Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Thursday, Jun. 24, 2004
more fun in my new world

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
Happy Birthday to: Chief Dan George, born this day in 1899

~~~

Since The Little Big Man is out again for two days and since I was already busy to begin with and his absence has just compounded things, in lieu of a decent entry you are hereby presented with the following email eavesdrop:

(By the way � Barbi knows about this journal now�Hi Barb!)

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Thursday, June 24, 2004 10:29 AM
To: Barbara
Subject: Re: (no subject)

Well, my apartment is now a complete mess. Remember how I told you it was actually looking pretty good and I'd put most of my stuff away already?

Well...now? Not so much.

I am determined to get most of it done before Sunday, though...the fact that about half of the stuff now cluttering my pad is John's will help because he is either taking it with him or we will take it to Goodwill. His landlord offered to let him store some stuff in some storage area in his house, so John may take him up on that.

Linda came over and helped me move the rest of my stuff out of the old apartment last night. Thank God she came and helped, because it took a lot longer then I anticipated. Well, with her help it only took a couple of hours, but without her I would have been there 'til midnight.

They already started painting the Rad Pad. They're just painting it all white. Ergh...no accounting for taste, I guess. I suppose they may leave the bedroom and bathroom the way they are, but I doubt it.

You won't believe this next thing, though...First of all, when I saw the actual owner on Monday, he told me several times that there was "no rush, no hurry" in my getting my stuff out of there. So I was a tad surprised that they had started painting already, as it is. Anyway, so I had a few things in the living room that they threw in a box, to get out of their way. No big deal, except that they pulled all of the electrical chords completely out of my electric blanket when they did this!

They totally ruined that blanket, which was just purchased in December - a blanket which cost $200!

There was absolutely no reason for them to do this. I understand having to move it out of their way, but it was already folded up - it was just sitting ion the floor. All they had to do was pick it up and put it in the box. Instead, they totally destroyed it!

Needless to say, I will be deducting $200 off of my next month's rent.

I am writing them a letter today (now that I can return my keys), detailing all of the issues with the new apartment and I will also mention this. I talked to Darla about it last night and she was less than sympathetic. She started off trying to say that I was told the painters would be there on Monday. I made sure she knew that I was told no such thing and I let her know what her father had said to me when I saw him on Monday - how does that translate to "You'd better get your stuff out of here now or we take no responsibility for what happens to it"?

So what's next for me, I wonder...?

Regards,
Karen

-----Original Message-----
From: Barbara
Sent: Thursday, June 24, 2004 10:43 AM
To: Karen
Subject: Re: (no subject)

How difficult it must be to paint those red walls white! Serves them right for being stupid. I CAN NOT believe they ruined your blanket! How did they even do that? They better deduct it from your rent! What, are they nuts? What a mess. I hope it's over soon. John isn't coming down this weekend, is he?

That's wonderful that Linda helped you. . .

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Thursday, June 24, 2004 11:29 AM
To: Barbara
Subject: Re: (no subject)

Yes, John is coming down this weekend. He left a pair of shoes at my house that he needs every day, first of all. But I am also glad because he needs to get his stuff out of my way. Oh, I like to see him too. :) I�m trying to talk him in to going on the training walk Sunday, but I have my doubts.

In my letter to the Landlord, I am saying I will be deducting $190 from my July 1 rent, unless they plan to reimburse me in some other way (this makes it a round figure & I'm not over-charging them in any way, plus I'll give them $10 for wear). I doubt they will make an issue out of it, but if they do I have absolutely no problem suing them in small claims court for $200. Because no - there was absolutely no reason they had to do that. I assume whoever picked up the blanket didn't know what an electric blanket is and didn't realize what he was doing, but still - STUPID. If it were old, I wouldn't care, but John just bought that for me as part of my Christmas present in December. And it was TWO HUNDRED DOLLARS! I don't even want to tell him about it - he's already rather P.O.d at various things about the apartment situation (he is not as easy-going as I, in some ways - although he thinks I am a total hard-ass). It especially makes me mad because the owner told me on Monday that there was "no hurry" in my getting my stuff out. He said that three times. Had they told me the painters would be there this week and they were not responsible for damage done to my belongings once they were there, I wouldn't have any room to complain.

They are using a primer/base coat to cover up the red. They appear to be getting good coverage, from what I saw last night. Of course, now the sheers I bought are ivory-colored and will therefore clash with white walls, but whatever.

I need to do something nice for Linda. She has helped me out a lot lately, between airports trips and the move and whatnot. I was thinking that if we do the Spa thing, I would get her a facial or just a flat gift certificate for added treatments (the flat fee covers all of their pools and saunas, including the mud baths). Whatever I do, it has to wait until after my vacation, when I have some money. . .

Regards,
Karen



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com