Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Friday, Jul. 23, 2004
ouch!

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
Happy Birthday To: Raymond Chandler, born this day in 1888

~~~

Good morning (well, it�s morning here, as I write this�).

So I had to write and tell you all about my horrible experience last night.

I met the ladies at the park for our 3 Day Training Walk, as usual (there were four of us). Also as usual, we took off down the big hill that leads us to the bike path along the beach. Not so usual? We walked for maybe half a mile and I had to stop - my shins hurt so bad! I don't remember being in such pain since I slid in to home plate and my knee cap ended up somewhere in the middle of my thigh. And let me tell you � that was a long time ago.

Usually, my shins will hurt but I can keep on walking until it passes - not this time, boy! They hurt so much I couldn't go on. So I told the other gals to go on without me and I turned around. Well, I ended up sitting down on a curb for about fifteen minutes. Even when I finally felt I could kind of walk, I would walk like maybe twenty feet and have to stop. And my shins were hurting so bad it was making me nauseous and dizzy, so I was seriously afraid I wasn't going to make it up that hill to the park and my car without falling on my face. Even once I (finally) made it to my car, I could barely drive. Any movement of my feet caused such horrible pain.

I wanted to cry. As it was, I was actually scared and thought I'd still be down there when the gals passed me on their way back.

When I got home, I put ice packs on my shins and just laid on the couch with my feet up for like an hour before they started to feel better.

It was crazy!

So D and I were supposed to meet tonight and try to scout out a new route for Tuesdays. We're still planning on meeting, but I warned her I might not be able to do much (she called me last night, after they were done with their walk). You just never know with my shins. They haven't been hurting much at all since I got back from vacation and now, all of a sudden - whamo! But they might be fine tonight, or at least tolerable.

And then I'm supposed to walk another 12 miles tomorrow... Well, I think if I have more problems tonight I am going to have to skip tomorrow and maybe even skip walking for like a week. I may even go to the doctor.

I definitely need new shoes, that's fo sho'!

And how are things in your neck of the woods?



~~~

BUSH FOLLOWS DEMANDS OF DONORS ON GLOBAL WARMING

In 2000, President Bush promised that, if elected, he would work to reduce carbon dioxide emissions that contribute to global warming.[1] Yet, upon taking office, he withdrew American support from the Kyoto Treaty to regulate carbon dioxide,[2] and he dismissed a report from his own Environmental Protection Agency pointing out carbon dioxide's critical role in global warming.[3] Now, with the White House having done nothing to address the growing problem, elected attorneys from New York City and eight states filed a lawsuit this week to force five utilities to reduce carbon dioxide emissions.[4]

Why has President Bush reversed his position on carbon dioxide/global warming, and why has he refused to confront these energy companies himself? Because they are among the top donors to Republicans and the Bush-Cheney campaign.

Among the defendants in the case are:

Southern Company, a company that has given almost a half million dollars to Republicans congressional candidates[5] since 2000; has given more than $1.1 million in soft money to the Republican Party;[6] and whose executives[7] and political action committee[8] have given more than $79,000 directly to the Bush-Cheney campaign.

American Electric Power Company, a company that has given more than $550,000 to Republican congressional candidates[9] since 2000 and whose executives[10] and political action committee[11] have given $24,000 to the Bush-Cheney campaign.

Cinergy Corporation, a company that has given almost $200,000 to Republican congressional candidates[12] since 2000; has given more than $360,000 in soft money to the Republican Party;[13] and whose executives[14] and political action committee[15] have given more than $27,000 to the Bush-Cheney campaign.

Sources:

1. "Representative Tom Allen Criticizes Bush Broken Promise on CO2 Emissions from Power Plants," Representative Tom Allen, 03/14/01
2. "USA withdraws from Kyoto protocol," Directorate of Environmental Affairs, 3/29/01
3. "Bush Disses Global Warming Report," CBSnews.com, 06/04/02
4. "Suit targets carbon dioxide emissions by utilities," Indystar.com, 07/22/04
5. "Southern Co 2004 PAC Summary Data," Opensecrets.org
6. "Soft money donors found for Southern Co.," Opensecrets.org
7. Opensecrets.org
8. "Southern Co 2004 PAC Summary Data," Opensecrets.org
9. "American Electric Power 2004 PAC Summary Data," Opensecrets.org
10. Opensecrets.org
11. "American Electric Power 2004 PAC Summary Data," Opensecrets.org
12. "Cinergy Corp 2004 PAC Summary Data," Opensecrets.org
13. "Soft money donors found for Cinergy," Opensecrets.org
14. Opensecrets.org
15. "Cinergy Corp 2004 PAC Summary Data," Opensecrets.org

Visit www.Misleader.org for more about Bush Administration distortion.

~~~

Word of the Day for Friday July 23, 2004

treacly TREE-klee, adjective:
1. Like, or composed of, treacle.
2. Overly sweet or sentimental.



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com