Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Thursday, Dec. 30, 2004
Heppy New Year

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
It is an absolutely gorgeous morning �round these parts! Of course, it�s not going to last long. We�re supposed to have more rain tonight and tomorrow. Saturday should be clear, though.

In case you don�t watch the Weather channel and don�t live in Southern California, let me fill you in: God has been pissing on us all week. We had seven inches of rain between Monday and Wednesday; three � five feet of snow in our local mountains (who knows how much they got in the Sierras). Not only did we get a lot of rain, but we had hurricane-like winds � that was the worst. I have been so worried about my car (since I have to park on the freakin� street). When I went out to my car to come in to work on Tuesday, there was a tree which had blown over and on to two cars. Palm fronds litter the streets of my neighborhood, everywhere. Power poles have been toppled. Streets have flooded. We even had two tornadoes touch down � plus one of them on the island of Catalina. It�s been crazy-wacky.

But now I don�t have to rent The Day After Tomorrow. It�s going on, outside my bedroom window.

So tomorrow is New Years� Eve. An entirely over-rated holiday if ever there was one.

I am spending the day with my old friend, June (and Barbara, Cathy and Alisa, who will be joining us). Her health still dictates that she basically stay in her house all the time, so we�re going to go drink some champagne with her and keep her company for a few hours.

I am very concerned about Cathy and am glad she�s taking those few hours to drink booze with us and goof around. Since her Dad returned home, after having his stroke, she has been staying with him�sleeping on an air mattress on the floor of his bedroom. He is going to sell his house and move to an assisted care center in Colorado (she has a brother and a sister there), but in the mean time she is just overwhelmed. She doesn�t just have to live with him, either � she has to deal with the tenants he has living in his house, one of whom it Schizophrenic (I would just like to point out that I spelled that word correctly on my first attempt!). He walks around talking to himself and even yelling at himself.

At least she has a sense of humor when talking about it�

I doubt I am doing anything tomorrow night. It will be raining, first of all. Secondly�well, see my previous statement about the holiday being over-rated. I think John and I will sit at home and drink champagne by ourselves. Woo-Hoo! This partying life of mine will do me in soon, I�m sure.

The best thing about NYE is that I get it off of work and I also get to leave a few hours early today.

I am seriously at my wits end around here (work) and am rather short-tempered, I fear. You know how you can just feel the blood boiling in your brain? Yeah, that's been me the last two days. Year-end has been a big ol' BITCH this year! The good news is, our new gal starts MONDAY!!!! YAY!!!!

And now I think I�ll go. I hope you all celebrate the new year in a safe manner. And here�s to a better 2005! Not that my 2004 was bad or anything, but life can always get better, right?

~~~

Word of the Day for Thursday December 30, 2004

riposte rih-POST, noun:
1. A quick thrust given after parrying an opponent's lunge in fencing.
2. A quick and effective reply by word or act.

intransitive verb:
To make a riposte.



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com