Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Tuesday, Dec. 28, 2004
materialistic much?

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
Um�isn�t it kind of funny that they�re selling this book at Wal Mart?

(Thanks Andrea!)

~~~

I just had to make another entry today in order to share the following email, just exchanged between me and my sister, Barbara. Because I am still just disgusted by the whole thing. And just when I start to think I am too hard on Sondra shit like this happens to prove that no, in fact, I am not.

Plus, I wanted to share that I think I just made a huge mistake�I offered to organize next year�s company Holiday Party.

This should be a fun endeavor, but there really is no more thankless a job.

EEK!

-----Original Message-----
From: Barbara
Sent: Tuesday, December 28, 2004 1:55 PM
To: Karen
Subject: (no subject)

Hi-

Just some gossip updates for you:

Mom said that Mark and the boys came by on Sunday to see Alissa. She said they sat and chatted for a long time and they seemed to be very happy to see each other. I was glad to hear that and I assumed you would be too. :)

I just had lunch with Sondra, June and Alisa. June had an appointment here. Dori dropped her off and Sondra took her home so that saved me alot! Anyway, I asked Sondra if Lou got his gift on Christmas Eve cuz I didn't see anything and I didn't know who had his name. She said he got a gift certificate from Katie for some music store. The problem is that he hates that music store and apparently Katie had asked Sondra what Lou wanted and she had given her several options. This music store not being one of them. Anyway, she was irritated with Katie about it. She said if people don't want to bother, they shouldn't be in the gift exchange. Now, I'm sure Katie thought: music store=Lou, but I guess she could have been a little more thoughtful. At this point I think anyone is lucky that they got anything. I'm thinking of making donations next year like you did for Amy. People are just way too spoiled.

We had a very nice lunch though. Rushed but fun.

Now I'm sleepy. Of course.

Love ya,
b

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Tuesday, December 28, 2004 2:12 PM
To: Barbara
Subject: (no subject)

I can't even believe Sondra! I think that is terribly rude. My theory is, if you really care that much what you're getting for Christmas, YOU are the one with the problem. That's not even what the day is about, for Pete's sake. She is so fucking weird when it comes to stuff like that.

Katie also asked me what to get him. I also gave her a few options, but one thing I said was she could always get him a gift certificate for Sam Ash (which sells instruments) or some music store. It is very hard to buy for men in general and she hardly even knows Lou. We also have a $40 limit - what the hell do you expect to get? I hate to break it to Sondra, but the Seinfeld DVD she had her heart set on is $150.

Also - you know, Katie is freakin� planning her wedding. She may have a lot to do other than shop around, trying to figure out what to get for Lou.

If he didn't want the Gift Card, he can always "re-gift" it.

I am just appalled.

But I'm glad you all had a nice lunch. A few of us also went to lunch, for Eartha Kitt's birthday. I had a yummy crab-stuffed Halibut, but I am so full right now I can barely breathe. I also felt bad, because hardly anyone from the department even went! It was just me and the Little Big Man and BN tagged along. Sheesh.

But then, Eartha never goes to anyone else's birthday lunch, either.

By the way - I really dig my new microwave. It's blue - did you know that? It's silver stainless steel on the front, but the top and sides are this really cool, space-agey blue color. I think it's even going to fit where I want it, but frankly right now I have a pile of stuff sitting there I need to get rid of first. :) I have used the micro, though. :)

As an added bonus, the box it came in is presently being used as a t.v. stand...

Anyway, that place from where I got Amy the chicks is called Heifer Intl. Here is the web site, in case you want to bookmark it for future use: http://catalog.heifer.org/

A dozen chicks were only $20, but they have all kinds of things you can buy. It's a very cool organization.

Regards,
Karen

~~~

"And so during these holiday seasons, we thank our blessings."
�George W. Bush, Fort Belvoir, Va., Dec. 10, 2004



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com