he�s not there?

Anyway, yesterday evening I left Sondra a voice mail message. I had just called her to say howdy � no big deal and she didn�t need to return my call if she didn�t want to. And, �Oh, by the way, I hear Lou might be having rehearsal on Sunday so if you need me to pick you up on my way to Linda�s, let me know cuz it�s no big deal.�

A couple of hours later Sondra called me all freaked out and pissed off. She tells me that no, Lou is not going to rehearsal on Sunday and that he�ll be at our family get-together. Um�OK�so I ask her why she�s pissed off. She said she was pissed because she thought it was a �weird message�. I sarcastically apologized that my message had pissed her off. I wasn�t the least bit sorry. She was being an unreasonable freakazoid. She said she wasn�t mad at me.

The bottom line is, she was pissed and there is no logical explanation. She was pissed because the guys in the band thought they were going to have a rehearsal and it conflicted with her precious plans for her husband.

Does that make any sense? Um�no, it doesn�t. I said to her: �Sondra, there was obviously just a miscommunication, here. Maybe Jamie talked to me before he had even talked to Lou. I don�t know, but I don�t think there�s any reason to be pissed.�

�Well, you�re not the one who�s pissed,� she said.

I said: �Fine. You just go be pissed, then. I�m hanging up now.� And I did.

What the fuck was that?

See? This is why I can�t be close to Sondra for very long. She�s fucking insane.

This situation is sadly very typical for Sondra. When she�s being sane, I love her to death and very much enjoy spending time with her. I have been lucky that we�ve been getting along so well lately.

I should have known the other boot was gonna drop at any moment.

So then I of course was all upset and agitated. See, I put up with her insanity for years. She bullies people by being such an irrational bitch that they just acquiesce and do and say whatever will appease her. Well, I stopped giving in to her bullying long ago. That was when the problems began between us, of course, but it had to be done. There is no reason in this world I or anybody should put up with her complete nonsense. She needs help, but if she�s not gonna get it � well, that�s hardly my fault (or anybody else�s) now is it?

Add to her innate insanity the fact that she has a very unhealthy relationship with alcohol and you have one hell of a tornado.

Of course, knowing all of this doesn�t stop me from getting upset over it.



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com