Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Tuesday, Sept. 14, 2004
living with June

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
All of us (especially we females) who grew up watching John Hughes� flicks will enjoy today�s entry by amblus.

~~~

Barbara and I have been having discussions this morning about my possibly moving in with our old friend June. June is in terrible shape. Sure, she�s in her eighties now, but she is someone who has always had so much gusto that it�s difficult to remember she�s that old. Anyway, her body is just basically giving out. The latest things to do so are her knees.

June has this wonderful old house in a terrific old neighborhood in Arcadia; a house that�s filled with antiques and a house she loves. She also has two dogs that she loves dearly. I know it will kill her to have to move in to an �assisted living� home.

As I said to Barbara this morning, it would really make good sense for me to move in with her and watch over her. I don�t own a home of my own (yet), I have no kids or other responsibilities and I am young enough that I can actually help her (all of her friends and family members are almost as old as she is). As much as I love June, I�m sure she would drive me batty, but I�d just have to deal with that. Plus, I�d have to be able to leave on some weekends, both for my sanity and so I can see John. As she is now, that would be fine (she and the doggies live alone right now), but if she gets more ill and needs constant care that would be an issue.

This is all assuming my parents won�t need me in the mean time, of course. I�m hoping they have a good ten years in �em before I have to figure out what to do with them, and hopefully I�ll own a home by then (I am planning on buying a place with room for them).

We�ve also been discussing Barbara�s planned Spring Nuptials in Santa Fe. I am almost as excited about it as she is, I think. :) I�m planning on an eight-day trip for myself (and hopefully John) and am going to drive, rather than fly and have to rent a car once there. I think I will go to Santa Fe for four days, then to Chaco Canyon for two-three days. I have never been to Chaco Canyon, which is quite remarkable considering my love of Native American history and of Anasazi ruins. I have made plans to go there like three times and those plans have fallen through for various reasons.

And now I have to go do some work. Go figure.

~~~

Politics

First of all, let it be known that I am highly suspicious of the 9/11 Commission and it�s report to begin with. I don�t believe it was a �bi-partisan� commission at all. The fact that Bush�s administration fought it ever being created in the first place, then fought cooperating with it, then only partially cooperated at all � all of these things further leave to me believe that the Commission�s finding are at the very least�incomplete.

That said � it�s better than nothing. The report lays a lot of the blame at the feet of the people who should be blamed, which is startling in it�s courage, if you ask me.

Unfortunately, nobody seems to be reading it.

I would recommend that you go buy the report. Or you can downlad the audio version of the hearings. You can also, though, simply download the report, if you have Adobe Acrobat.

At the very least I hope you watched the show on the History Channel about it. A show that apparently is not going to be repeated.

John watched the show last week and convinced me to do so Saturday morning. John is now so angry, he is doing everything within his power to make sure people do not vote for George W. Bush come November (not to mention, I am afraid for his high-blood-pressure health, he was so steamed over this). He thinks it should be mandatory for everyone to watch the show and/or read the Report. Therefore, while I may not believe everything in the report (I am still studying it, though), if John is an example of what most Americans� reaction to it will be, I think the television show about the report has done a great service.

~~~

I can�t believe they are still pulling this old rabbit out of the collective hat! This is just an outright LIE! This administration is trying to feed on our fears in order to stay in power and in order to justify continung to spend billions of dollars and thousands of lives fighting an unjust war. It�s sickening.

CHENEY MISLEADS ON IRAQ/AL-QAEDA CONNECTION

Displaying a brazen disregard for the facts, Vice President Cheney told an audience in Cincinnati Thursday that Iraq had "provided safe harbor and sanctuary...for Al Qaeda."[1] There is no evidence to support Cheney's claim. The 9/11 Commission - which spent months exhaustively studying the issue - concluded there was no "collaborative relationship" between Iraq and al-Qaeda.[2]

After the release of the report, Cheney claimed there was "overwhelming" evidence of a relationship between al-Qaeda and Iraq and that he had "probably" seen evidence that was not shared with the commission.[3] After investigating the matter, the 9/11 Commission found "it had access to the same information the vice president has seen regarding contacts between Al Qaeda and Iraq prior to the 9/11 attacks." The commission also reaffirmed its position that it had not discovered a "collaboration-cooperation between al-Qaeda and Iraq."[4]

Sources:
1.
"Cheney Says Iraq Harbored Al Qaeda," Los Angeles Times, 9/10/04
2. "Al Qaeda-Hussein Link Is Dismissed," Washington Post, 6/17/04
3. "Cheney blasts media on al Qaeda-Iraq link," CNN, 6/18/04
4. "9/11 Panel Upholds Iraq-al-Qaida Finding," ABC News, 7/7/004

Visit www.Misleader.org for more about Bush Administration distortion.

~~~

Word of the Day for Tuesday September 14, 2004

longueur long-GUR, noun:
A dull and tedious passage in a book, play, musical composition, or the like.



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com