Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Thursday, Sept. 16, 2004
Lord, Help Me!

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
Contractor's Bag Full of Explosives at JFK

By MICHAEL WEISSENSTEIN

NEW YORK (AP) - A government contractor brought highly explosive Soviet munitions on his trip home from Afghanistan that were not detected until he arrived at John F. Kennedy airport, federal officials said.

Shaun Marshall, a medic for defense contractor DynCorp, arrived at Kennedy Aug. 19 from the United Arab Emirates. He was trying to board a United Airlines flight home to California when he was pulled aside for a routine security check.

A search of his bags by federal screeners found what police bomb technicians described in an FBI complaint as a Soviet �projectile point detonating fuse� and a �surface-to-air and air-to-air cartridge.�

Federal officials said they could not comment Tuesday on the risk that the munitions posed to the flight. But the city police bomb squad determined the munitions were �highly explosive,� according to the FBI complaint.

Marshall also had five .50-caliber bullets and four small arms cartridges, which he did not declare to United as required by law, according to the complaint made public Tuesday.

The Transportation Security Administration officers who searched Marshall's bags called police for the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey, which operates the airport.

�The fact that TSA located these explosives indicated the system is working,� Assistant U.S. Attorney Lawrence Ferazani said.

Marshall, 26, told officers he was importing the munitions, which he believed to be inert, for use in DynCorp training exercises, and Port Authority police released him, federal officials said.

The FBI sent agents to arrest Marshall at his Riverside, Calif., home after the bomb squad analyzed the munitions and DynCorp officials said Marshall had no involvement in its training operations.

A Port Authority spokesman said he could not comment on why Marshall was released.

Marshall was released on bail in California and was expected to fly to New York City to be arraigned in federal court Friday. . .

09/14/04 23:18

Copyright The Associated Press.

*

Yep. I feel �safer� than I did before 9/11 alright.

~~~

Happy Birthday To: Lauren Bacall, born this day in 1924

~~~

OK, I know there are some Republicans out there, reading this journal.

*crickets*

Seriously, I know there are. I�ve heard from you before�but nobody ever answers my question about why you�re voting for Bush. I guess not everyone voting for Bush is a Republican, so - whoever you are. I honestly want to understand what the draw is�mainly so that I can dispute it, yes, but I just don�t understand any of it. And I don�t like that.

*

I don't know how many of you get the Sundance Channel, but if you do please look out for the documentary titled UNCOVERED: THE WHOLE TRUTH ABOUT THE IRAQ WAR.

Or you can always rent it, as it is available now.

I watched it last night. In truth, the film didn't tell me anything I haven't known all along, and if you have read this journal religiously over the past few years (and I just know you all have!) most of it won�t be news to you either. It put it all together very nicely, though. Plus, I think it should be required watching for anyone about to vote in this next election.

Why Bush hasn't been impeached yet is beyond me.

Oh yeah - he didn't have sex in the Oval Office. He just lied to Congress about why we were going to war (a felony, by the way).

AARRGGHH!!!!

Well, plus � were he impeached we�d then have Scary Dick Cheney as our President�not that he isn�t already, really.

*ahem*

Tomorrow is my Spa Day�and never was a Spa Day more wanted, let me tell you. I am going crazy(er) over here. I always have eighty things I am trying to get done in the few hours I have that are not spent training for the 3 Day and so run-of-the-mill frustrations are just driving me up the wall in ways they wouldn�t under normal circumstances, because I am overloaded.

The really wonderful news is that the owner of my company stepped up to the plate and donated a whopping $1,000 to the 3 Day on my behalf! Yay! That puts me at the $1,840 mark as of today, so I have stopped panicking. I have to raise at least $2,000, of course; but Barbara has a couple of checks for me and my yard sale is Saturday so I know I�ll reach the minimum required and most likely without having to cough up any more cash of my own.

Well, aside from the $233 I spent last night on new walking shoes and sports bras.

*choke*

I have spent almost my entire day going over some �training issues� with Eartha Kitt. Well, really, I�ve been going over A training issue with her. All day.

What we�re working on is a matter which, if you have no experience working on this sort of thing, can be a tad daunting. EK is not dumb and she�ll get the hang of it eventually. That said, this woman is soooooooo slooooooooowwwww.....*snore*

Even simple things like copying and pasting from our network system to Excel or whatever takes fffffooooooorrrrreeeeevvvvveeeerrr....*zzzzzzzz*

I swear, I�m about to shove a pair of scissors in my eye.

Or hers. Whatever.

We�ve been working off and on for like six hours now and have completed work on�one account.

Yes, that says ONE.

~~~

Word of the Day for Thursday September 16, 2004

chimera ky-MIR-uh, noun:
1. (Capitalized) A fire-breathing she-monster represented as having a lion's head, a goat's body, and a serpent's tail.
2. Any imaginary monster made up of grotesquely incongruous parts.
3. An illusion or mental fabrication; a grotesque product of the imagination.
4. An individual, organ, or part consisting of tissues of diverse genetic constitution, produced as a result of organ transplant, grafting, or genetic engineering.



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com