Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Wednesday, Apr. 14, 2004
dang me!

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
Oh my gosh! I just got this in an email from Barbara:

�I don't know what to say about Jamie. . .I guess it's just a physical thing. He is awfully cute, I guess that is part of it. But as you know, that doesn't mean a whole lot. Sorry about your Santa Barbara guy. How did you scare off a sociologist? If anything I think he would want to study you. Just kidding. But speaking of these things....... are you mad at me for some reason? Are you unhappy with me? You just seem to not like me very much anymore. I mean, I know you love me and everything. I've been trying to figure out if it's my imagination (I have been under alot of stress) but I'm not feeling the same way with other people. So, what's up? I just feel like I bug you all the time. Let me know if there is any truth to this or I'll just put it off on my being overly sensitive right now.�

OK, now I feel horrible. I called her and explained, but I feel bad that she thought I was mad at her or something!

The thing is�as you all may know, I just haven�t been very happy lately. You know, for like, months. I mean, I�m not like walking around seriously depressed all the time or anything; I have good days and I still have fun and find joy in life�but deep down, I�m just not a happy person these days. As I think I have mentioned in these pages, I have even considered talking to my doctor about going on anti-depressants � something I never would have thought I would do, for various reasons (and still haven�t done and may never do).

Several weeks ago, I called her on the phone and I was just bawling. Afterward, I felt really bad about laying all of that on her. What with Arnett�s health, stuff with his kids and family and other stuff she deals with, I just feel like she has enough on her plate without having to worry about me � and she will worry, tremendously. And really, there�s nothing she can do to help me; I don�t even really have specific reasons for being depressed. Well, most of the time, that is. Right now I know I am lonely and that�s something I can pin-point, but as a rule�it just creeps up on me, for no apparent reason.

I wrote this poem about it, like a year ago:

There doesn�t have to be a reason
Sometimes it just creeps

It seeps
from my pores and infects my sheets
Making sleep
an impossible dream

I pray the Lord my soul to keep
Cuz I have no plans for it this eve�

There�s a black cloud on the horizon
Taking the place of a moon
that was so beautiful when risin�

I have found in talking to other people who were sexually abused that this often happens�you just get depressed and scared and for no apparent reason. The problem is that healthy people just don�t understand this. If you don�t struggle with depression, you just don�t understand that there is no easy answer. My feeling is you always want to try and help, to offer a solution. And there is none; not really. I especially have this problem with men, of course, because men like to solve problems. And Barbara is very much like a man in that way � she wants to help. And she just can�t. If I could say: �Well, this is my problem and here is what I need to do to get over it��well, come on. If it were that easy, I wouldn�t struggle with depression, now would I?

The good news is that I haven�t had any night terrors in a long time. I think it�s only happened twice since I moved in to the Rad Pad. Of course, I find that my night terrors tend to surface when I�m getting close to somebody. When John and I lived together, for instance, I had them more than ever in my life. After he and I �broke up� I started to get them when I started to get close to someone else. It will be interesting to see if it starts again, if/when I begin to get close to another man.

Um�intimacy issues, anybody?



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com