Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Wednesday, Mar. 31, 2004
email aboot dinner

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
Internet-Dating Profile Quote of the Day:

This guy actually wrote to me last night. If nothing else, you have to applaud his honesty in this rather entertaining profile (grammatical and spelling errors left intact, of course):

�I'm not about game playing...I have a friend on here...and 50% of his profile is a lie...I don't believe in starting off a relationship based on lies. I've got the male midlife crisis love handles that I need to work off. But, I'm getting kind of lazy. I guess I can't have all those beers and drink it to. Im all about appearances and what money can buy. I think i have great taste...it's all about the flash. Life is too short to be worried about substance. I can fake my way through being sweet and charming. Im learning to be better with my relationships. Ive had a problem being faithful. I was burned before and I guess that I've beeng buring back. . .Looks are very important. . .No hight maintenance women need apply. I shut down completely if I have to deal with that. I don't think I'm ready for a serious relationship. Perhaps, just friends. I don't like the jealous posesive types. I like my freedom. Im going to do as I please.�

It�s a wonder that some of these guys are single, eh ladies?

As far as the women go, I haven�t been able to find any truly funny quotes, yet. I�m sure they�re out there, though. I did find someone this morning who said �You better look good, cause I do� but that hardly even qualifies, compared to the artistic entries these guys are creating.

~~~

So last night, Barbara, June and I took Sondra to dinner for her birthday. It was great. The Tam O�Shanter is an adorable Scottish pub with great, great food (no Haggis). It was expensive, but very good. While we were waiting for the valet to bring our cars around, there was also this guy there waiting for his car who totally looked like David Cross. So that reminded me of Arrested Development which I only recently discovered that I love, and I got in to a discussion about the show with the gals.

The valet brings my car first and I go down the line, hugging each gal and saying goodnight and I get to �David Cross�. I mock-go to hug him too; hee-hee, aren�t we funny? I go to get in to my car and the guy says to me that Arrested Development is, indeed, a fine show. So I casually tell him that he totally reminds me of David Cross and that�s why I started discussing the show.

Eyah. Not the most fabulous compliment the guy will ever get in his life.

The immensity of my dorkitude know no bounds.

email eavesdrop:

-----Original Message-----
From: Barbara
Sent: Wednesday, March 31, 2004 8:54 AM
To: karen
Subject: (no subject)

Hi. Thanks for going last night, it was fun. We got back to June's in about 30 minutes, how was your drive home?

We didn't get much chance to talk so......... how are you? Have you been feeling any better? What's happening with the Jamie/John dilemma? Anything?

By the way, you looked really cute last night. I think the guy outside (Arrested Dev. dude) thought so also!

June is so sweet, isn't she? I feel so bad for her to be so old. She's got alot of fun left in her and some craziness just dieing to get out!

Have a good day.

b

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Wednesday, March 31, 2004 9:30 AM
To: Barbara
Subject: RE: (no subject)

Good morning!

I had a great time. I love June (and you guys, of course)! It does suck getting old though, yes. On the one hand, its great that she can be the way she is. On the other, I�m sure she was one heck of a lot of fun back in the day. It really would have been a lot of fun to hang out in old Los Angeles with a young June. :)

Thanks for the compliment! :) Jeepers, you guys are good for my ego�I felt bad telling that guy he reminded me of David Cross, but he did! Seeing him is totally what made me think of that show in the first place. David Cross gives me the willies; he�s just so�odd�

That really is a funny show, though. In truth, it�s on Sundays and HBO pretty much holds me hostage for three straight hours on Sundays, so I usually miss Arrested Development. However, they had a marathon of shows on Fox or something over the weekend and I watched them all. It was so freakin� funny, I couldn�t believe it. It�s very weird. I mean, Liza Minelli was on several of the episodes. That alone�

I�m feeling OK. Actually, today I am in a good mood. Must have been going to dinner last night. :) I dunno � I�m not so very happy these days, but whatever.

John has been very nice. He had his doctor appt. yesterday and it sounded encouraging. He is going back tomorrow morning for a blood test and then in like two weeks for a treadmill/stress test. They did an EKG on him yesterday. We haven�t talked about it yet, but I assume he won�t be coming down this weekend. So I am planning on going to see the Goodfellas (Lou�s not-as-good band) on Saturday night, when (Original) Mike is playing with them.

I haven�t talked to Jamie (the Hunky Drummer) since last week. I�ve pretty much written him off. I say �pretty much� because while I don�t expect to ever see him again except at (the-band-with-the-incredibly-stupid-name�s) gigs and I won�t be actively pursuing any such relationship, there is still part of me that wants to see him. So, you know, if he called me today I�d totally go out with him.

I forgot to bring you your Dumb, Dumber, Dubya stickers last night! :(

I have to go have a meeting with the Little Big Man now. Yippee.

Regards,

Karen

