Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Tuesday, Sept. 21, 2004
"...they drag me back in"

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
Happy Birthday To: Stephen King, born this day in 1947

~~~

I have just read and re-read gutterpoet�s notes to me several times.

And you guessed it � I have more to say on the subject.

GP is correct in stating that my own party does not come out against the war and that is obviously diametrically opposed to my own view on the matter. While there is a very strong anti-war contingent within the Democratic Party, our Party Platform does not make statements against it.

That made me wonder if I was not being a bit hypocritical, since I recently slammed the Republicans for trotting out the more moderate among their party (and many who disagree with the parties most basic platform) to give Keynote Speeches during their convention.

It is very rare that I find one candidate or one party with which I agree 100%. That includes GP�s Libertarian Party, for while in some areas I am all for individual freedoms and less involvement of government in my business, I also think we have a moral obligation to look out for one another so therefore am loathe to give up most social programs. The war is not even the only matter on the Democratic platform with which I disagree (see Gay Marriage). When it comes time for me to decide who will get my vote, however, I align myself with the candidate in whom I have the most confidence and the one whom I think will fight most consistently for the things I believe in. This year that person is John Kerry. The party with which I agree most is usually the Democratic one, so I registered as a Democrat, yes; but I am voting for John Kerry because he is the one still in the race with whom I agree most. I also think he is the wisest of choices, because he actually has a chance of winning.

GP stated in his note to me that all Republicans vote for Republicans, just as all Democrats vote for Democrats because we always �blindly� vote the party line. Aside from the inherent insult in that statement (which I am trying not to take personally), while I agree that most Americans are ignorant and vote for all the wrong reasons, I hardly think that Libertarians have the market cornered on the well-informed, intelligent casting of votes. And when it comes to readers of this particular journal, to whom my initial question (�Why are you voting for George W. Bush?�) was posed; well, I happen to have at least an inkling that most of you have a brain in your head and tend to use it.

In fact, it could even be argued that voting Libertarian or any party other than Democratic or Republican in this race is not the smartest of things to do. When it comes to close races such as this one, many think that a vote cast for an "alternative" candidate is a wasted vote. I know the argument that Kerry will be absolutely no different than Bush, so it won�t matter which of them are voted in to office and therefore it doesn�t matter who you vote for. I agree that you should vote as I do � for the candidate who most aligns himself with your beliefs. If that candidate is Libertarian or Green or Independent � whatever; you should vote your conscience.

Of course that�s the way it should work, in theory. I am torn over this issue, however. Our two-party system is severely flawed, yes, and I wish someone would take up the task of overhauling it. However - this is the system we�re stuck with right now. This is what we have to work with right now. Bush and Kerry are the two parties who actually have a chance of getting their foot in the white house door � right now.

And I believe these two candidates are different.

How John Kerry gets us out of Iraq may be limited to few alternatives and we may not see much difference there. I won�t be happy about that, but it�s hardly his fault. He�s going to have to play with the hand he�s been dealt. However, there will be a difference on MANY other fronts. At the very least, if Dubya wins again we may very well see an end to a woman's right to choose before he ends his next term in office. I�m sorry, but if retaining that right means I have to settle for John Kerry over my initial choice (Dennis Kucinich), that�s what it means. Kerry is still more closely aligned with my personal beliefs than anyone else running.

The time to effect change in the system by supporting third-party candidates is not during such a close race as this one - one on which so many extremely important issues lay.

~~~

OK, I again made a vow not to discuss politics today and look where that got me.

In truth, though, I don�t really have much else to talk about.

Both American�s Next Top Model AND Gilmore Girls premiere this week, so that�s exciting.

Oh and I finally started my period about fifteen minutes ago � and only a week late, too!

I�ve been kind of stressed lately. Stress affects my ovaries.

I�m finally reading the �Cat Books.�

Most members of The �Family Book Club� (which consists of Barbara, Linda, Carla, Sondra and sometimes Katie, my Mom and Amy and Honorary Member June) have been talking for many moons about �The Cat Books.� Basically, these are mysteries written in the late-sixties by Lilian Jackson Braun. In the mysteries, the main character is helped in solving crimes by his trusty�psychic�Siamese cat.

Yes, you read that correctly. I am reading a book about a psychic cat who helps to solve crime.

It�s not as silly as it sounds.

I mean, The Cat Who Could Read Backwards, the first in the series and the one which I am presently reading, is no Light in August or anything � essentially it�s light reading; a cute, relatively simple mystery - but one which is well-written and enjoyable.

But see...I am soon to have A Mission. I am making a list of things to accomplish � 101 things to accomplish in 1001 days, actually. I stole the idea form another blogger somewhere. I only have like 75 things listed so far and, in truth, am having a hard time finishing the list. I don�t really think the fact that I�m having a hard time finishing the list is going to bode well for my accomplishing the things on the list, do you?

Anyway, one of the things on The List is to read at least one book/month. I used to read, people. Somewhere in the midst of my reality television obsession and developing an extremely short attention span, I fell out of the habit of reading anything longer than an Outside magazine article.

So I thought the Cat Books would be a good way to get back in the swing of things.

Now if I can just keep from falling asleep after only one chapter�

*

By the way, I hate to be one of those people who gets their news from Jon Stewart, but it just so happens that I heard about this for the first time last night, on his show.

Did you hear that they have discovered two new planets? Apparently, they are just outside of our solar system. They are 35 light years away�and they very much resemble Earth!

Now, I have no opinion as to whether or not there is other life �out there� somewhere. I�ve never seen anything akin to a UFO so I can�t say as I believe in them; but on the other hand I find it rather arrogant of us to assume we�re the only sentient being around. It�s a great, vast space out there and I�m sure we only know a fraction of what there is to know.

But I sure found this new information to be interesting, that�s fo� sho�.

~~~

Word of the Day for Tuesday September 21, 2004

tatterdemalion tat-uhr-dih-MAYL-yuhn; -MAY-lee-uhn, noun: A person dressed in tattered or ragged clothing; a ragamuffin.

adjective: Tattered; ragged.



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com