Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Thursday, Sept. 02, 2004
ooh-la-la

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
I wanted to share with you an email I wrote to Senator Zell Miller today, via his web site.

(for those of you who may not know, Miller is a Democratic Senator from Georgia who gave an angry speech at the RNC last night, bashing John Kerry)

Senator Miller,

After your speech at the RNC last night, I know some Democrats are calling for you to change your political party affiliation.

Personally, I feel you have every right to speak up for what you believe and for whom you believe in, regardless of party affiliation. You certainly are not the only Democrat voting for George W. Bush come November.

That said, I find it at the very least ironic that in last night�s speech, rather than simply outlining the reasons why you have more confidence in Bush than in Kerry as our leader, you felt the need to tow the Republican Party Line by coloring John Kerry as a �flip-flopper�.

Do I really need to remind you of your own speech, given March 1, 2001, in which you praised the many merits of Senator Kerry? Should you need such a reminder, here's a link to your speech: http://miller.senate.gov/speeches/030101jjdinner.htm *

Therefore, while I certainly support your right to voice your opinions and stand up for what you believe in, no matter which convention podium you may be standing at, I am having a terribly hard time figuring out just WHAT those things are.

The inherent dishonesty of trying to convince the American People of what a �flip-flipper� John Kerry is supposed to be, when we all know he is no more so than any other politician on Capital Hill and that he has far more strength of character and conviction than most, is extremely troubling. I am flabbergasted by your hypocrisy.

Talk about being a "flip-flopper." You must have a severe case of motion sickness this morning.

Respectfully�

*

Excerpts from Miller�s own 2001 speech (you know...just in case it somehow disappears from the net in a few days):

My job tonight is an easy one: to present to you one of this nation's authentic heroes, one of this party's best-known and greatest leaders � and a good friend. . .

In his 16 years in the Senate, John Kerry has fought against government waste and worked hard to bring some accountability to Washington.

Early in his Senate career in 1986, John signed on to the Gramm-Rudman-Hollings Deficit Reduction Bill, and he fought for balanced budgets before it was considered politically correct for Democrats to do so.

John has worked to strengthen our military, reform public education, boost the economy and protect the environment. Business Week magazine named him one of the top pro-technology legislators and made him a member of its "Digital Dozen."

John was re-elected in 1990 and again in 1996 � when he defeated popular Republican Governor William Weld in the most closely watched Senate race in the country.

John is a graduate of Yale University and was a gunboat officer in the Navy. He received a Silver Star, Bronze Star and three awards of the Purple Heart for combat duty in Vietnam. He later co-founded the Vietnam Veterans of America. . .

By the way � if you live in Georgia, check out Miller�s competition come election time: Denise Majette.

According to MovOn.org: Denise Majette is a bright, charismatic African-American Congresswoman from Atlanta, running for Zell Miller's U.S. Senate seat. Although she was not in Congress at the time of the original Iraq war resolution, Majette courageously opposed a second resolution on the Iraq war, voting against it and declaring, "I cannot in good conscience support such a deceptive resolution. Majette has already made history in Georgia by becoming the first black woman to capture her party�s nomination for U.S. Senate.

~~~

Have I told ya�ll that John is a registered Republican? I tend to forget myself, because frankly as the years have passed his views have morphed and moved more and more to the middle of the road. I don�t think he voted for Dubya the first time around, and he�s certainly not going to this time. He�s not the liberal-hippy-freak that I am and usually still thinks I�m stupid for giving homeless people money (although he�s even done that a few times. If you knew him say, five years ago, you�d know how remarkable that is), but I am having quite an influence on him, that�s for sure.

Yes, I shall take the credit.

Well, plus, I think he�s very afraid that his sons will be drafted in to the Armed Forces if Dubya is elected to a second term.

Anyway, he was on a severe rampage last night, after watching a lot of the RNC. We spent about 90 minutes on the phone discussing, among other things, how disgusted we were by the whole lot of the speakers we�d witnessed (not that I�d actually witnessed many last night, seeing as I was shopping for new clothes [!] and having grilled Talapia for dinner at this groovy restaurant by the ocean, but I�d heard sound bites).

I was just a bit amused at the vitriol he was spewing, seeing as these are supposedly �his� people and seeing as when we first met we had nothing in common on the political front.

Right on!

He just needs to go ahead and change his party affiliation. Much as Zell Miller should.

Anyway�I always begin the day with the vow: �No politics! No Politics! NO POLITICS!� And then something pisses me off and I have to write about it.

I had a great time with D last night. I also got some great deals while plowing through various sale racks. I bought a cute, hot-pink skirt at Banana Republic, for instance, which was formerly something like $74 and had been knocked down to $19.99! I also bought a light cardigan and a skirt at The Gap of all places (which was oddly filled with extremely cute clothes yesterday), both at a significant discount. I resisted buying an extremely cool watch that looked more like a bracelet while helping D pick out clothes at Chicos, but man that thing was cute! I haven�t owned a watch in about twenty years, precisely because I can never find one that I both like and can afford without mortgaging property. I could have afforded the watch I saw last night, but even though I bought my clothes on sale I still didn�t want to spend any more money than I already was. You know, I need new clothes. I don�t really need a watch.

Although, seriously...people who lead training walks should own both a cell phone and a watch and I own neither. I should never lead anything whatsoever, really, for more reasons than just the cell phone/watch thing.

This just goes to show how my mind works, though. Had I forgone the wonderful but kind of expensive meal for, say, a salad at Jack in the Box, I totally could have bought that watch. My taste-buds, though, are much more important to me than�well, pert near anything.

D left today to go see her new beau, who is a pilot and happens to live in freakin� South Carolina! They were supposed to fly to Miami tomorrow and stay through the weekend, but with Hurricane Frances on her way in, I think they�ll be parked in South Calinky.

Barbara also left me this morning. She went to meet my parents, Linda, Larry and Peggy and their son Chris in Kentucky. They�re all out there for our huge family reunion. Most of them are staying with my Uncle Dale, but Barbara and Arnett wisely decided to rent a hotel room.

I stayed at home because, as I may have written here when struggling over the decision � I am much too big a baby to spend precious vacation days in the heat and humidity of Kentucky in late-August/early-September.

I made my Spa Treatment appointments today! Yay! We aren�t even going until Sept. 17 and I am just so excited I could burst. I am totally going for broke, too � I�m having a massage, a facial and a Shea Butter body wrap.

Ooh-la-la.

I also made an appointment to give blood on Monday.

Ooh-la-la.



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com