Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Thursday, Aug. 12, 2004
"if ya like good music..."

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
Bummer�

From CNN.com:

�SAN FRANCISCO, California (AP) -- The California Supreme Court on Thursday voided the nearly 4,000 same-sex marriages sanctioned in San Francisco this year and ruled unanimously that the mayor overstepped his authority by issuing licenses to gay and lesbian couples.

�The court said the city violated the law when it issued the certificates, since both legislation and a voter-approved measure defined marriage as a union between a man and woman. . . �

I actually have something to post, too, about how Dubya has drained thousands of acres of wetlands, all the while promising to increase their size. But since I already filled up an entry with environmental bru-ha-ha today, I�ll post that tomorrow.

~~~

Um�am I the only one who is already totally sick of the Yeah, Yeah Yeahs? The first few times I heard Maps, I thought �Hmm�here�s something interesting. I might actually buy this CD.�

Now, if you know anything of my general lack of enthusiasm for today�s music, you will know this was somewhat of a minor miracle.

Well...the honeymoon didn�t last long. And I don�t like their new song either.

I also have no love for Modest Mouse or Franz Ferdinand. However, I do like Jet. I may buy that CD. I like Velvet Revolver too, although I am opposed in principal to anything connected with Scott Weiland.

It�s a long story. And one that ends about ten years ago.

On the flip side, they keep playing lots of songs on Indie 103.1 that I really like...and then they fail to tell me the name of the song and/or the artist. Or they may tell it, but they have so few breaks that I don�t listen long enough to hear it. And the play list on their web site is two months old, so it doesn�t help me with newer stuff.

Of course �few breaks� is a fabulous thing...unless you want to know the name of that freakin� song that just played.

I do recommend that you peruse that play list, though. Loretta Lynn and the Beastie Boys are played on the same station???

Why yes. Yes they are.

This is why I love Indie 103.1.

In other music news�one of my old idols is in jail.

Cris Kirkwood from the Meat Puppets is in jail! I hadn�t even heard any of this before, but apparently, Cris got in to an altercation in a Post Office parking lot last December, which ended with him being shot in the back. And now he�s been sentenced to 21 months in jail for assaulting the security guard who shot him.

Geez�I understand he did the wrong thing (maybe. Reports as to what really happened are conflicting), but I would think a bullet in the back and being left untreated in jail for five days while going thru Methadone withdrawals would be sufficient punishment for smacking someone upside the head.

In truth, he was never my �idol� � his brother Curt was. I feel bad for Cris, though. He�s been rather troubled for a long while now. Drug addiction is not fun, people.

(By the way, even if you don�t know or don�t like their music, ya gotta love Curt Kirkwood�s artwork.

Up the up-side of really-cool-music-that-used-to-be-recorded-and-then-never-heard-on-the-radio news: There is going to be a �new� Clash CD. It will include 5 unreleased songs & Demos. Yes, these are the often whispered about �Vanilla Tapes�, finally to be released for real.

Yay!

OK, so last night I tried to stay up late to watch Red Dust, but I had to go to sleep before it was over. I missed the best part (the last half hour). I haven't seen that movie in years and I always loved it...I must say, though, that Clark Gable's character in that movie is a total asshole. Sure, he's cute as all hell, but that's his only redeeming quality. I have no idea why both of those women (Jean Harlow and Mary Astor) fell in love with him, except that he was the only decent-looking man in South East Asia at the time.

Maybe it's my age that lets me see these things now, but what the hell was that about anyway? He was complete jerk. He just takes what he wants, including Mary Astor who is married to someone else; he talks about how women are "bad enough to play with in Saigon, but to have them underfoot all the time?" (He called Saigon "Say-gon", by the way, and they referred to the native population as "coolies." And we won�t even discuss the horrible caricature of an Asian cook they have in that movie...) He is horrible to Jean Harlow's character, first screwing her and then treating her like so much poo on his shoe...until Mary Astor shoots him, of course, then all of a sudden he's willing to settle for Jean Harlow.

While recently I've been wishing I lived a couple hundred years ago, before we ruined the planet on which we live, I must say there are some things about living in this more "enlightened" time that are good. Like the fact that men tend to act more like human beings than they apparently used to. Or at least characters like Gable's in this movie wouldn't be seen as heroic anymore.

Not to mention, I like being able to vote.

�"This stigma our society puts on junkies is fucked. My brother is not a bad person. It's a sickness. I wish someone would force medical treatment on him. But the law says you can't force medical treatment on people. Instead, you put them in jail. Well, fuck, that doesn't make any sense.�

--Curt Kirkwood



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com