~~~

Politics

BUSH CAN'T PROVIDE PROOF TO SUPPORT HIS JOBS CLAIM

As President Bush tours the country touting his economic record, he is trying to shift the blame for the more than 2 million jobs that have been lost since he took office (1). Specifically, he has repeatedly claimed, "over a million jobs were lost because of the [9/11] attack" (2). But a new report shows that there are no statistics to support this assertion, and that the White House itself cannot provide any evidence that this is the case.

According to the Bureau of National Affairs, "White House officials were unable to point to any specific information that supports a direct link between massive job losses and the attacks" (3). While one White House spokeswoman claimed that the President's statements were "supported by the Department of Labor's Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)," that agency's associate commissioner "said BLS has not compiled any specific study on jobs which were lost specifically because of the Sept. 11 attacks."

Sources:
1. "Bush Record on The Economy and Jobs", Committee on Education and the Workforce, 02/26/2004,
2. President Bush Discusses Job Training and the Economy in NY, 03/11/2004,
3. Bureau of National Affairs, 03/22/2004.

Visit Misleader.org for more about Bush Administration distortion.

~~~

Environmental Pioneer Decries Bush Environmental Damage

A major new book explains why global efforts have failed to curb the world's most serious environmental threats -- and lays a large share of the blame at the feet of the Bush Administration.

"I think the biggest problem we have in facing these issues is the lack of U.S. leadership. In fact, what we've had is negative leadership," said longtime environmental leader Gus Speth, author of Red Sky at Morning. Now dean of the Yale School of Forestry and Environmental Studies, Speth offers eight approaches that can deter global environmental deterioration, as well as an analysis of why most efforts thus far have failed.

One of the pioneers of the modern environmental movement, Speth was co-founder of the Natural Resources Defense Council (NRDC), an environmental advisor to President Jimmy Carter, founder of the environmental think tank World Resources Institute, and CEO of the UN Development Programme.

Speth described to BushGreenwatch a pattern of obstructionist policies throughout the Bush tenure that have impeded global efforts to address pressing environmental issues such as climate change, renewable energy development, fossil fuel emissions, population measures and depletion of the ozone layer.

Rather than join with European nations to forge agreements on how nations can reduce their reliance on fossil fuels, combat global warming, thwart further depletion of the ozone layer or reduce exposure to toxic chemicals, the Bush administration has chosen policies that curry favor with industry, Speth said.

"I think they've been more concerned about their own future from the outset," he said, "their own political future, rather than the public's future and our country's future. In my judgment this is really reprehensible."

Specifically, Speth criticized the Bush administration for:

� Backing out of the Kyoto Protocol to reduce man's contribution to global climate change, and breaking "his own campaign commitment to a bill that would have regulated carbon dioxide emissions," a major contributor to global warming.
� Opposing multinational efforts to reach goals on renewable energy development at the 2002 World Summit on Sustainable Development in Johannesburg, South Africa.
� Attempting to water down an international treaty to strictly limit or eliminate exposure to Persistent Organic Pollutants (POPs) and "dragging its feet" on getting the treaty ratified.
� Opposing legislation put forward by Senators McCain and Lieberman that would establish a federal goal to reduce greenhouse gas emissions. � Blocking support for international population program measures because of pressure from the right to life movement.
� Seeking massive exemptions from a successful international treaty to reduce production of methyl bromide (a potent ozone-depleting chemical). This would reverse U.S. progress on the problem, and has caused international anger.

Perhaps the most egregious acts of the Bush Administration have been in the area of U.S. energy policy and the failure to support the Kyoto Protocol, Speth said. Not only did the U.S. pull out of this historic agreement to reduce carbon dioxide emissions, but doing so has delayed Russian ratification, and will likely deter European nations from participating in the latter phases of the treaty, he said.

"This is huge in historic terms," said Speth. "We are rapidly losing our chance to prevent extremely serious and costly climate disruption. We haven't acted on this problem, and the U.S. is the biggest culprit. If we don't tackle this problem now we will reap very serious consequences."

~~~

Word of the Day for Wednesday March 31, 2004

approbation ap-ruh-BAY-shuhn, noun:
1. The act of approving; formal or official approval.
2. Praise; commendation.



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com