Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Tuesday, Jul. 13, 2004
more fun with CHARTER COMMUNICATIONS (make note of that name and stay away from them)

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
Happy Birthday to:: Cheech Marin, born this day in 1946
and to Roger McGuinn, born this day 1942 (he was in The Birds. For you youngsters out there who don�t know � that was a really good band back in the late-sixties.)

And hey � Live Aid took place on this day back in 1985 (for you youngsters who don�t know � that was a really big concert, taking place both in London and in Philadelphia, to raise money for African famine relief.)

~~~

So I emailed Barbi yesterday evening, telling her that my legs are sore. Apparently, my cleaning out the refrigerator from Butcher Hollow, circa 1937 � the one which had apparently not been cleaned since about that time, too � on Sunday pert near killed me. The backs of my legs are very sore and I think that may be because I was crouching while cleaning that thing.

The good news is that I can now actually store food in the fridge without it ending up smelling and tasting like something my fish wouldn�t even swim in.

And thus begins the following email eavesdrop.

-----Original Message-----
From: Barbara
Sent: Tuesday, July 13, 2004 8:16 AM
To: Karen
Subject: Re: wimpy

That crouching will get you every time dude. I went walking this morning at 5:30 so I'm already wimpy myself. Just a little. It's easier in the morning than right after work but I do hate getting up so early! It's nice not to have to worry about sunscreen though. My face is a mess!

Have a good one! I'll call you later.

b

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Tuesday, July 13, 2004 9:16 AM
To: Barbara
Subject: Re: wimpy

AAACCCKKK!!! 5:30???????

Color me impressed. I was barely alive at that hour. Of course, since it's going to be like 80 degrees still while I'm walking tonight, I'm going to be very jealous that you were able to do that.

So of course I got home yesterday and not only were my blinds not installed, but I now have no lights in my bathroom. Along with the blinds, they were going to install a light fixture in my bathroom (there was one missing when I moved in) and change the light fixture in my bedroom. Well, apparently, they got the old light fixture removed in the bathroom and then ran out of time to do anything else.

Anyway, they're coming back today to finish. It was just a little inconvenient.

On top of that, I had additional problems with my cable company. While trying to order Mystic River on Pay-Pay-View, I found that they had put a PIN on my account - a PIN I never requested. So I had to call and get that changed (I still have a PIN, but at least it's one I created - you know, so I actually know what it is!). When my PPV still wouldn't work, I was told I had a past due balance of something like $20 on my account - total bullshit, as I have my closing statement from my old account showing $0 due, and my new bill isn't even due yet. I just hung up on the guy. I'm going to go in to their office today (it's right by work), show them my bills and get that settled. And I'm also looking in to getting Direct TV this week.

Did I ever tell you that they sent a cable guy to my apartment like last week - for an appointment I never requested and of course wasn't there for? That's the THIRD time they've done that - they did it twice at the old place. They don't show up when I have set up an appointment, and they do show up when I don't set one up.

Have you ever heard of a more ridiculous company than this one?

To make matters worse, I have rammed my shin in to my bed frame like a dozen times in the past two days. I moved my bed away from the window so they could install my blinds and it�s a little off the bed frame. So when I walk in to that area, I keep forgetting the damn frame is hanging out and wham!

Ouch...

Sheesh...anyway...don't forget to tell me Alisa's story.

I'm really not in as bad a mood as this sounds - but this is what's been happening the past couple of days.

My face has been a mess lately, too. I think it must be the new face cream I started using a few weeks ago. Not only have I been breaking out, I am getting these hard little bumps on my forehead - ugly, ugly!

I am so getting a facial sometime in the next month or so.

What are the dates you will be in Kentucky, by the way?

Hasta.

Regards,
Karen

-----Original Message-----
From: Barbara
Sent: Tuesday, July 13, 2004 9:42 AM
To: Karen
Subject: Re: wimpy

Arnett and I will be in Ky. Sept. 2 thru the 7th. Actually we get home around noon on the 7th. Mom and the others are there from Aug. 31 thru Sept. 8.

I can NOT believe your cable company. What a crappy company.

Hope your blinds and stuff get done today. You're doing well with all this horse manure you are going thru. That kinda thing just drives me insane. I've had to learn to be just a little more laid back about stuff cuz there are just too many times when I have to put up with incompetents. I try anyway.

b

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Tuesday, July 13, 2004 10:06 AM
To: Barbara
Subject: Re: wimpy

I still get agitated, but I am getting better at that. The apartment stuff isn't that big a deal, really. It's irritating, but in the great vast scheme of things it's not something to stress over. I am just making sure I protect myself so that they don't try to rip me off in any way when I move out.

As far as that cable company goes - they DO irritate me, but really it's just completely comical at this point.

Regards,
Karen

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Tuesday, July 13, 2004 10:16 AM
To: Barbara
Subject: Also�

Hey guess what? The newest addition to our department just quit.

So now we get to start our search all over again (needless to say, I won't be calling Lou). I'm kind of bummed, because I really like her as a person.

Robert just sent out this email, giving me a password for something. The password is "lakers" and he wrote: "In honor of Dr. Buss breaking up my team!"

So I replied to him: "shouldn't it be m*ther f***er then?"

Regards,
Karen

~~~

Offbeat news
Tuesday, July 13, 2004

Man Jailed for Shooting Off His Testicles

LONDON (Reuters) - A British man who accidentally shot himself in the testicles after drinking 15 pints of beer was jailed for five years on Tuesday for possessing an illegal firearm, a court spokesman said.

David Walker, 28, was arguing with a friend at a pub in South Yorkshire, northern England, when he went home to get his sawed-off shotgun, which he jammed into his trousers.

But as he walked back to the pub, the gun went off, blasting pellets into his testicles. Doctors later removed what remained of his testicles during emergency surgery.

Walker admitted possessing a prohibited weapon at a hearing in June at the court in Sheffield.

*

Um�don�t ya think the guy has been punished enough, without the jail time?

I gots ta� work, kids. Have a great day!



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com